[Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by texmex » Wed Mar 15, 2017 21:52

Congrats FaceDeer, great work!

Ed, you need to clone with the --recursive flag to get the submodules.
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by FaceDeer » Wed Mar 15, 2017 23:31

That extra step is why I've got a pre-packaged version in releases on my fork for convenience, just grab castle.zip and it contains everything in its current revision.

I've filed an issue to have one added to the minetest-mods fork as well. Ironically, I have commit access to every submodule repository (since I created them all) but not the modpack they all combine into. :)
 

EdShouldBeInBed
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 16:03
In-game: EdShdBInBed

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by EdShouldBeInBed » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:36

texmex wrote:Congrats FaceDeer, great work!

Ed, you need to clone with the --recursive flag to get the submodules.


(face palm) It's the little things, duh. Thanks for the reminder texmex!
I'm a writer who tinkers with code on occasion. I play minetest when insomnia makes the writing hard.
 

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
Location: Lombardy, Italy
GitHub: h4ml3t
IRC: H4mlet

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by Hamlet » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:31

I've downloaded the updated castle_gates mod, looking at the locale file I've noticed detailed item descriptions:

"Place these bars in a structure together and they will slide as a unified gate when clicked on."

Since these are useful to figure how to properly use these nodes I'd like to know which inventory mod allows displaying these infos.

(Kudos for the mod itself.)

--- EDIT

I've just noticed the optional "doc" dependence, I guess that's it.
SelfNote: "KeepCalm, Remember that Ppl also HaveRealLife stuff to do. PS bite your tongue, just in case."
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by FaceDeer » Tue Sep 26, 2017 19:50

Hamlet wrote:I've just noticed the optional "doc" dependence, I guess that's it.


Yeah, that's the one. I've tried to add doc strings to every mod I touch, especially in cases like this where there are non-obvious features. :)
 

User avatar
captpete
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 03:02

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by captpete » Sat Apr 14, 2018 15:25

I'm looking for pillars crafted from the quartz/marble family (like the quartz pillar but your pillar crafting). That color-range side of decorative blocks would be great! Also clay/adobe family would be nice too. Any chance of either happening?

OK I figured it out: you have to modify BOTH init.lua AND settingtypes.txt; I added Brick to test.
 

User avatar
voxelproof
Member
 
Posts: 887
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 08:13
Location: Europe

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by voxelproof » Fri Apr 20, 2018 19:42

There's obviously a problem with the GitHub zip download file - after decompression there's nothing inside except screenshot and readme.txt. Is this mod cancelled or is it a problem with GitHub?
Game is the essence of life; therefore every good game makes life better.
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by FaceDeer » Sat Apr 21, 2018 05:42

voxelproof wrote:There's obviously a problem with the GitHub zip download file - after decompression there's nothing inside except screenshot and readme.txt. Is this mod cancelled or is it a problem with GitHub?


About a year ago I broke the castle mod up into a collection of more focused mods and turned the original castle mod into a modpack. Unfortunately now the modpack has fallen a bit behind, each of the constituent mods has had further updates, so it might be good to just grab the component mods individually as needed:

 

User avatar
voxelproof
Member
 
Posts: 887
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 08:13
Location: Europe

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by voxelproof » Sat Apr 21, 2018 18:59

FaceDeer wrote:
voxelproof wrote:There's obviously a problem with the GitHub zip download file - after decompression there's nothing inside except screenshot and readme.txt. Is this mod cancelled or is it a problem with GitHub?


About a year ago I broke the castle mod up into a collection of more focused mods and turned the original castle mod into a modpack. Unfortunately now the modpack has fallen a bit behind, each of the constituent mods has had further updates, so it might be good to just grab the component mods individually as needed:



Thank's, I figured it out yesterday and now it's OK :)
Game is the essence of life; therefore every good game makes life better.
 

PorygonZRocks
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 00:35
GitHub: PorygonZRocks

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by PorygonZRocks » Thu Jun 21, 2018 15:41

Should I be downloading the FaceDeer repo, the minetest-mods repo, or everything separate?
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by FaceDeer » Fri Jun 22, 2018 02:51

PorygonZRocks wrote:Should I be downloading the FaceDeer repo, the minetest-mods repo, or everything separate?


Probably best to take them separately, the modpack bundles lag slightly behind the latest versions. Also it's easier to leave out the bits you don't want that way.
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by Hume2 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 09:47

I had the same problem. The zip file doesn't contain the submodules. I just cloned that repository and checked out the submodules via "git submmodule update --init --recursive".
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

User avatar
Phoenixflo44
Member
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 15:01
Location: Behind my PC, in Germany
In-game: Phoenixflo44

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by Phoenixflo44 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 16:02

Whenever I do mod clone there is no data in the folders.
+ Spoiler
 

FaceDeer
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 19:01
GitHub: FaceDeer

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by FaceDeer » Sun Jun 24, 2018 16:28

This mod could really use a tagged release with a .zip file containing everything attached to it, there's a lot of folks confused about how to get git to give them everything they need. I filed an issue to that effect a little over a year ago, not sure who to poke to get some motion on that.
 

User avatar
captpete
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 03:02

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by captpete » Thu Aug 30, 2018 19:38

Note: I am not a Lua programmer

I know how to add materials to init.lua and settintypes.txt (I've already added newer materials from default) BUT I need to detect if the external mod is already loaded other wise it throws an error and crashes. I'm using castles modpack from Dreambuilder modpack and I want to add materials from [building_blocks], [technics], and [quartz] from Dreambuilder modpack, also from other mods like [darkage], and [stone] (possibly others).

How do I code this:

Code: Select all
if [external mod] exists then
...
...
...
endif
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by VanessaE » Fri Aug 31, 2018 01:58

The normal way is to add foo? to your mod's depends.txt file, where foo is the name of the mod you need to check for, e.g. quartz?, then in your code,
Code: Select all
if minetest.get_modpath("foo")
--
--    do something about it
--
end


You're far better off getting someone to help you update from your existing Minetest 0.4.16 to 0.4.17.1 + LuaJIT/GC64, as I mentioned in the other thread.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

Darkwar
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 18:28
GitHub: Darkwar
IRC: Darkwar
In-game: cooljar10

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by Darkwar » Tue Sep 04, 2018 20:17

its not working i keep getting this err /usr/share/games/minetest/games/minetest_game/mods/castle/ropes/init.lua: No such file or directory
 

User avatar
captpete
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 03:02

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by captpete » Wed Sep 05, 2018 14:42

VanessaE wrote:The normal way is to add foo? to your mod's depends.txt file, where foo is the name of the mod you need to check for, e.g. quartz?, then in your code,
Code: Select all
if minetest.get_modpath("foo")
--
--    do something about it
--
end


You're far better off getting someone to help you update from your existing Minetest 0.4.16 to 0.4.17.1 + LuaJIT/GC64, as I mentioned in the other thread.


Thanks for the first part. I'm using that now to modify the mod(s) to add blocks. It's annoying that I have to add default nodes that should already be included but now I can add the other nodes in Dreambuilder too.

As for the second point I've already mentioned to you (in Dreambuilder) I've found the GC64 version and am testing it now. Unfortunately there is a problem with Dreambuilder and MoreBlocks (StairsPlus) that prevents me from using it without annoying bugs (mentioned by others).
 

lilo
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 14:45

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by lilo » Sun Sep 30, 2018 15:49

Hi,

it is not possible to dye an tapestries with an newer Version of "Unified Dyes" as from 2018-08-22-1.

Greets
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
 

lilo
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 14:45

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by lilo » Sun Sep 30, 2018 22:26

I have last version from page 4 (https://github.com/minetest-mods/castle_tapestries), but i have no chance to color this tapestries with an dye. Or is it not right version?

Greets
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by VanessaE » Sun Sep 30, 2018 23:13

I Just checked what I have, tapestries is at commit dc6ced62, and naturally Unified Dyes is up-to-date (commit feed6d5a, same as is on my gitlab).

I can craft tapestry + dye and place the result, and it works, or I can "airbrush" a placed one (either already dyed or not). Maybe you're trying to punch with dye?
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

lilo
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 14:45

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by lilo » Mon Oct 01, 2018 11:54

Hi,

Yes, exactly I try to punsh with dye :)
The airbrush gun has changed the color.

Greets
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Castles++ Rolling release [git] [castle]

by VanessaE » Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:28

Yeah, I got rid of the punch-with-dye feature some time ago, then added the airbrush. :-)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests