Page 67 of 101

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.48] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2018 22:33
by runs
TenPlus1 wrote:mobs:capture_mob() does indeed return true or false when attempting to capture a mob...

Chibi + Lupercus: mobs animals updated with fix for 5.0x error.
I mean in some line of your code:

Code: Select all

return true --false
Why it returns 'true' instead of false as comment say?

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.48] [mobs]

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2018 09:23
by TenPlus1
runs: those were testing edits, forgot to remove them... my bad! has been fixed now.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.48] [mobs]

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 21:36
by runs
Bug?

I've created a mob. Then I capture it (with force_take = true). All Ok. But when I put the egg on the world, no mob appears. I get the following warning:

Code: Select all

2018-12-19 22:33:45: WARNING[Server]: 
ScriptApiBase::objectrefGetOrCreate(): Pushing ObjectRef to removed/deactivated object, this is probably a bug.
Well, I have other mobs like turtles and these are captured and placed OK. It's a problem of my created mob (monster). I've tried to change only my mob type from 'monster' to 'animal', and then it works OK. I think there is a problem when you force to capture a monster type of mob (not tamed nor owner, but now is allowed to be captured) and then you try to put it on the world.

A workaround would be to turn monsters when captured into tamed animals with an owner.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.48] [mobs]

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 08:51
by TenPlus1
That's why we have multiple entities for things like wolves to dogs so it's a tamed monster and we can pick it up, same with some dragons... I'll have a look and maybe make the force_take useable with monsters as well...

Note: You could make a special tool that when used on monsters could tame it by changing some internal self.* settings and make it an npc :)

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:16
by TenPlus1
Updated to version 1.49:

- Added mobs:force_capture(self, player) function (check sand_monster.lua for example)
- Mob API now uses meta tables thanks to bell07

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 23:10
by runs
I get an error with the last commit (If I come back to the previous version,it works OK again).

When I do in my mod:

Code: Select all

entity.object:remove()
It appears an error: 'Object nil'. But with all the previous versions of mobs redo (til 2 months ago at least) this error does not appear.

I guess is a problem with the new metadata stuff added (200+ new lines of code added).

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 18:51
by mase
I cannot craft a beehive. I have 3 tamed bees in a row, but nothing happens.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 06:21
by GreenXenith
runs wrote:I get an error with the last commit (If I come back to the previous version,it works OK again).

When I do in my mod:

Code: Select all

entity.object:remove()
It appears an error: 'Object nil'. But with all the previous versions of mobs redo (til 2 months ago at least) this error does not appear.

I guess is a problem with the new metadata stuff added (200+ new lines of code added).
Yes, this is a somewhat critical bug introduced in the latest update due to line 2924 failing to pass self. I discovered this a few minutes ago and it is quite inhibiting.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 02:06
by 1wsx10
all of your notabug.org links seem to be dead

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 07:18
by TenPlus1
notabug.org is having tech issues at present, will be back up soon...

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 02:35
by DoyleChris
I ran into a bug tonight with the mod. I grew some wheat and tame the sheep. And made tags to put on them. The bug is when I go to feed the sheep wheat to tame it, the wheat is not removed from inventory. Also the tags don't get removed from inventory.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:12
by TenPlus1
are you in creative mode? or have creative priv set?

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 13:36
by DoyleChris
Yep i created a server for my son and me and it gave me creative privs.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 23:23
by GreenXenith
Please fix self not being passed, I am forced to stay on a previous commit in order to not break everything :(
Also, on_spawn runs every spawn regardless of returning true, which is also quite annoying.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 00:00
by runs
Yes, please, I'm still on the olde version too. :-(

Tenplus, it would be cool if you use 'Releases' for stable builds and 'master' for experimental things.

Don't take this the wrong way, it's just a suggestion. :-)

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2018 20:57
by DoyleChris
Cats and Fish. I have downloaded the Fish Mod and fishing mod. So i can catch a puffer fish and try to go feed it to the cat and it wont take it. But then i try to cook it it wont cook. but all i get when i fish is puffer fish.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:27
by PEAK
@TenPlus1

The horses are so silent!... I found a PD sound that fits very well:
https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Datei:Wiehern.ogg

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 15:53
by runs
DoyleChris wrote:Cats and Fish. I have downloaded the Fish Mod and fishing mod. So i can catch a puffer fish and try to go feed it to the cat and it wont take it. But then i try to cook it it wont cook. but all i get when i fish is puffer fish.
If it is my fishing mod: Because Puffer Fish is a poisonous fish. In the sea another fish is clown fish. To cookable fishes search for them in rivers.

Well, I think is unbalanced, and it is no food for mods, so I will tweak this mod. I will add more sea/river cookable/eatable fishes.

P.S.: My Fishing Mod was updated right now.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 19:09
by Napiophelios
NEVER MIND I Is Using a Broken Dev Build
I am Having a problem with Mobs_Redo loading when placed in the mods folder.
The game menu allows me to enable the mods but isn't loaded into the game.

Code: Select all

2019-01-02 12:26:50: ERROR[Main]: The following mods could not be found: "mobs_redo"
2019-01-02 12:26:50: ERROR[Main]: mod "ccmobs2" has unsatisfied dependencies:  "mobs"
When placed in the sub-game's mods folder everything works fine.

I tried making a modpack, but still no dice.
The game menu allows me to enable the pack
but nothing appears in the game.

I am using Sfan5's latest dev build: minetest-5.0.0-a7025c7-win64.
I am testing with the latest dev Minetest game release from Github.

This is probably an issue with the windows (dev) builds,
stable release (from Minetest.net) works as expected.

I can't reproduce this with any other mods so far
And I have made no changes to mobs_redo mod.
Spoiler
Debug.txt (mods in the game's mods folder / new world created = no problems)

Code: Select all

-------------
  Separator
-------------

2019-01-02 12:25:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:50: ACTION[Main]: World at [C:\Users\Napiophelios\Games\Minetest_dev\bin\..\worlds\CCMobs2_test_001]
2019-01-02 12:25:50: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:60494.
2019-01-02 12:25:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:52: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:25:52: WARNING[Main]: Client side mods are disabled by configuration.
2019-01-02 12:25:54: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer [127.0.0.1] joins game. 
2019-01-02 12:25:54: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer joins game. List of players: singleplayer
2019-01-02 12:26:07: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down
Debug.txt (mods in mods folder / new world created = won't load the mods)

Code: Select all

-------------
  Separator
-------------

2019-01-02 12:26:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:50: ERROR[Main]: The following mods could not be found: "mobs_redo"
2019-01-02 12:26:50: ERROR[Main]: mod "ccmobs2" has unsatisfied dependencies:  "mobs"
2019-01-02 12:26:50: ACTION[Main]: World at [C:\Users\Napiophelios\Games\Minetest_dev\bin\..\worlds\CCMobs2_test_002]
2019-01-02 12:26:50: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:54110.
2019-01-02 12:26:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:50: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:51: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:52: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:52: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:52: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
2019-01-02 12:26:53: WARNING[Main]: Client side mods are disabled by configuration.
2019-01-02 12:26:53: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer [127.0.0.1] joins game. 
2019-01-02 12:26:53: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer joins game. List of players: singleplayer
2019-01-02 12:26:59: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=21715

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 13:16
by wziard
I found a bug (either in mobs_redo, or in cottages)

when clicking a horse with cottages:staw_ground the server crashes.

from debug.txt:

Code: Select all

019-01-13 14:03:15: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod '' in callback luaentity_Punch(): .minetest/mods/mobs_redo/api.lua:2586: attempt to get length of field 'sounds' (a function value)
2019-01-13 14:03:15: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-01-13 14:03:15: ERROR[Main]:       .minetest/mods/mobs_redo/api.lua:2586: in function <.minetest/mods/mobs_redo/api.lua:2469>
I also created an issue on notabug.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 15:35
by Napiophelios
wziard wrote:I found a bug (either in mobs_redo, or in cottages)

when clicking a horse with cottages:staw_ground the server crashes.
not sure if it matters, but Sokomine doesn't have the parentheses:

sounds = default.node_sound_dirt_defaults(),

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 18:44
by wziard
Napiophelios wrote:
wziard wrote:I found a bug (either in mobs_redo, or in cottages)

when clicking a horse with cottages:staw_ground the server crashes.
not sure if it matters, but Sokomine doesn't have the parentheses:

sounds = default.node_sound_dirt_defaults(),
I think that's it!
So the problem is in cottages. I'll delete the issue in mobs_redo and post a patch in cottages.

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 23:19
by Sokomine
wziard wrote: I think that's it!
So the problem is in cottages. I'll delete the issue in mobs_redo and post a patch in cottages.
Quite possible. I've had issues with the sound definition as well and did some local, not yet published fixes. It's something I'll have to take a close look at once I'm done reading the forum (the end is in sight! Just a couple more threads left)

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 01:58
by SystemError
thanks for this "do_stay_near function"

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 18:25
by Termos
I noticed this mod's entities make use of the stepheight parameter. Recently I found out this MT functionality is inherently glitchy in 4.17, entities turn black and jump back and forth several times while making a step.

Do you guys know if this is planned to be fixed in the next MT release?