[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.53] [mobs]

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Stix » Post

Is there anyway i can tell a mob to pathfind to a set pos within mobs_redo?
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2886
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Stix: Mobs Redo API has built in variables that handle many of the workings and thankfully can be edited either by mods or having a mob's custom function kick in and set them to a specific value... In this case self.path.way holds a table of coords for the mob to follow using pathfinding and can be changed to make them follow a set path.

User avatar
mcbits
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:58
GitHub: mcbits

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by mcbits » Post

Is there any way to fix the way hostile mobs chase their targets so they don't do that goofy spinning thing when they're directly above or below the target?

I'm thinking mobs should switch to a different mode of horizontal movement once their horizontal position is within 2-3 blocks from the target's horizontal position, but I'm not seeing where best to put that kind of logic (or if another solution already exists).

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Stix » Post

.
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

untiltoday
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by untiltoday » Post

A discussion of mobs in trains, mentioning this mod: viewtopic.php?p=357036#p357036

User avatar
ElCeejo
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 23:29
GitHub: ElCeejo
In-game: ElCeejo
Location: In a Dragons Lair

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by ElCeejo » Post

So I'm trying to make a hostile NPC but it doesn't seem possible. Even with "attack_players" set to true, and "passive" set to false, they won't attack the player.

albert
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 11:53

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by albert » Post

Hi:)
1) i beg youre pardon for my langage. I’m french and don’t speak/write english good.
2) I hope no one explain what I'm trying write.
3) it is not really a problem. Just an observation.
4) Sorry for this big text: I'm trying be understand.

The "pen" (online traductor (or enclosure or paddock)) you can see on the screenshot is build : door, cobblestone, mob:fence, Planks.
Name horses : Arthur and Perceval.

Image

The first "pen" build was : door, cobblestone and mob:fence (without planks).


Sometimes I find one horse out of the first "pen" and I have see Perceval on the Position 1 (on the screen).

I have two hypothesis : a glitch with the door but I think Perceval climb on Arthur (it is not sexual) and after jump on the top (with planks) or out of the "pen" (without planks).
I think the probability that a horse escape need some conditions are true : Arthur must be against the wall, Arthur mustn't move, Perceval must climb on Arthur and the next jump on the top.
In other words, more the "pen" have a large surface area, the less this probabilities can't be true.

I have two others "pen" build as:

Image

In one (with only one cow) I’m using a decorative bloc in and against the wall. I think the cow climb on it and use a glitch with the planks. But here, the decorative block don’t move. Since I remove this bloc, never the cow escape.

In the "pen" on the second screen, I have some animals. I have two chickens but now only one. I suppose the second chicken jump on an other animal and use a glitch to escape.

Other thing. With the "pen" build with only door, cobblestone and mob:fence, I have see a mob_monster jump in the "pen" and kill my horses. Since I add the planks, i haven’t see a mob_monster jump in the "pen".
I have see a mob_monster move with the cow but never enter in the "pen".

Maybe two suggestions : have a mob:door (maybe with sneak/shift+right-clic in order use the door) and have an other mob fence top working horizontally (as an invisible roof).

But, again, it is not a really problem. Just know it and build the "pen". Maybe use mob:fence on the top of an other mob:fence.

It is really a good mod and it working fine. Thank you very much !

Thank you for reading.

EDIT
I'm trying with Rune on the two chickens and the rabbit. The purpose was: can they escape from the mob:fence and what's happen with the mob_monster ?
It's looks they can't escape but the mob_monster kill the rabbit.
Attachments
screenshot_20190919_110700.png
(623.72 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Pen.png
(904.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by albert on Sat Sep 21, 2019 10:24, edited 3 times in total.
MT est un jeu où vous partez à travers le monde pour trouver un lapin et vous revenez à votre camp avec plein de ressources et sans lapin.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2886
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

elceejo: a hostile npc is a monster :)

JavaFXpert
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2019 23:33
GitHub: JavaFXpert

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by JavaFXpert » Post

Is there a way to programmatically make an NPC appear at a specific position in the world?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2886
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

you could use a mob spanwner block, mobs:spawner

User avatar
Hamlet
Member
Posts: 765
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 21:09
IRC: H4mlet
In-game: Hamlet
Location: Lombardy, Italy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Hamlet » Post

Any idea on how to solve this?

Code: Select all

2019-09-28 00:58:57: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'mobs_others' in callback luaentity_Activate(): ...inetest/bin/../games/hamlets_quest/mods/mobs/api.lua:2948: bad argument #2 to 'random' (interval is empty)
2019-09-28 00:58:57: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-09-28 00:58:57: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'random'
2019-09-28 00:58:57: ERROR[Main]: 	...inetest/bin/../games/hamlets_quest/mods/mobs/api.lua:2948: in function <...inetest/bin/../games/hamlets_quest/mods/mobs/api.lua:2914>
2019-09-28 00:58:57: ERROR[Main]: 	(tail call): ?
EDIT: Nevermind, I've fixed it.
My repositories: Codeberg.org | My ContentDB's page | I'm on PureOS with XFCE

Segmented Worm
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 23:12

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Segmented Worm » Post

No mobs have appeared. Also, is it ok to combine this mod's folder with Pilzadam's simple mob's file folder? Both are named "mobs," and I had no choice but to combine them.

[Edit] Ok, the mobs have started appearing, at least the sheep are, I am unable to feed them wheat.

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21
Location: Bigsby Texas
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Nathan.S » Post

This mod should replace Pilzadam's simpe mobs folder. Delete that and just use this. Pilzadam's mod is old, outdated, and unmaintained. I'm surprised that Minetest even loaded the mod if you just merged the two folders.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course

Segmented Worm
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 23:12

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Segmented Worm » Post

Thanks for the help Nathan S. I was confused, I thought this mod was supposed to add on to Pilzadam's mod.

Segmented Worm
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 23:12

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Segmented Worm » Post

What is the official name for the animals mod accompanying this? (I need to name it's file folder accordingly for it to work in Minetest.)

auouymous
Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 09:39
GitHub: auouymous
IRC: air
In-game: auouymous

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by auouymous » Post

Segmented Worm wrote:What is the official name for the animals mod accompanying this? (I need to name it's file folder accordingly for it to work in Minetest.)
https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/mobs_animal

Segmented Worm
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 23:12

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Segmented Worm » Post

Everything appears to be working fine now, this is a great mod!

redblade7
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by redblade7 » Post

Hi TenPlus1,

What is the license of mob_horse?

Thank you!
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2886
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

mit license

redblade7
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redneonglow redblade7
In-game: redblade7 redblade7_owner

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by redblade7 » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:mit license
OK, thank you!

You should add a LICENSE.md (or whatever the equivalent is on notabug) to Git.
-redblade7, admin of: THE CREATIVE GARDENS (creative), THE VALLEYS (sandbox), and THE DIGITAL FARMS (farming/hunger/shops)

User avatar
Steamed_Punk
Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 13:31
GitHub: steamed-punk

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Steamed_Punk » Post

Hi TenPlus1, everyone...

I am trying to understand the spawn chance for my buffalo.

I am trying to get them to spawn in herds but not everywhere. based on the mobs_redo i have this so far...

Code: Select all

        interval = 120,
	chance = 8000, --15000,
	active_object_count = 30,
	active_object_count_wider = 0,
	min_height = 0,
	max_height = 3,
What do i need to put in chance to make these things spawn occasionally?

regards.
The sky is not the limit - It's my playground

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2886
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Steamed_Punk: If spawn chance is 8000 then a buffalo will spawn on every 1 in 8000 dirt, so the lower the number the more chance they appear, they spawn 1 every 30 seconds or you can set interval value to be less, but I wouldn't advise having active_object_count higher than 4.

For anymore info check this: https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/mobs_redo/ ... i.txt#L321

User avatar
Steamed_Punk
Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 13:31
GitHub: steamed-punk

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Steamed_Punk » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Steamed_Punk: If spawn chance is 8000 then a buffalo will spawn on every 1 in 8000 dirt, so the lower the number the more chance they appear, they spawn 1 every 30 seconds or you can set interval value to be less, but I wouldn't advise having active_object_count higher than 4.

For anymore info check this: https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/mobs_redo/ ... i.txt#L321
Thank you tenPlus1, i was confused because (i think it was a node) the chance was saying something about 1.5 = 0.2 or something like that and then seeing 8000 blew everything out of proportion.

As for active_object_count, yes i am a little over run at the moment, i will drop that down. I have already been to your api but still needed help (ABM stuff :-( ).

Thanks again i can now update my mod here in the forums.
The sky is not the limit - It's my playground

untiltoday
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 22:50
In-game: ParalyzeEntertain

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by untiltoday » Post

Is it possible to add the ability to make saddles from something else (like plastic or whatever they are made from), to get saddles without killing mobs? Previously mentioned by Sokomine for Petz.

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
GitHub: daviddoesminetest
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest
Location: Lithuania

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by davidthecreator » Post

untiltoday wrote:Is it possible to add the ability to make saddles from something else (like plastic or whatever they are made from), to get saddles without killing mobs? Previously mentioned by Sokomine for Petz.
Why not wool?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 10 guests