[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.55] [mobs]

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2936
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

@UnknownOutrider - Do you know that they are actually dying and not escaping ?

UnknownOutrider
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 14:04

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by UnknownOutrider » Post

@TenPlus1 - Yes, I see little chicken legs spinning about. The sheep & cows have just disappeared. (I'm now using mob fence.) Today, I saw a just-hatched chick die while splashing in a rain puddle, so suspicion is increasing that the Regional Weather Bundle mod is killing them. But, I supplied my last surviving chicken with a roof, got rid of the puddles, & just in case they needed food, I fertilized the ground to provide grass. I still saw its name-tag go red within a Minetest day. (Then I accidentally killed it.)

I have 3 more stored chickens, but I'm reluctant to place them until I can keep them alive. I also have about 6 eggs - if I can figure out how to hatch them.
Last edited by UnknownOutrider on Thu Dec 24, 2020 07:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2936
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Mobs will die when standing inside any node that deals damage, so it may be something to do with regional weather if they place such nodes... Other than that I don't know of anything else that would kill chickens that are inside a pen away from harm... All I can suggest is a glass roof to protect them.

As for eggs, throwing them against the ground has a chance of spawning a baby chicken, but for actual breeding feed chickens seeds and they breed on their own.

revevil
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 03:11

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by revevil » Post

twoelk wrote:
Wed Dec 16, 2020 18:13
a glowing pickaxe? now that might be a neat feature for a mese tool.
that way mese tools need not be stronger than diamond coated ones but could start glowing when used instead to add value.
I love that idea, and I think it would make a great mod. I want to learn how to create mods, but I'm a lot behind on scripting.

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2437
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

By glowing do you mean glowing on the HUD or glowing like a placed light source node?
If the former then see https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/9441/
Otherwise see https://content.minetest.net/packages/b ... ded_light/ (Add light_source = <x> to the itemdef of the tool you want to 'glow')
My ContentDB -|- Working on Voxel Knights -|- Minetest Forums Dark Theme!! (You need it)

aether123
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 22:39
GitHub: JonathanWilbur

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by aether123 » Post

I cannot get Mobs to appear at all. I have modified the mob chance multiplier (trying both <1.0 and >1.0 just to be sure) which did not work. I have also toggled several other settings to no avail. I see in the debug logs that the Mobs Redo mod loads, but I don't see any messages indicating that the monsters or animals mod loads. This is on Windows 10 Pro with the 64-bit Portable Minetest 5.3.0. Is there anything else I might be doing wrong?

2020-12-28 17:35:38: ACTION[Main]: [MOD] Mobs Redo loaded
2020-12-28 17:35:39: ACTION[Main]: World at [REDACTED]
2020-12-28 17:35:39: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:64901.
2020-12-28 17:35:39: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2020-12-28 17:35:40: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer [127.0.0.1] joins game. List of players: singleplayer
2020-12-28 17:36:34: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down

Ignaramico
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 21:23
GitHub: ignaramico

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by Ignaramico » Post

aether123 wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 22:47
I cannot get Mobs to appear at all. I have modified the mob chance multiplier (trying both <1.0 and >1.0 just to be sure) which did not work. I have also toggled several other settings to no avail. I see in the debug logs that the Mobs Redo mod loads, but I don't see any messages indicating that the monsters or animals mod loads. This is on Windows 10 Pro with the 64-bit Portable Minetest 5.3.0. Is there anything else I might be doing wrong?

2020-12-28 17:35:38: ACTION[Main]: [MOD] Mobs Redo loaded
2020-12-28 17:35:39: ACTION[Main]: World at [REDACTED]
2020-12-28 17:35:39: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:64901.
2020-12-28 17:35:39: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2020-12-28 17:35:40: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer [127.0.0.1] joins game. List of players: singleplayer
2020-12-28 17:36:34: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down
do you use any kind of mod that affect the biomes or other mod that adds more mobs/entities?, i remember at first when using the petz mod that i barely saw the mobs redo animals, even when leaving on a default grass dirt biome

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2936
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

@aether123 - can you list the mods you are using please ?

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 2096
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by runs » Post

Ignaramico wrote:
Tue Dec 29, 2020 00:21
aether123 wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 22:47
I cannot get Mobs to appear at all. I have modified the mob chance multiplier (trying both <1.0 and >1.0 just to be sure) which did not work. I have also toggled several other settings to no avail. I see in the debug logs that the Mobs Redo mod loads, but I don't see any messages indicating that the monsters or animals mod loads. This is on Windows 10 Pro with the 64-bit Portable Minetest 5.3.0. Is there anything else I might be doing wrong?

2020-12-28 17:35:38: ACTION[Main]: [MOD] Mobs Redo loaded
2020-12-28 17:35:39: ACTION[Main]: World at [REDACTED]
2020-12-28 17:35:39: ACTION[Main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:64901.
2020-12-28 17:35:39: WARNING[Main]: Irrlicht: PNG warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
2020-12-28 17:35:40: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer [127.0.0.1] joins game. List of players: singleplayer
2020-12-28 17:36:34: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down
do you use any kind of mod that affect the biomes or other mod that adds more mobs/entities?, i remember at first when using the petz mod that i barely saw the mobs redo animals, even when leaving on a default grass dirt biome
Petz doesn't interfere with other mobs mods. It has its own spawn system and population control.

It can, and must, coexist with mobs_redo.
🤑 Patreon |Minetest Chat | 👧 Samantha | ⛏️ Juanchi Game | 🐱 Petz

Ignaramico
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 21:23
GitHub: ignaramico

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by Ignaramico » Post

i always thought the mob/entity counter was shared xD

aether123
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 22:39
GitHub: JonathanWilbur

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by aether123 » Post

Hey @TenPlus1 , the complete list of mods I have installed is:

- farming
- mobs
- mobs_animal
- mobs_monster
- mobs_npc
- nether
- stamina
+ weather

I have other games installed, but this was an issue before I installed them.

PetiAPocok
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 14:43
GitHub: PetiAPocok
In-game: PetiAPocok
Location: Hungary

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by PetiAPocok » Post

Hi!
Is there a chance that in the future the "use_texture_alpha" will be supported?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2936
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

@aether123 - those seem ok, the only things that would hurt mobs are nodes which hurt players and direct attacks from other entities, I've even disabled suffocation in the api so it's not that.

@PetiAPocok - I'm not sure if entities support transparent faces just yet, it's either textured or 100% see through for now.

minetest_player
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2021 19:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by minetest_player » Post

Hello,
I'm currently trying to figure out how to use the mobs_redo +animals_mobs mod with the Minetest 5.1.1 release. However, mobs never spawn. I've tried numerous solutions so far. Still, no mob will spawn regardless of the current biome. So far I've already tried two solutions:

I. Modified the "Chance multiplier" to a value of 200000 and 0.00002. Unfortunatly, neither value change could solve my problem
II. Solution I + No mob despawn
One additional info: I tried everything in the creative mode.

Well, since many people inside this forum have spawning mobs, I'd like to ask you if I'm missing something.

aether123
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 22:39
GitHub: JonathanWilbur

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by aether123 » Post

@TenPlus1, I experimented with modifying your mods and I got animals to appear. It seems that my problems were three-fold:

1. The default frequency of spawning is just too conservative, and
2. I didn't know about the "interval" until I read up on how register_abm() worked. I see that it takes 60 seconds for animals to spawn. I think when I was testing, I would modify the spawn multiplier, log in, see no difference right away and log out.
3. I think allowing active_object_count to default to 1 for all animals might be too conservative as well. If I understand it correctly, this would be fine if the player remained stationary, since animals would gradually accumulate in an area, but it seems that you would be less likely to encounter them as you travel.

I changed the spawn multiplier to 0.001 and waited 60 seconds and now I see a reasonable number of animals.

What are your thoughts on this?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2936
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

@aether123 - the default values used in mobs redo are typically for server use so that mobs don't overrun the server and cause slowdown on most clients. We use default values on Xanadu and mobs appear just fine, although changing the 'mob_chance_multiplier' to 0.5 will double their chances of spawning if needed.

The Abm which spawns mobs into the world has a different interval and chance which is preset for each mob, so it could be every 30 or 60 seconds, and mobs do tend to spawn on a specific block near a specific decoration e.g. cows only spawn on green dirt blocks next to grass.

@minetest_player - Make sure you have Mobs Redo (API) and a mob pack like Mobs Animal, Mobs Monster, nssm, mc_mobs installed.

SFENCE
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 07:13
GitHub: SFENCE
In-game: SFENCE

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.54] [mobs]

by SFENCE » Post

Hi.

I am running the Minetest server for my friends. One of them likes to building without being interrupted by monsters.
But I don't want to disable all monsters because of one player, so I have added peaceful_player privilege which prevents monsters from attacking players with this privilege. But when peaceful players attack monsters, they defend themselves.
You can check this here (branch sfence_peaceful_player). And if you want, feel free to merge it into your mobs redo repository.
In this solution, feature have to be enabled via "enable_peaceful_player = true" line in minetest.conf.
cdb_3P0AYqjEIn68

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2936
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Updated to Version 1.55:

by TenPlus1 » Post

- Added peaceful_player privelage and setting (thanks sfence)
- Fixed few issues

Khaos
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 19:35

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.55] [mobs]

by Khaos » Post

edit: nevermind

User avatar
gigomaf
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 14:57

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.55] [mobs]

by gigomaf » Post

Can anyone comfirm that mob protection rune works with newest Minetest? Mine is not working.
Last edited by gigomaf on Sun Jan 17, 2021 09:31, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Walker
Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 09:22
In-game: Walker

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.55] [mobs]

by Walker » Post

gigomaf wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 19:15
Can anyone comfirm that mob protection rune works with newest Minecraft? Mine is not working.
no because this mod is for Minetest ... not for minecraft ... sorry dude

User avatar
gigomaf
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 14:57

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.55] [mobs]

by gigomaf » Post

My mistake lol, of course it's for Minetest :D (post edited) Anyway it's not working.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2936
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.55] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Post

Mob protection has been tested and works ok, which part isn't working for you gigomaf ?

Right-clicking mob protection rune on a tamed animal displays an effect to show it's active, and whenever a mob is inside one of the owners protected areas it cannot be harmed by other players melee attacks.

User avatar
gigomaf
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 14:57

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.55] [mobs]

by gigomaf » Post

It's working! Sorry, I didn't know that mob must be in protected area. Thanks for the tip.

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2936
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Update:

by TenPlus1 » Post

- Spawners now check medium it spawns mobs inside (air, water etc.)
- Rideable mobs work a little smoother now
- Rabbit pelts can be crafted into leather

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests