[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.50] [mobs]

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Tue Jul 28, 2015 20:05

Yes, lower value for amor means better protection, so 80 is harder to kill and requires diamond axe whereas 100 can be killed with stone tools... I was thinking of re-doing the armor but keep getting side tracked :)

Thanks for your help with rotation bug :)
 

amadin
Member
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by amadin » Sat Aug 01, 2015 11:15

I set in sandmonster.lua mobs:register_spawn("mobs:sand_monster", {"default:desert_sand"}, 2, 0, 1000, 5, 31000) and set light_damage 999. Every morning all sand monsters died but if i go to another desert_sand location sand monsters spawn and dies in a second, it is on every desert_sand location at day, but monsters must spawn only at night.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sat Aug 01, 2015 20:53

Fixed animal breeding bug, api no longer crashes...
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sun Aug 02, 2015 14:07

Question: Should I change it so that mobs are removed when they are out of player range (except tamed animals and npc)? This would be a lot lighter on servers and only show mobs spawned in the local area...

Active area can be changed by adding setting active_object_send_range_blocks to minetest.conf file...
 

amadin
Member
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by amadin » Sun Aug 02, 2015 14:11

How to disable monsters but save animals? I want use another monsters.
Last edited by amadin on Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:24, edited 1 time in total.
 

blert2112
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 04:05
GitHub: blert2112

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by blert2112 » Sun Aug 02, 2015 14:45

amadin wrote:How to disable monsters but save animals? I want use nother monsters.

Add to minetest.conf...
spawn_hostile_mobs = false

TenPlus1 wrote:Question: Should I change it so that mobs are removed when they are out of player range (except tamed animals and npc)? This would be a lot lighter on servers and only show mobs spawned in the local area...

Active area can be changed by adding setting active_object_send_range_blocks to minetest.conf file...

Not sure. Let's say I set out of my house to find that I am under siege by a group of angry ninjas that spawned while I was plinking around inside. All I would have to do to get rid of them is run run run out of the area. Then I could come back right away and they would all be gone? Is that about correct as to what could happen? Seems a little cheat-y.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sun Aug 02, 2015 14:45

To disable monsters in the default mod edit the init.lua file and comment each of the dofile lines containing a monster... e.g...

-- dofile(path.."/dirtmonster.lua")
 

amadin
Member
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by amadin » Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:28

I want disable monsters from mobs redo but save animals from mobs redo. Do you undestand me correctly?
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Sun Aug 02, 2015 15:57

blert2112 wrote:Not sure. Let's say I set out of my house to find that I am under siege by a group of angry ninjas that spawned while I was plinking around inside. All I would have to do to get rid of them is run run run out of the area. Then I could come back right away and they would all be gone? Is that about correct as to what could happen? Seems a little cheat-y.


Not the example I would of dreamed up... but pretty much sums up my opinion of the purposed change.
 

blert2112
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 04:05
GitHub: blert2112

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by blert2112 » Sun Aug 02, 2015 16:24

Had a thought... You could make everyone happy by allowing the feature to be turned off for those that don't want to use it.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sun Aug 02, 2015 16:31

The new feature hasn't been added, was getting feedback beforehand... And yes, I would make sure it could be disabled... As for monsters, they can only spawn and attack in same area as player anyway but will fiddle with the ninja thought and see what I can come up with :)

amadin: yes I understand you correctly and had given you the answer to your query...
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2113
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by Linuxdirk » Sun Aug 02, 2015 18:49

TenPlus1 wrote:To disable monsters in the default mod edit the init.lua file and comment each of the dofile lines containing a monster... e.g...

-- dofile(path.."/dirtmonster.lua")

Why not adding a minetest.conf value for disabling monsters?
 

blert2112
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 04:05
GitHub: blert2112

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by blert2112 » Sun Aug 02, 2015 19:00

Linuxdirk wrote:
TenPlus1 wrote:To disable monsters in the default mod edit the init.lua file and comment each of the dofile lines containing a monster... e.g...

-- dofile(path.."/dirtmonster.lua")

Why not adding a minetest.conf value for disabling monsters?

Look up seven posts
 

KCoombes
Member
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
Location: SW Florida, USA
In-game: Knatt

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by KCoombes » Mon Aug 03, 2015 22:24

TenPlus1 wrote:Question: Should I change it so that mobs are removed when they are out of player range (except tamed animals and npc)? This would be a lot lighter on servers and only show mobs spawned in the local area...

Active area can be changed by adding setting active_object_send_range_blocks to minetest.conf file...


Yes please!
 

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by FreeLikeGNU » Tue Aug 04, 2015 13:58

TenPlus1 wrote:Question: Should I change it so that mobs are removed when they are out of player range (except tamed animals and npc)? This would be a lot lighter on servers and only show mobs spawned in the local area...

Active area can be changed by adding setting active_object_send_range_blocks to minetest.conf file...


Seconded!
 

User avatar
krilin
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 18:45
Location: argentina
GitHub: krilin
IRC: krilin
In-game: krilin

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by krilin » Wed Aug 05, 2015 04:09

what can i do or craft with the lava orb?
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Wed Aug 05, 2015 05:36

krilin wrote:what can i do or craft with the lava orb?

Feed one to a bunny...
...run like hell.
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
Location: Michigan
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by benrob0329 » Sun Aug 09, 2015 19:28

ExeterDad wrote:
krilin wrote:what can i do or craft with the lava orb?

Feed one to a bunny...
...run like hell.


XD I'm going to have to try that later today...
Are the blood particles realy necessary? I like the dirt, mese, stone, ect particles. But since MT is suppose to be a family friendly game, why blood?

I would think that having eg. feathers come off the chicken or hit marks instead of blood would be better.
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA
 

blert2112
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 04:05
GitHub: blert2112

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.14] [mobs]

by blert2112 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 05:44

benrob0329 wrote:Are the blood particles realy necessary?... But since MT is suppose to be a family friendly game, why blood?

Turn it off:
add...
mobs_enable_blood = false
... to minetest.conf
 

User avatar
fark
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 01:10
GitHub: fark
In-game: fark

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.15] [mobs]

by fark » Wed Aug 12, 2015 01:13

I have some Irrlicht texture load error messages:

Code: Select all
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: stone_monster_2.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: sheep.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: mobs_kitten_striped.png
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.15] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Wed Aug 12, 2015 02:23

fark wrote:I have some Irrlicht texture load error messages:

Code: Select all
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: stone_monster_2.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: sheep.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: mobs_kitten_striped.png


Harmless.
Those models were exported with reference to those image textures. It's possible different textures are being used now, and it's certain at least the file names are changed. The current textures are fed via lua in the mobs mod. But irrlicht still complains.

It's annoying I guess, but not a showstopper. To resolve the models will need to be exported again with references to all textures removed.
 

User avatar
fark
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 01:10
GitHub: fark
In-game: fark

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.15] [mobs]

by fark » Wed Aug 12, 2015 11:31

fark wrote:I have some Irrlicht texture load error messages:

Code: Select all
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: stone_monster_2.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: oerkki.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: sheep.png
Irrlicht: Could not open file of texture: mobs_kitten_striped.png


I want make a suggestion, but please note that i'm not an expert at this field so i can be wrong.

I've tried to fix this bug but i found a difficulty. I think the models format (.b3d and .x) aren't quite in line with free software. I think i can't open them without a privative software (in a direct or indirect way). That may hinder the incorporation of new developers and the community growth.

I suggest to utilize open and known formats like Collada, Waveframe .obj, Blender, etc
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
Location: Michigan
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.15] [mobs]

by benrob0329 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 12:36

I thought Blender could open .b3d files...and that's why MT was switching to them....?
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.15] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Wed Aug 12, 2015 12:58

benrob0329 wrote:I thought Blender could open .b3d files...and that's why MT was switching to them....?

I think the reason for switching to .b3d is the file size is MUCH smaller then .x so it's a performance boost.

Blender can somewhat import .x for editing. And if I remember correctly, there isn't any plugins to import .b3d with any success.

You should be able to find the .blends for those models as I believe they were created with Blender. Check around the various "mobs" mods around here. Some of the authors include them.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.15] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 19:45

ExeterDad: I'm not getting any errors like those when i run Mobs Redo on standalone server, it seems to work fine... What version of Minetest are you using ?
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests