[Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

Post Reply
User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

[Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

by paramat » Post

Image


*** This mod has some problems, for the moment only use in a test world ***

for latest stable Minetest back to 0.4.8
Depends default
Licenses: code WTFPL, textures CC BY-SA
Download https://github.com/paramat/rain/archive/master.zip and rename to 'rain'
Code https://github.com/paramat/rain

Use with mapgen v6.
Rain as columns of nodes with animated textures, no particles.
Clouds are 64x64 nodes, equal to one Minetest cloud pixel, and float at y = 64
Rainclouds will spawn near 'default:grass', in humid areas, away from deserts and more than 2 chunks from another cloud. They then drift slowly southward and dissolve over desert sand. They only move if a player is within 32 nodes of the 4 columns under the cloud's corners.
The cloud and rain is designed to pass through other structures (such as floatlands) without griefing, but do test this yourself first.

To clear a world of rainclouds, edit parameters to:
SPAWN = false
CLEAR = true
Then wait near a raincloud (within 32 nodes of a column under a cloud corner) until it clears.
As the cloud moves it may leave a trail of dark cloud, this will disappear when you get close to it and update the world because there's actually 'nothing there'.


Image
Last edited by paramat on Fri Oct 03, 2014 18:50, edited 13 times in total.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.0] [rain]

by Topywo » Post

paramat wrote: Dark clouds and rain will spawn over default grass, currently does not remove itself so expect a mess, best to test in a new world.

Eventually the dark clouds will drift southwards and disperse over deserts. Perhaps they will spawn near water and grass, then drift.
Eventually as in newer versions?

Because of the use of the colors/pattern for making the clouds, when flying to the clouds it looks like approaching a tunnel.

I like this mod, because it can be used to trigger the growth of flowers (or terrain change). Just a little test:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_abm({
	nodenames = {"default:desert_sand"},
	neighbors = {"rain:rain"},
	interval = 6,
	chance = 8,
	action = function(pos, node, active_object_count, active_object_count_wider)
	pos.y = pos.y + 1
	minetest.env:add_node(pos, {name = "flowers:geranium"})
	end,
})

User avatar
aldobr
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:46

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.0] [rain]

by aldobr » Post

Does it impose a significant load on the server ?

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.0] [rain]

by paramat » Post

Topywo, yes i meant in future versions, only use this in a test world, i only released this now for fun and feedback.

I think the load is more on the clients' FPS, looking through so many transparent plantlike textures, so heavy rain is certainly limited to within a mapchunk, i can extend the cloud a bit though and pixelate it to the default 32 node grid, perhaps shape it with 3D noise ...

User avatar
SAMIAMNOT
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 00:51
In-game: notanewbie
Location: Desert

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.1] [rain]

by SAMIAMNOT » Post

Looks interesting.
EDIT 1: So when it rains you see pieces of rain on the ground?
I test mines.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.1] [rain]

by paramat » Post

There are no puddles or raindrops splashing off the ground, i want to keep this simple and lightweight.

User avatar
SAMIAMNOT
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 00:51
In-game: notanewbie
Location: Desert

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.1] [rain]

by SAMIAMNOT » Post

So what happens? From what I read raindrops just gather on the ground.
I test mines.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.3] [rain]

by paramat » Post

0.1.3
Still stuff to do but some progress, see first post.

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.3] [rain]

by ExeterDad » Post

Fun!

User avatar
SAMIAMNOT
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 00:51
In-game: notanewbie
Location: Desert

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.3] [rain]

by SAMIAMNOT » Post

Hmmm. I havent gotten it yet but it looks much better will try next weekend!
I test mines.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.1.3] [rain]

by paramat » Post

There's a new improved version of this mod coming which works slightly differently, i recommend that players remove any rainclouds in their worlds since they will be incompatible with the new system.
To do this in v0.1.2 or v0.1.3 first disable the spawning abm by editing in a node that doesn't exist on the surface:

Code: Select all

-- Spawn raincloud
minetest.register_abm({
nodenames = {"default:mese"},
interval = 61,
chance = 4096,
action = function(pos, node)
Then to clear the clouds just place desert sand underneath one and wait nearby (within 32 nodes of the centre of the advancing wall of rain).

The new version of this mod is actually at github as v0.1.4 but i need to test it before i can recommend using it in anything other than a test world. It will have commands to disable spawning and clear all rainclouds, so that you can cleanly remove the mod at any time.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

by paramat » Post

Version 0.2.0
First post updated.
Now tested and should hopefully be okay to use in your worlds. There are options to clear a world of rainclouds too.

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

by ExeterDad » Post

This one is fun. Wasn't sure if it was working or not for a long time as I never saw any rain clouds, and couldn't find evidence in the logs that it had done anything. But one of my sons found a huge cloudburst (after a couple days) and was enchanted. I didn't let the kids know I installed the mod so it was a complete surprise for them. Just wanted you to know it is a hit!

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

by paramat » Post

That's good to know. Humid areas away from deserts, so jungles away from deserts are a good place.

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1897
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

by philipbenr » Post

Paramat: I admire the fact that you made this a really good looking rain mod, but there is a problem and I don't know if you can fix it... When you explore large segments of your world, the rain clouds pop up everywhere. When you exit and relogin, The chuckloading time is prolonged EXTREMELY. In other words, I couldn't play the map until I deleted the mod and used PilzAdams [clean] mod to remove the unknown items.

Just to let you know I am using your mods, but for weather, I am using snowdrift.

User avatar
SAMIAMNOT
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 00:51
In-game: notanewbie
Location: Desert

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

by SAMIAMNOT » Post

Looks like you forgot to remove the old version of the clouds.
It would be extremely helpful if in future versions it either deletes or replaces old clouds.
I test mines.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3700
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

by paramat » Post

philipbenr, i'll look into that, i'm bemused, anyone know what causes that? Perhaps it could be the feature of ABMs being multiple-triggered to compensate for the player being away from the area for a while, that feature causes problems and i'd like to be able to disable that ... opening issue.
I've added a note to the first post saying this mod is problematic.

User avatar
SAMIAMNOT
Member
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 00:51
In-game: notanewbie
Location: Desert

Re: [Mod] Rain [0.2.0] [rain]

by SAMIAMNOT » Post

Clouds dont move. Other than that, its perfect! (though I havent tested rain over houses and roofs, I know rain from Weather would go right through the roof.
IMHO I think clouds should be bigger.
I test mines.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests