[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.53] [mobs]

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21
Location: Bigsby Texas
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Nathan.S » Post

BlazeGamingUnltd wrote:How do you install this. I keep seeing the error that there is no such directory. Please reply!!!
Try this.
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=10360
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4065
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Wuzzy » Post

Can you please add two groups?

shears=1 for the shears. Because there are other mods that add shears.

And fake_liquid=1 for the cobweb. This is a group to tell mods that a node is technically a liquid (according to node def.) but should not be considered a liquid from the user viewpoint (like in a help system, or an item overview or whatever). And the cobweb is just that.
I am using this group in my Help modpack to adjust the help page accordingly.

I am already using these groups in MineClone 2 and Hades Revisited and hope to see them spread more in the name of group standardization. :D

See also: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=22075
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

Downad
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 08:54
GitHub: downad
In-game: downad
Location: Germany

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Downad » Post

Hello TenPlus1,
can the chicken, the cow, the sheep and the horse also be feeding with the oat?

can i activate this e.g. in the chicken.lua
with the follow - line?
follow = {"farming:seed_wheat", "farming:seed_cotton", "farming:seed_oat"},

and in the others .lua like that?

Thanks

Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: bye bye

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Festus1965 » Post

the feeding is ok, in real they also eat all different ...

This last 1.49 is successfully integrated in my 5.1.0-dev server, thanks for keeping it up to date
Minetest has no future

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4065
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Wuzzy » Post

I found a bug.
If you have a group of monsters that is passive towards you, and they have group_attack=true, then you punch one of them, and that single punch kills the monster instantly, then the other monsters fail to attack you back!

For comparison, if you would have punched the monster without killing it, the other monsters would have retaliated.

In the MCL2 fork of Mobs Redo, I have fixed this: https://repo.or.cz/MineClone/MineClone2 ... 08615fe3be
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

Termos
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:50

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Termos » Post

Wuzzy wrote:a group of monsters that is passive towards you, and they have group_attack=true, then you punch one of them, and that single punch kills the monster instantly, then the other monsters fail to attack you back!
I think this is how it works in MC, if I remember correctly.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2866
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

I made the group_attack so that if you steal ninja'd a mob in one shot then the mob wouldn't have time to make a sound and have the others attack, but this is also good so mobs can have their revenge... "My name is Montonio Cow, you killed my father... prepare to die!" :)

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2383
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

That cow mod someone posted is pretty good. I wouldn't mind seeing it replace the current ones.

User avatar
gigomaf
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 14:57

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by gigomaf » Post

Is any way to fix issue with collision boxes, that mobs don't pass through the walls?
Also horses has some issues rerlated to collisions.

Image

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2866
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Collision boxes do not rotate with an entity, so you would have to make one that covers the entire mob to stop it glitching into walls and such, and this would make it unusable in going through doors or fence gates and the like.

WayBack Machine
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 19:42

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by WayBack Machine » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:That cow mod someone posted...
The one shown here perhaps, post-347944?
https://web.archive.org/web/20190405224 ... start=1725

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2383
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

WayBack Machine wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:That cow mod someone posted...
The one shown here perhaps, post-347944?
https://web.archive.org/web/20190405224 ... start=1725
Yep, thanks! Should have checked...

Astrobe
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:46

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by Astrobe » Post

I have converted the line_of_sight function to raycast on my sort-of-like private semi-fork. That was pretty straightforward. Here is the code; it is based on an older version of MobsRedo, and the check for 5.0 needs to be added, but it should be good enough as a template.

Code: Select all

local line_of_sight=function(self, pos1, pos2, stepsize)
	local ray=minetest.raycast(pos1, pos2, true, false)
	local thing=ray:next()
	while thing do
		if thing.type=="object" and thing.ref~=self.object and not thing.ref:is_player() then return false end
		if thing.type=="node" then
			local name=minetest.get_node(thing.under).name
			if minetest.registered_items[name].walkable then return false end
		end
		thing=ray:next()
	end
	return true
end
"stepsize" is obviously not used anymore.

Note that I introduced a subtle yet maybe significant difference: the line of sight is now obstructed by entities. I wanted that way because I use shooting and "dogshooting" mobs a lot; this change prevents friendly-fire.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2866
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Updated to version 1.5

by TenPlus1 » Post

Added new line_of_sight function that uses raycasting, but only if minetest 5.0 is being used.

Many thanks Astrobe :)

User avatar
snoopy
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49
GitHub: Zweihorn
Location: DE, European Union
Contact:

Re: Mobs Redo from the past to 1.50

by snoopy » Post

@TenPlus1: Thank you very much again. My family and me are enjoying the results of your coding efforts at home for a long time now.

The mobs_redo mod package is outstanding.
Enjoying Minetest by MacPorts and/or Neoascetic's builds on Mac OS X with a local server and several modifications.

Chem871
Member
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by Chem871 » Post

What about adding a boss mob?
What is SCP-055?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2866
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Isn't that what NSSM mobs are ? super powerful boss mobs, especially the mese dragon... ouch!!!!

https://notabug.org/TenPlus1/nssm

User avatar
sirrobzeroone
Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 07:56

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.49] [mobs]

by sirrobzeroone » Post

TenPlus1 wrote:Collision boxes do not rotate with an entity, so you would have to make one that covers the entire mob to stop it glitching into walls and such, and this would make it unusable in going through doors or fence gates and the like.
Hey TenPlus1, I'm just curious and thought you might know, is that a core engine limitation or something else?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2866
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

unfortunately yes, it's an engine limitation.

User avatar
sirrobzeroone
Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 07:56

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by sirrobzeroone » Post

Made some minor fix's to the Warthog UV Map. It's sized as 64x128px (1.14kbs in size) but I up scaled the default texture (essentially 2x2px = 1x1px) and cleaned it up a little so it still looks the same, maybe a little different in spots.

Image

Creating new textures should now be much easier for anyone. I also converted it to b3d format and .blend. For anyone intrested you can import a .x model and animations to fragmotion (probably milkshape) then export as ms3d file. Blender can quiet happily import ms3d files although you may need to move the animation armature for example on the warthog I had to flip it along z and lower it, then rotate mesh and armature to point along Y but otherwise fairly painless.

Anyways zip attached with the .blend, b3d file, edited .lua and new .inv icon. It shouldn't change anything except the UV map but never know with all that converting and way faster than manually rebuilding all the animation sequences. I tested it and everything seemed okay, as always test yourself :).
Attachments
mobs_pumba.zip
(163.42 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2866
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Sweet, thanks Sirrobzeroone, I've included the new and smaller model in Mobs Animals and updated git :)

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by runs » Post

I got this warning when I put a captured mob in the world in my Petz Mob (and the mob does not appear):

Code: Select all

2019-05-21 22:17:40: WARNING[Server]: ScriptApiBase::objectrefGetOrCreate(): Pushing ObjectRef to removed/deactivated object, this is probably a bug.
Any idea of this bug?
Day 42 of the quarantine

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by runs » Post

I was investigating.
1) The bug is when the mob is naturally spawned and doing 'mobs:capture_mob' with force_take = true (no need of a tamed mob). Then you put the mob with right click on the world and dissapears and raises the message in debug.txt: "WARNING[Server]: ScriptApiBase::objectrefGetOrCreate(): Pushing ObjectRef to removed/deactivated object"
2) If force_take = false (so the mob has to be previously tamed to capture it) no problem.
3) Also no problem if the force_take = true and the mob is spawned thru its egg.
Day 42 of the quarantine

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by runs » Post

Finally I've solved, doing the mob tamed and set an owner previously to being captured with force_take=true. Now the mob does not dissapear when is put in the world.

Code: Select all

self.tamed = true
self.owner = clicker:get_player_name()
mobs:capture_mob(self, clicker, 0, 100, 100, true, nil)
I think this has to be added to mobs_redo code when force_take=true by default:

Code: Select all

if force_take == true then
   begin
   self.tamed = true
   self.owner = ...
   end
Day 42 of the quarantine

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2866
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

I'll test this to check if i get the same error with capturing rats, those are never tamed when picked up or released for another player to pick up.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests