[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.40] [mobs]

User avatar
afflatus
Member
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
Location: Avalonia
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

by afflatus » Mon Aug 28, 2017 17:31

lonestar wrote:
fstltna wrote:Hi, I am trying to get mobs_redo to work, but when I start my server I get some errors. Here is the world.mt file:
Code: Select all
enable_damage = true
backend = sqlite3
gameid = minetest
creative_mode = false
player_backend = sqlite3
load_mod_mobs_redo = true
load_mod_mobs_animal = true
load_mod_mobs_monster = true
load_mod_mobs_npc = true
load_mod_mobs_horse = true
load_mod_slimes = true
load_mod_kpgmobs = true
load_mod_pmobs = true
load_mod_bugslive = true
load_mod_zombie = true
load_mod_creeper = true
load_mod_mr_goat = true
load_mod_ghost = true
load_mod_mobs_water = true
load_mod_mobs_sky = true
load_mod_mobs_goblins = true
load_mod_dmobs = true
load_mod_mobs_mc = true
load_mod_mobs_sharks = false
load_mod_mobs_jellyfish = false
load_mod_mobs_turtles = false
load_mod_mobs_fish = false
load_mod_mobs_crocs = false
load_mod_mobs_birds = false
load_mod_mob_horse = false
load_mod_goblins = false
load_mod_mobs = false
load_mod_mobs_butterfly = false
load_mod_mobs_bat = false


Can anyone help me?


there are a lot of mod names that are wrong, double check the names.

IE:
mobs_horse should be mob_horse
mobs_goblin should be mob_goblin

and mobs_redo should just be mobs, i do believe

"mobs_goblins" "mobs_horse" "mobs_sky" "mobs_water" -- take the "s" off of mobs


With advice like this, who needs enemies?

fstltna: at the bottom of your world.mt you have 'load_mod_mobs = false' - delete that.
Grailtest is dreaming ...
 

User avatar
AntumDeluge
Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 05:42
GitHub: AntumDeluge
IRC: AntumDeluge

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

by AntumDeluge » Mon Aug 28, 2017 22:55

I'm having trouble getting my shark to spawn. Not sure what I am doing wrong. I can spawn it manually, but it does not seem to so automatically. Here is the current spawning code:

Code: Select all
-- SPAWNING
local interval = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_interval')) or 60
local chance = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_chance')) or 9000
local min_light = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_min_light')) or 4
local max_light = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_max_light')) or 20
local min_height = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_min_height')) or -30
local max_height = tonumber(core.settings:get('mobs.shark_max_height')) or -3
local day_toggle = core.settings:get('mobs.shark_spawn_time')

if day_toggle ~= nil then
   if day_toggle == 'day' then
      day_toggle = true
   elseif day_toggle == 'night' then
      day_toggle = false
   else
      day_toggle = nil
   end
end

local spawn_nodes = {'default:sand', 'default:desert_sand', 'default:clay'}
if core.global_exists('ethereal') then
   table.insert(spawn_nodes, 'ethereal:seaweed')
end

mobs:spawn({
   name = mobname,
   nodes = spawn_nodes,
   neighbors = {'default:water_source'},  -- 'default:water_flowing'},
   interval = interval,
   chance = chance,
   min_light = min_light,
   max_light = max_light,
   min_height = min_height,
   max_height = max_height,
   day_toggle = day_toggle,
})


--- Edit ---
Just found out that my sharks are spawning. :)
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:31

Update:

- Added on_spawn function to mobs registry (bunny uses new function).
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.38] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 08:46

Updated to version 1.38:

- Added better entity checking for mob spawning, spawn eggs and spawner block.
- Fixed a few bugs
 

User avatar
lister
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 23:14

custom mob consultation

by lister » Fri Sep 08, 2017 21:46

kudos for a superb mod, we got monsters and animals and npcs here at hightime, and we are very happy with how it works so far.

we are mulling over an idea of a custom worker mob. ideally it should be about the size of a pc, wondering around peacefully, like a chicken or a cow, and every second or so looking at a few nodes nearby and building/digging/replacing them. it should have an inventory where the dug things go, and a few more slots for things like building materials & cash moneys (as payment for work). would it be easy to implement something like that with mobs redo? any tips or a good starting point?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.38] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sat Sep 09, 2017 08:16

The do_custom function for a mob can be used to do all sorts but that means writing it yourself :) so give this mod a try and see if it helps: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17918
 

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

by davidthecreator » Sat Sep 09, 2017 13:00

Chibi ghost wrote:not with out cheating using noclip or playing Russian roulette and taking a quick dunk in the lava

Or, you can just use fireproof armor...
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.38] [mobs]

by maikerumine » Sat Sep 09, 2017 15:33

TenPlus1 wrote:The do_custom function for a mob can be used to do all sorts but that means writing it yourself :) so give this mod a try and see if it helps: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17918

One of my favourite features of this MOD. :)
Which sincerely needs to be added to mtg.
 

User avatar
v-rob
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.38] [mobs]

by v-rob » Thu Sep 14, 2017 01:58

Some of the mobs have detached arms, like the stone, sand and dirt monsters.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 15:14

Updated to version 1.39:

- Added on_breed(parent1, parent2) custom mob function
- Added on_grown(self) custom mob function
- Added do_punch(self, hitter, tflp, tool_caps, dir) custom mob function
 

User avatar
acidzebra
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 09:11

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by acidzebra » Tue Sep 19, 2017 19:53

Hi, short-time lurker, first time poster.

This is an amazing framework, thank you! I took that mr. goat mod and used it to make goats a cleansing engine of plant destruction.

I notice mobs frequently want to go in a given direction, enter water or other damaging node, notice damage and turn back, then go right back to wanting to go in the direction the water (or other damage source) is. Repeat until death.

Is there be a fairly simple way to add a "check one block ahead and one block ahead+down in the direction you want to go, if there is anything that causes damage [water/lava/list], pick another direction" routine? I think this would mitigate this self-destructive behavior somewhat, but I have no idea how intensive it would be in terms of computation (or really how to go about coding it in lua). I am barely starting to get a grip on minetest.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 08:25

Mobs Redo API is a simple controller for mobs and pretty much allows them to wander in any random direction unless they are following a player, however I will look more into the pathfinding side of things and maybe have them look for specific nodes to nibble on or stay around.
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Wed Oct 04, 2017 00:13

For flying mobs (air), I've noticed they get hung up when they end up in nodes like stairs, flowers, and within the boundaries of nodes that have a selection box smaller than a regular node size.
I discovered when the mob found it was in a node other than air, it's state would "flop" and then it would go into the "stand" state. So I commented out the "flop" section in the api and the mobs would no longer get stuck.
Is there any way to prevent going into flop within the mobs def? I'd rather not have to resort to hacking the api if possible as flop is surely there for valid reasons.
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by hajo » Wed Oct 04, 2017 02:12

ExeterDad wrote:For flying mobs (air), I've noticed they get hung up
when they end up in nodes like stairs, flowers

Also look at situations like wolf inside a wheat-field, and turtle in papyrus.
 

User avatar
Chibi ghost
Member
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:20

Update:

- Flying or swimming mobs no longer get stuck inside stairs or plants.
 

User avatar
Chibi ghost
Member
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Chibi ghost » Wed Oct 04, 2017 13:57

ooo yey ta very much my fishing hole can now have fish
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Wed Oct 04, 2017 15:52

Can't wait to try it out! And just in time for my little project. Thanks so much TenPlus1
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
Location: Hell Creek
In-game: Christian9

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Christian9 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 06:46

I'm using this framework to add aggressive animals, that have baby forms, but if I spawn a baby and there is something its aggressive towards nearby it grows to an adult instantly. Can that be fixed?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 08:40

Mob children are on a timer which usually takes 5 minutes before growing up, so I'd have to see your code to find out what's causing them to insta-grow...
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
Location: Hell Creek
In-game: Christian9

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Christian9 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 21:19

Code: Select all
   hit_node = function(self, pos, node)

      pos.y = pos.y + 1

      local nod = minetest.get_node_or_nil(pos)

      if not nod
      or not minetest.registered_nodes[nod.name]
      or minetest.registered_nodes[nod.name].walkable == true then
         return
      end

      local mob = minetest.add_entity(pos, "prehistoric_life:velociraptor")
      local ent2 = mob:get_luaentity()

      mob:set_properties({
         textures = ent2.child_texture[1],
         visual_size = {
            x = ent2.base_size.x / 5.5,
            y = ent2.base_size.y / 5.5
         },
         collisionbox = {
            ent2.base_colbox[1] / 5.5,
            ent2.base_colbox[2] / 5.5,
            ent2.base_colbox[3] / 5.5,
            ent2.base_colbox[4] / 5.5,
            ent2.base_colbox[5] / 5.5,
            ent2.base_colbox[6] / 5.5
         },
      })

      ent2.child = true
      ent2.tamed = true
      ent2.owner = self.playername
   end
})


Its only in aggressive mobs, it works fine with non-aggressive mobs, taking the full 5 minutes to grow. But if I spawn the raptor next to a cow it grows straight to adult instantly.
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: Hometown server
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf or Somebody

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.39] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Mon Oct 09, 2017 04:41

I've made a mod that adds lava orb armor, a sword, and blocks. Planning on adding more nodes & tools later viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18608
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.40] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:01

Updated to version 1.40:

- Using newer functions, required Minetest 0.4.16 and above to work.
 

dawgdoc
Member
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 01:10
GitHub: dawgdoc

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.40] [mobs]

by dawgdoc » Wed Oct 11, 2017 08:52

@TenPlus1

After pulling your newest updates from github I have received an error on startup of an existing survival world, singleplayer, with only non-hostile mobs enabled. It is a world that I have had for a month of two, if not three. It was created after updating to MT 0.4.16. Even though the error references hbhunger mod, I am also reporting it here, since this seems to be involved. -- all mods are current with their git repositories. The world shutdown on startup and play did not commence.

debug.txt
Code: Select all
-------------

2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/init.lua:
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/hunger.lua:129: attempt to index global 'mobs' (a nil value)
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]:    /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/hunger.lua:129: in main chunk
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]:    [C]: in function 'dofile'
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]:    /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/init.lua:46: in main chunk
2017-10-11 03:24:59: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.


The hbhunger mod references mobs_redo at line 129 of hunger.lua, the code beginning at line 128
Code: Select all
if minetest.get_modpath("mobs") ~= nil then
   if mobs.mod ~= nil and mobs.mod == "redo" then
      hbhunger.register_food("mobs:cheese", 4)
      hbhunger.register_food("mobs:meat", 8)
      hbhunger.register_food("mobs:meat_raw", 4)
      hbhunger.register_food("mobs:rat_cooked", 4)
      hbhunger.register_food("mobs:honey", 2)

I guess this is something Wuzzy will need to fix, but I wanted you to know.

EDIT: I created a new world just now and only enabled default, farming_redo, hbhunger, hudbars, mobs_redo, and mobs_animal. The same error was generated. If I enable all these except hbhunger I get no errors. The same error occurs once I add hbhunger. If I only enable hudbars ad hbhunger the error generated by hbhunger references farming mod.
Code: Select all
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/init.lua:
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/hunger.lua:348: attempt to index global 'farming' (a nil value)
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]:    /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/hunger.lua:348: in main chunk
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]:    [C]: in function 'dofile'
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]:    /home/dawgdoc/.minetest/mods/hbhunger/init.lua:46: in main chunk
2017-10-11 04:21:33: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests