Page 1 of 2

[Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 02:33
by paramat
Image


catacomb 0.3.7
For Minetest 0.4.8 or later
Depends: default stairs
License: code WTFPL
Download https://github.com/paramat/catacomb/archive/master.zip and rename to catacomb
Code https://github.com/paramat/catacomb

Beware this is not an 'on generated' mapgen, this creeping dungeon can spread through older world areas. If using in a pre-existing world edit the generation limits to protect your creations.

To try out this mod without searching for a dungeon, edit the parameters to:
TCATA = -2
TCATSPA = 2
Start a new world, select creative mode, enable freemove, fly underground, place any one of the 4 spawner nodes and wait a minute.

A dungeon system spawns with spaced initial chambers in underground chunks below y = -32, you may have to travel several kn to find one.
You can control the size of the spawning and generation volumes by editing parameters TCATSPA and TCATA, reduce these for larger volumes.
Dungeons are shaped and spaced by 3D noise, over time they grow out to their generation limit then chamber spawner placement is disabled.
Passageways have walkable stairs and are high enough for rapid descent. Below a certain y stairs and passage floors remain if they pass through previously generated chambers.
Minimum and maximum passage length and width, chamber width and height can be set by parameter.
At any time parameter GEN can be set to false, stopping dungeon spawn and spread.
For an ever-shifting interpenetrating dungeon nightmare set parameter OBCHECK to false.
Default cobble dungeons remain and are merged, desert temples lose their desert stone walls.


Image


Image


Image


Image


^ With parameter OBCHECK = false

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.2.4] [catacomb]

Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 04:34
by HeroOfTheWinds
This is very neat, looks like you put a lot of time and effort into it as well! Not to mention that you thought everything out quite carefully and made it so that it can be kept in check. If I were to give any critique at all, it would be that it has a saddening lack of mossy cobble... which is hardly anything at all, really.

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.2.4] [catacomb]

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 02:12
by aldobr
Nice mod ! The first server to adopt it will have me.

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.5] [catacomb]

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 04:59
by paramat
Version 0.3.5
Big rewrite of spawn abms, combined passage and chamber generation int one abm. Now if the chamber is obstructed the passageway is not generated, so no more dead-end passageways.
Passageways now vay in width from 1 node to full chamber width.
Initial chambers at catacomb spawn are mapchunk size for the moment, probably smaller in future.

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.5] [catacomb]

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2014 17:44
by Enke
Reminds me of the Dungeons of Doom. I want it. :-)

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:28
by azekill_DIABLO
super ultra extra cooool!

adding it to my subgame!

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 13:30
by burli
Will try this today

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 18:08
by azekill_DIABLO
it won't work!

i don't have any mapgen mod exept the VILLAGE-modpack

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 22:01
by Napiophelios
Works fine for me on mg7.

You might not notice it at first if you are out looking for them spawning on their own
but if you place a chamber node you find out pretty quick.

Man catacomb mod and Subterrain mod are 2 of my favorite mods to experiment with

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 16:42
by azekill_DIABLO
Napiophelios wrote: You might not notice it at first if you are out looking for them spawning on their own
but if you place a chamber node
you find out pretty quick.
What do you mean??

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 16:48
by azekill_DIABLO
Beware this is not an 'on generated' mapgen, this creeping dungeon can spread through older world areas. If using in a pre-existing world edit the generation limits to protect your creations.

i didn't noticed that....

Sorry :)

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 19:03
by paramat
You may need to fly underground (below y = -33) for a while to find these. Also they only appear in newly-generated terrain.

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:36
by azekill_DIABLO
i found a way to spawn them!

i just modify the default(ore) to make spawn the spawners as an ore!

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:31
by azekill_DIABLO

Code: Select all

-- dungeons_node_mod

	minetest.register_ore({
		ore_type       = "scatter",
		ore            = "catacomb:chambers",
		wherein        = "default:stone",
		clust_scarcity = 18 * 18 * 18,
		clust_num_ores = 1,
		clust_size     = 1,
		y_min          = -255,
		y_max          = -56,
	})

	minetest.register_ore({
		ore_type       = "scatter",
		ore            = "catacomb:chambern",
		wherein        = "default:stone",
		clust_scarcity = 14 * 14 * 14,
		clust_num_ores = 1,
		clust_size     = 1,
		y_min          = -31000,
		y_max          = -56,
	})
put that in default>>mapgen between copper and mese!

it works super fine for me!

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Fri May 27, 2016 17:23
by Sirmentio
This mod is fantastic, me and my friends have had alot of fun exploring these, but I would want an incentive for actually going in, is there going to be any sort of way to implement loot? (chests with treasures and stuff)?

Edit: Pardon me for necrobumping this thread if possible.

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Sat May 28, 2016 08:50
by azekill_DIABLO
Yay finelly some1 post!!!!!!i'm so happy!

every time i post something in a topic no one answers!!!i thought i was a topic_killer


to answer: look at block-men mod: Dungeon_loot and modify it....

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Sun May 29, 2016 18:26
by xeranas
Secret treasure room would be cool. I think could be done with "default" stuff (diamond, gold, etc blocks).

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Mon May 30, 2016 10:01
by paramat
I've neglected my mods for a while, a want to create surface entrances for these dungeons to make them more findable. I'm more interested in the basic generation so others may want to fork this to add treasure or other features.

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 02:25
by Sokomine
Once you find a good way to place a surface entrance, please tell me. I've an older mindes mod lying around that could use some help in that direction. It comes with vertical shafts but doesn't have any useful code yet as to where to place the mines. Maybe I ought to open a thread and see if anyone likes to take over.

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:57
by Codesound
Hi,

Many thanks for this mod. Is Beautiful! But I have problems in use it...
who can help me to play it?

eg:
- When I place one spawn point is right that generates only one stair and one room? (I thought would generate a huge number of rooms connected by stairs)
- Frequently when I insert one spawn point, anything is generated and the terminal tells me that: "Chamber obstructed" ... why?


- REQUEST: you can specify what material to use to generate the rooms/stairs?

many thanks for all again...
Codesound

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 15:33
by azekill_DIABLO
OBCHECK = false

like that there is no chamber checking: you can create dungoens in others one :D

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 18:31
by Codesound
Hi,

Code: Select all

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Post by azekill_DIABLO ยป Sun Jul 31, 2016 15:33
OBCHECK = false

like that there is no chamber checking: you can create dungoens in others one :D

Many and Many thanks! Now work !

Codesound

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 20:27
by paramat
> When I place one spawn point is right that generates only one stair and one room? (I thought would generate a huge number of rooms connected by stairs)

Any spawner node will only generate a room and maybe a stair or two, further rooms and corridors will generate as you explore, you need to walk near the walls and sometimes wait a few seconds for the next spawner node to be triggered by the player's presence.
Each room contains 'spawner nodes' in the walls that are triggered by ABM, the player needs to be within 32 nodes to trigger one.

> Frequently when I insert one spawn point, anything is generated and the terminal tells me that: "Chamber obstructed" ... why?

This feature (which can be disabled) is to stop rooms intersecting, so that the dungeon grows around itself in a tidy way.

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 04:38
by TumeniNodes
paramat wrote:This feature (which can be disabled) is to stop rooms intersecting, so that the dungeon grows around itself in a tidy way.
Tidy dungeons?? 0_O
:P

Re: [Mod] Unlimited dungeon generator [0.3.7] [catacomb]

Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 17:08
by Andrey01
Nice!Very long corridors of these dungeons!