[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.61] [mobs]

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

by afflatus » Post

lonestar wrote:
fstltna wrote:Hi, I am trying to get mobs_redo to work, but when I start my server I get some errors. Here is the world.mt file:

Code: Select all

enable_damage = true
backend = sqlite3
gameid = minetest
creative_mode = false
player_backend = sqlite3
load_mod_mobs_redo = true
load_mod_mobs_animal = true
load_mod_mobs_monster = true
load_mod_mobs_npc = true
load_mod_mobs_horse = true
load_mod_slimes = true
load_mod_kpgmobs = true
load_mod_pmobs = true
load_mod_bugslive = true
load_mod_zombie = true
load_mod_creeper = true
load_mod_mr_goat = true
load_mod_ghost = true
load_mod_mobs_water = true
load_mod_mobs_sky = true
load_mod_mobs_goblins = true
load_mod_dmobs = true
load_mod_mobs_mc = true
load_mod_mobs_sharks = false
load_mod_mobs_jellyfish = false
load_mod_mobs_turtles = false
load_mod_mobs_fish = false
load_mod_mobs_crocs = false
load_mod_mobs_birds = false
load_mod_mob_horse = false
load_mod_goblins = false
load_mod_mobs = false
load_mod_mobs_butterfly = false
load_mod_mobs_bat = false
Can anyone help me?
there are a lot of mod names that are wrong, double check the names.

IE:
mobs_horse should be mob_horse
mobs_goblin should be mob_goblin

and mobs_redo should just be mobs, i do believe

"mobs_goblins" "mobs_horse" "mobs_sky" "mobs_water" -- take the "s" off of mobs
With advice like this, who needs enemies?

fstltna: at the bottom of your world.mt you have 'load_mod_mobs = false' - delete that.
Grailtest is stirring ...

User avatar
AntumDeluge
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 05:42
GitHub: AntumDeluge
IRC: AntumDeluge
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

by AntumDeluge » Post

I'm having trouble getting my shark to spawn. Not sure what I am doing wrong. I can spawn it manually, but it does not seem to so automatically. Here is the current spawning code:

Code: Select all

-- SPAWNING
local interval = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_interval')) or 60
local chance = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_chance')) or 9000
local min_light = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_min_light')) or 4
local max_light = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_max_light')) or 20
local min_height = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_min_height')) or -30
local max_height = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_max_height')) or -3
local day_toggle = core.settings:get('mobs.shark_spawn_time')

if day_toggle ~= nil then
	if day_toggle == 'day' then
		day_toggle = true
	elseif day_toggle == 'night' then
		day_toggle = false
	else
		day_toggle = nil
	end
end

local spawn_nodes = {'default:sand', 'default:desert_sand', 'default:clay'}
if core.global_exists('ethereal') then
	table.insert(spawn_nodes, 'ethereal:seaweed')
end

mobs:spawn({
	name = mobname,
	nodes = spawn_nodes,
	neighbors = {'default:water_source'},  -- 'default:water_flowing'},
	interval = interval,
	chance = chance,
	min_light = min_light,
	max_light = max_light,
	min_height = min_height,
	max_height = max_height,
	day_toggle = day_toggle,
})
--- Edit ---
Just found out that my sharks are spawning. :)

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Update:

- Added on_spawn function to mobs registry (bunny uses new function).

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.38] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Updated to version 1.38:

- Added better entity checking for mob spawning, spawn eggs and spawner block.
- Fixed a few bugs

User avatar
lister
Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 23:14

custom mob consultation

by lister » Post

kudos for a superb mod, we got monsters and animals and npcs here at hightime, and we are very happy with how it works so far.

we are mulling over an idea of a custom worker mob. ideally it should be about the size of a pc, wondering around peacefully, like a chicken or a cow, and every second or so looking at a few nodes nearby and building/digging/replacing them. it should have an inventory where the dug things go, and a few more slots for things like building materials & cash moneys (as payment for work). would it be easy to implement something like that with mobs redo? any tips or a good starting point?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.38] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

The do_custom function for a mob can be used to do all sorts but that means writing it yourself :) so give this mod a try and see if it helps: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17918

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
GitHub: daviddoesminetest
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest
Location: Lithuania

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

by davidthecreator » Post

Chibi ghost wrote:not with out cheating using noclip or playing Russian roulette and taking a quick dunk in the lava
Or, you can just use fireproof armor...

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
Posts: 1420
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.38] [mobs]

by maikerumine » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:The do_custom function for a mob can be used to do all sorts but that means writing it yourself :) so give this mod a try and see if it helps: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17918
One of my favourite features of this MOD. :)
Which sincerely needs to be added to mtg.
Talamh Survival Minetest-->viewtopic.php?f=10&t=12959

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 970
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.38] [mobs]

by v-rob » Post

Some of the mobs have detached arms, like the stone, sand and dirt monsters.
Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Updated to version 1.39:

- Added on_breed(parent1, parent2) custom mob function
- Added on_grown(self) custom mob function
- Added do_punch(self, hitter, tflp, tool_caps, dir) custom mob function

User avatar
acidzebra
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 09:11

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by acidzebra » Post

Hi, short-time lurker, first time poster.

This is an amazing framework, thank you! I took that mr. goat mod and used it to make goats a cleansing engine of plant destruction.

I notice mobs frequently want to go in a given direction, enter water or other damaging node, notice damage and turn back, then go right back to wanting to go in the direction the water (or other damage source) is. Repeat until death.

Is there be a fairly simple way to add a "check one block ahead and one block ahead+down in the direction you want to go, if there is anything that causes damage [water/lava/list], pick another direction" routine? I think this would mitigate this self-destructive behavior somewhat, but I have no idea how intensive it would be in terms of computation (or really how to go about coding it in lua). I am barely starting to get a grip on minetest.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Mobs Redo API is a simple controller for mobs and pretty much allows them to wander in any random direction unless they are following a player, however I will look more into the pathfinding side of things and maybe have them look for specific nodes to nibble on or stay around.

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Post

For flying mobs (air), I've noticed they get hung up when they end up in nodes like stairs, flowers, and within the boundaries of nodes that have a selection box smaller than a regular node size.
I discovered when the mob found it was in a node other than air, it's state would "flop" and then it would go into the "stand" state. So I commented out the "flop" section in the api and the mobs would no longer get stuck.
Is there any way to prevent going into flop within the mobs def? I'd rather not have to resort to hacking the api if possible as flop is surely there for valid reasons.

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by hajo » Post

ExeterDad wrote:For flying mobs (air), I've noticed they get hung up
when they end up in nodes like stairs, flowers
Also look at situations like wolf inside a wheat-field, and turtle in papyrus.

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Chibi ghost » Post

or fish in fence posts

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Update:

- Flying or swimming mobs no longer get stuck inside stairs or plants.

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Chibi ghost » Post

ooo yey ta very much my fishing hole can now have fish

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Post

Can't wait to try it out! And just in time for my little project. Thanks so much TenPlus1

User avatar
Christian9
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
In-game: Christian9
Location: Hell Creek

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Christian9 » Post

I'm using this framework to add aggressive animals, that have baby forms, but if I spawn a baby and there is something its aggressive towards nearby it grows to an adult instantly. Can that be fixed?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Mob children are on a timer which usually takes 5 minutes before growing up, so I'd have to see your code to find out what's causing them to insta-grow...

User avatar
Christian9
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
In-game: Christian9
Location: Hell Creek

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Christian9 » Post

Code: Select all

	hit_node = function(self, pos, node)

		pos.y = pos.y + 1

		local nod = minetest.get_node_or_nil(pos)

		if not nod
		or not minetest.registered_nodes[nod.name]
		or minetest.registered_nodes[nod.name].walkable == true then
			return
		end

		local mob = minetest.add_entity(pos, "prehistoric_life:velociraptor")
		local ent2 = mob:get_luaentity()

		mob:set_properties({
			textures = ent2.child_texture[1],
			visual_size = {
				x = ent2.base_size.x / 5.5,
				y = ent2.base_size.y / 5.5
			},
			collisionbox = {
				ent2.base_colbox[1] / 5.5,
				ent2.base_colbox[2] / 5.5,
				ent2.base_colbox[3] / 5.5,
				ent2.base_colbox[4] / 5.5,
				ent2.base_colbox[5] / 5.5,
				ent2.base_colbox[6] / 5.5
			},
		})

		ent2.child = true
		ent2.tamed = true
		ent2.owner = self.playername
	end
})
Its only in aggressive mobs, it works fine with non-aggressive mobs, taking the full 5 minutes to grow. But if I spawn the raptor next to a cow it grows straight to adult instantly.

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2576
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: LandarVargan
In-game: LandarVargan

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

I've made a mod that adds lava orb armor, a sword, and blocks. Planning on adding more nodes & tools later viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18608
My ContentDB -|- Working on CaptureTheFlag -|- Minetest Forums Dark Theme!! (You need it)

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Nice one Lone_Wolf :)

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
In-game: TenPlus1
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.40] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Updated to version 1.40:

- Using newer functions, required Minetest 0.4.16 and above to work.

dawgdoc
Member
Posts: 260
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 01:10
GitHub: dawgdoc

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.40] [mobs]

by dawgdoc » Post

@TenPlus1

After pulling your newest updates from github I have received an error on startup of an existing survival world, singleplayer, with only non-hostile mobs enabled. It is a world that I have had for a month of two, if not three. It was created after updating to MT 0.4.16. Even though the error references hbhunger mod, I am also reporting it here, since this seems to be involved. -- all mods are current with their git repositories. The world shutdown on startup and play did not commence.

debug.txt

Code: Select all

-------------

2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/init.lua:
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/hunger.lua:129: attempt to index global 'mobs' (a nil value)
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/hunger.lua:129: in main chunk
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'dofile'
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/init.lua:46: in main chunk
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
The hbhunger mod references mobs_redo at line 129 of hunger.lua, the code beginning at line 128

Code: Select all

if minetest.get_modpath("mobs") ~= nil then
	if mobs.mod ~= nil and mobs.mod == "redo" then
		hbhunger.register_food("mobs:cheese", 4)
		hbhunger.register_food("mobs:meat", 8)
		hbhunger.register_food("mobs:meat_raw", 4)
		hbhunger.register_food("mobs:rat_cooked", 4)
		hbhunger.register_food("mobs:honey", 2)
I guess this is something Wuzzy will need to fix, but I wanted you to know.

EDIT: I created a new world just now and only enabled default, farming_redo, hbhunger, hudbars, mobs_redo, and mobs_animal. The same error was generated. If I enable all these except hbhunger I get no errors. The same error occurs once I add hbhunger. If I only enable hudbars ad hbhunger the error generated by hbhunger references farming mod.

Code: Select all

2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/init.lua:
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/hunger.lua:348: attempt to index global 'farming' (a nil value)
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/hunger.lua:348: in main chunk
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'dofile'
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/init.lua:46: in main chunk
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day. Give a kid a fish, it's going to die.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests