[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.61] [mobs]

u34

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by u34 » Post

2018-07-05 04_45_56-Window.png
2018-07-05 04_45_56-Window.png (767.87 KiB) Viewed 1072 times
I can not see any mobs on the map? why?

Image

There are no chicken, cows, pinguin f.i. other animal on the map.
I used all mods from https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/!

Do you need more infos? thanx for reading this lines... so long..

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by hajo » Post

cHyper wrote:I can not see any mobs on the map?
I used all mods from https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/!
Any errors in debug.txt?
When creative, do you find the spawn-eggs in the inventory ?
Can you use them to spawn animals ?

Rochambeau
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:37

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Rochambeau » Post

Is there a problem with NPCs collision box? All NPCs and traders are floating above the ground.

Image
Attachments
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (79.69 KiB) Viewed 1072 times

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

are you using 0.5.0 ? cause npc's use the character.b3d model and that's changed in the latest dev release... I'll include the model inside mobs_npc in future.

Rochambeau
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:37

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Rochambeau » Post

Yep. Sorry. My fault. :-)

u34

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by u34 » Post

hajo wrote:
cHyper wrote:I can not see any mobs on the map?
I used all mods from https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/!
Any errors in debug.txt?
When creative, do you find the spawn-eggs in the inventory ?
Can you use them to spawn animals ?
Yes, but no auto spawn on a new world with activated mods!!
Or is the spawn rate to slow for the world? That could also... There are only a few of mobs than in the full-version-of-Mobs Redo !! any hints or solutions?

thanx
cHyper

Astrobe
Member
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:46

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Astrobe » Post

I believe I have a fix for the line_of_sight issues (mobs rubbing their faces on walls, see through walls, sometimes falling to death despite fear_height..):

Code: Select all

local line_of_sight = function(self, pos1, pos2, stepsize)
	local stepv=vector.multiply(vector.direction(pos1, pos2), stepsize)
	local s, pos = minetest.line_of_sight(pos1, pos2, stepsize)
	-- normal walking and flying mobs can see you through air
	if s == true then return true end

	-- New pos1 to be analyzed
	local npos1 = {x = pos1.x, y = pos1.y, z = pos1.z}
	local r, pos = minetest.line_of_sight(npos1, pos2, stepsize)

	-- Checks the return
	if r == true then return true end
	-- Nodename found
	local nn = minetest.get_node(pos).name

	-- It continues to advance in the line of sight in search of a real
	-- obstruction which counts as 'normal' nodebox.
	while minetest.registered_nodes[nn]
	and (minetest.registered_nodes[nn].walkable == false
	or minetest.registered_nodes[nn].drawtype == "nodebox") do
		npos1=vector.add(npos1, stepv) -- advance one stepsize on the line
		-- scan again
		r, pos = minetest.line_of_sight(npos1, pos2, stepsize)
		if r == true then return true end
		-- New Nodename found
		nn = minetest.get_node(pos).name
	end
	return false
end
To be complete, I actually force stepsize to 0.1 in my copy. Otherwise you get hit through "small" nodes like slabs. I didn't notice a significant increase in CPU usage, but I don't usually play with many mobs and many players.

If nothing else, the code looks simpler. Hopefully it is not more buggy.

R-One
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 23:06
Location: Nice, France

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by R-One » Post

Astrobe wrote:I believe I have a fix for the line_of_sight issues (mobs rubbing their faces on walls, see through walls, sometimes falling to death despite fear_height..):
where should the code be inserted for testing ?

Astrobe
Member
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:46

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Astrobe » Post

It replaces the function of the same name in api.lua.

It should be noted that mobs still rub their faces on high walls, because the probe says there's air but the collision box doesn't agree (maybe the colbox should be adjusted to mitigate the issue). Also, mobs will try to jump when they meet an obstacle like a wall, without probing above their head if it's worth jumping at all. I'll look into this issue someday.

R-One
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 23:06
Location: Nice, France

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by R-One » Post

cHyper wrote: Yes, but no auto spawn on a new world with activated mods!!
Or is the spawn rate to slow for the world? That could also... There are only a few of mobs than in the full-version-of-Mobs Redo !! any hints or solutions?

thanx, cHyper
Hi, I just tested with mods up to date and actually spwan rate is much lower than before on a new world ... bug or feature?

If we look at the animal mod mobs, the parameters were changed about a month ago.

https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/mobs_anima ... hicken.lua

there are 2 parameters for spawn rate :

'interval' is same as in register_abm() (default is 60 for mobs:register_spawn)
'chance' is same as in register_abm()

interval = 30 means that the action is performed every 30 seconds. It starts counting at the beginning of the game. After 30 seconds all actions are processed, it doesn't matter when the block was placed. - This is not a per-block timer!

chance = 1 means that the probability of the action is 1:1, it happens in every case. A higher value means that it's less probable (eg. 1:2, 1:3, …).

-source: https://dev.minetest.net/Modding_Intro

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Mobs_NPC updated:

- Brand new shop formspec when you right-click a trader npc (thanks to isaiah658)
- Two new trader textures added

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2574
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Post

TenPlus1, can you please to enable mobs could turn their heads when they want to see something or somebody.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Andrey01: It's not a switch you can enable, all of the models would have to be redone and a whole new function written to enable such a feature, this takes time.

User avatar
AspireMint
Member
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:59
GitHub: AspireMint
IRC: AspireMint
In-game: AspireMint
Location: Stuck at spawn

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by AspireMint » Post

Andrey01 wrote:TenPlus1, can you please to enable mobs could turn their heads when they want to see something or somebody.
That is cool idea.
+1 mese_crystal

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Stix » Post

AspireMint wrote:
Andrey01 wrote:TenPlus1, can you please to enable mobs could turn their heads when they want to see something or somebody.
That is cool idea.
+1 mese_crystal
I second that.
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2574
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Andrey01: It's not a switch you can enable, all of the models would have to be redone and a whole new function written to enable such a feature, this takes time.
I have an idea. You don`t need to make animations of heads for mobs. May you should heads of each mob register as "mobs"? And then attach these "mobs" to real ones. They will just rotate as simple mobs if a mob wants to see something and you will not need to make SO many different animations of each sort of movement of head.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2574
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Post

Only these "mobs" heads should not have selection box and they should be destroyed when a mob has died together with it.

User avatar
AspireMint
Member
Posts: 415
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:59
GitHub: AspireMint
IRC: AspireMint
In-game: AspireMint
Location: Stuck at spawn

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by AspireMint » Post

Yeah! They will look more lively.
This will allow to mix mobs, eg. centaur x)
Or add different texture to head, can be useful.

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Chibi ghost » Post

yes very nice but this would make the mod a hell of a lot bigger and harder to run

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
GitHub: daviddoesminetest
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest
Location: Lithuania

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by davidthecreator » Post

Chibi ghost wrote:yes very nice but this would make the mod a hell of a lot bigger and harder to run
But give possibility to make headshots or something?

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4276
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine
IRC: Sokomine
In-game: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Sokomine » Post

Moving heads would certainly be nice. I'd be glad if mobs could lie down sometimes. Cows and sheep are far too jumpy. These animals ought to concentrate more on obtaining enough food and eating it for a second time. Gras doesn't run away...it's all around the animal. But it needs a long time to eat enough of it.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Bogus
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 20:55
GitHub: BogusCurry
In-game: Bogus

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Bogus » Post

Hello ;D
I have a problem with the mobs, become the message, that two textures can not loaded. I have all mods downloads from the first post. Here is a screenshot with the error message.
Image

Edit: I run the game under LinuxMint 19
https://paste.md-5.net/ricusecapi.md
Tschöö Bogus

User avatar
Bogus
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 20:55
GitHub: BogusCurry
In-game: Bogus

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Bogus » Post

Ok, I have make a new world and had the mod new download from the content db. Only now is the mobs actived ;D Know I have no mobs in the world, I use the new version 0.4.17

debug log
https://paste.md-5.net/befetuqajo.sm
Tschöö Bogus

User avatar
Bogus
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 20:55
GitHub: BogusCurry
In-game: Bogus

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Bogus » Post

Hi there ;D
So I have my problem a little bit fixt, I see know mobs;D I not know how, but the mod mobs_horse make errors
https://paste.md-5.net/fokebiducu.coffee
Tschöö Bogus

Astrobe
Member
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:46

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.43] [mobs]

by Astrobe » Post

Rename the folder "mobs_horse" into "mob_horse".

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests