[Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

[Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by paramat » Sun Aug 10, 2014 02:33

Image


catacomb 0.3.7
For Minetest 0.4.8 or later
Depends: default stairs
License: code WTFPL
Download https://github.com/paramat/catacomb/archive/master.zip and rename to catacomb
Code https://github.com/paramat/catacomb

Beware this is not an 'on generated' mapgen, this creeping dungeon can spread through older world areas. If using in a pre-existing world edit the generation limits to protect your creations.

To try out this mod without searching for a dungeon, edit the parameters to:
TCATA = -2
TCATSPA = 2
Start a new world, select creative mode, enable freemove, fly underground, place any one of the 4 spawner nodes and wait a minute.

A dungeon system spawns with spaced initial chambers in underground chunks below y = -32, you may have to travel several kn to find one.
You can control the size of the spawning and generation volumes by editing parameters TCATSPA and TCATA, reduce these for larger volumes.
Dungeons are shaped and spaced by 3D noise, over time they grow out to their generation limit then chamber spawner placement is disabled.
Passageways have walkable stairs and are high enough for rapid descent. Below a certain y stairs and passage floors remain if they pass through previously generated chambers.
Minimum and maximum passage length and width, chamber width and height can be set by parameter.
At any time parameter GEN can be set to false, stopping dungeon spawn and spread.
For an ever-shifting interpenetrating dungeon nightmare set parameter OBCHECK to false.
Default cobble dungeons remain and are merged, desert temples lose their desert stone walls.


Image


Image


Image


Image


^ With parameter OBCHECK = false
Last edited by paramat on Mon Feb 16, 2015 01:14, edited 15 times in total.
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.2.4] [catacomb]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Sun Aug 10, 2014 04:34

This is very neat, looks like you put a lot of time and effort into it as well! Not to mention that you thought everything out quite carefully and made it so that it can be kept in check. If I were to give any critique at all, it would be that it has a saddening lack of mossy cobble... which is hardly anything at all, really.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
aldobr
Member
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:46
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.5] [catacomb]

by paramat » Wed Aug 13, 2014 04:59

Version 0.3.5
Big rewrite of spawn abms, combined passage and chamber generation int one abm. Now if the chamber is obstructed the passageway is not generated, so no more dead-end passageways.
Passageways now vay in width from 1 node to full chamber width.
Initial chambers at catacomb spawn are mapchunk size for the moment, probably smaller in future.
Last edited by paramat on Mon Aug 18, 2014 04:43, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Enke
Member
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 02:56
Location: The internet
GitHub: NANOsoldierEnke
IRC: Enke
In-game: Enke

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.5] [catacomb]

by Enke » Wed Aug 13, 2014 17:44

Reminds me of the Dungeons of Doom. I want it. :-)
Lush8
ExtraVars for Red Eclipse

<Anarchid> my turn was still the most awesome, yielding all the cripples, two captured paranormals, and death rate of about 30%
<ORCACommander> Anarchid: you need to work harder
<ORCACommander> I am hereby putting you under review until you can increase the casualty rate
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7342
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:28

super ultra extra cooool!

adding it to my subgame!
【Voxellar 2.0】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1605
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7342
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon Mar 21, 2016 18:08

it won't work!

i don't have any mapgen mod exept the VILLAGE-modpack
【Voxellar 2.0】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
 
Posts: 923
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by Napiophelios » Mon Mar 21, 2016 22:01

Works fine for me on mg7.

You might not notice it at first if you are out looking for them spawning on their own
but if you place a chamber node you find out pretty quick.

Man catacomb mod and Subterrain mod are 2 of my favorite mods to experiment with
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7342
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by azekill_DIABLO » Tue Mar 22, 2016 16:42

Napiophelios wrote:You might not notice it at first if you are out looking for them spawning on their own
but if you place a chamber node
you find out pretty quick.


What do you mean??
【Voxellar 2.0】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7342
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by azekill_DIABLO » Tue Mar 22, 2016 16:48

Beware this is not an 'on generated' mapgen, this creeping dungeon can spread through older world areas. If using in a pre-existing world edit the generation limits to protect your creations.

i didn't noticed that....

Sorry :)
【Voxellar 2.0】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by paramat » Tue Mar 22, 2016 19:03

You may need to fly underground (below y = -33) for a while to find these. Also they only appear in newly-generated terrain.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7342
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by azekill_DIABLO » Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:36

i found a way to spawn them!

i just modify the default(ore) to make spawn the spawners as an ore!
【Voxellar 2.0】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7342
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:31

Code: Select all
-- dungeons_node_mod

   minetest.register_ore({
      ore_type       = "scatter",
      ore            = "catacomb:chambers",
      wherein        = "default:stone",
      clust_scarcity = 18 * 18 * 18,
      clust_num_ores = 1,
      clust_size     = 1,
      y_min          = -255,
      y_max          = -56,
   })

   minetest.register_ore({
      ore_type       = "scatter",
      ore            = "catacomb:chambern",
      wherein        = "default:stone",
      clust_scarcity = 14 * 14 * 14,
      clust_num_ores = 1,
      clust_size     = 1,
      y_min          = -31000,
      y_max          = -56,
   })


put that in default>>mapgen between copper and mese!

it works super fine for me!
【Voxellar 2.0】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
Sirmentio
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 17:22
In-game: Sirmentio

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by Sirmentio » Fri May 27, 2016 17:23

This mod is fantastic, me and my friends have had alot of fun exploring these, but I would want an incentive for actually going in, is there going to be any sort of way to implement loot? (chests with treasures and stuff)?

Edit: Pardon me for necrobumping this thread if possible.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7342
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by azekill_DIABLO » Sat May 28, 2016 08:50

Yay finelly some1 post!!!!!!i'm so happy!

every time i post something in a topic no one answers!!!i thought i was a topic_killer


to answer: look at block-men mod: Dungeon_loot and modify it....
【Voxellar 2.0】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
xeranas
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 11:06

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by xeranas » Sun May 29, 2016 18:26

Secret treasure room would be cool. I think could be done with "default" stuff (diamond, gold, etc blocks).
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by paramat » Mon May 30, 2016 10:01

I've neglected my mods for a while, a want to create surface entrances for these dungeons to make them more findable. I'm more interested in the basic generation so others may want to fork this to add treasure or other features.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by Sokomine » Fri Jul 15, 2016 02:25

Once you find a good way to place a surface entrance, please tell me. I've an older mindes mod lying around that could use some help in that direction. It comes with vertical shafts but doesn't have any useful code yet as to where to place the mines. Maybe I ought to open a thread and see if anyone likes to take over.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
Codesound
Member
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 14:56

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by Codesound » Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:57

Hi,

Many thanks for this mod. Is Beautiful! But I have problems in use it...
who can help me to play it?

eg:
- When I place one spawn point is right that generates only one stair and one room? (I thought would generate a huge number of rooms connected by stairs)
- Frequently when I insert one spawn point, anything is generated and the terminal tells me that: "Chamber obstructed" ... why?


- REQUEST: you can specify what material to use to generate the rooms/stairs?

many thanks for all again...
Codesound
Attachments
chamber obstructed.png
(622.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7342
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Under my desk (but I can't see my monitor now X'[ )
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by azekill_DIABLO » Sun Jul 31, 2016 15:33

OBCHECK = false

like that there is no chamber checking: you can create dungoens in others one :D
【Voxellar 2.0】 ; 【MILA】 update ; 【Rec_a_MT】 ; 【BB,HD】 update ; 【▶ Youtube】 This person worked too hard to be forgotten: Feedback me!
 

User avatar
Codesound
Member
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 14:56

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by Codesound » Sun Jul 31, 2016 18:31

Hi,

Code: Select all
Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Post by azekill_DIABLO » Sun Jul 31, 2016 15:33
OBCHECK = false

like that there is no chamber checking: you can create dungoens in others one :D



Many and Many thanks! Now work !

Codesound
Attachments
Ok.png
(768.51 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by paramat » Sun Jul 31, 2016 20:27

> When I place one spawn point is right that generates only one stair and one room? (I thought would generate a huge number of rooms connected by stairs)

Any spawner node will only generate a room and maybe a stair or two, further rooms and corridors will generate as you explore, you need to walk near the walls and sometimes wait a few seconds for the next spawner node to be triggered by the player's presence.
Each room contains 'spawner nodes' in the walls that are triggered by ABM, the player needs to be within 32 nodes to trigger one.

> Frequently when I insert one spawn point, anything is generated and the terminal tells me that: "Chamber obstructed" ... why?

This feature (which can be disabled) is to stop rooms intersecting, so that the dungeon grows around itself in a tidy way.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2385
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by TumeniNodes » Mon Aug 01, 2016 04:38

paramat wrote:This feature (which can be disabled) is to stop rooms intersecting, so that the dungeon grows around itself in a tidy way.


Tidy dungeons?? 0_O
:P
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 1918
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

by Andrey01 » Thu Nov 03, 2016 17:08

Nice!Very long corridors of these dungeons!
DL9Eh7xVBw7DXwLAMX1lStE21bSD2XUQ
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests