[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.40] [mobs]

User avatar
DreamKeeper
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 17:37

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by DreamKeeper » Mon Oct 31, 2016 20:44

Please, help me to install mobs on my server.
And NPC also..
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Inside the Box
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by snoopy » Thu Nov 03, 2016 14:23

DreamKeeper wrote:Please, help me to install mobs on my server.
And NPC also..

Have a look at the intro page, get all four zip files from the four downloads, rename unzipped folder accordingly by removing the "-master" part, move folders into the "mods" folder of your minetest installation.

Start and stop minetest with the mods copied. In your applicable world folder edit "world.mt" and set the b.m. listed variables to true as these default to "false" after the first run.
Code: Select all
load_mod_mobs = true
load_mod_mobs_animal = true
load_mod_mobs_monster = true
load_mod_mobs_npc = true

Alternatively you may use the GUI of minetest to activate the mods.
Enjoying Minetest by Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds on Mac OS X 10.11.6 clients with local server and several modifications.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Andrey01 » Thu Nov 03, 2016 16:52

DreamKeeper wrote:Please, help me to install mobs on my server.
And NPC also..

And what don`t have you get?What do need you help?
I like and i am learning to build nice and great houses, palaces, infrastructures and etc... in Minetest!
My Mods:
Unfinished:Medicine,Cube Nodes.

Old:Sweet Machine,Drink Machine

My Favourite Servers:
just test, Switchboard PvP made by yngwie123, VanessaE`s creative-building server, Parkour Owned by LoweGaming, Fractal Island and some other servers!
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by snoopy » Thu Nov 03, 2016 18:02

On my local server we are quite happy with the mobs_redo (i.e. mobs, monster, animal, npc) mod compilation as of 2016-10-31 master. The new spawn rates seem to be reasonable. A little glitch may be some of the cows are seeking the deeper waters and dying there regularly.

Thanks a lot for the nice work.
Enjoying Minetest by Neoascetic's and Morn76's builds on Mac OS X 10.11.6 clients with local server and several modifications.
 

luigipacheco
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 05:51
GitHub: luigipacheco
In-game: luigi

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by luigipacheco » Fri Nov 04, 2016 02:00

now working for me i did all the steps but once in game it wont spawn mobs
 

snoopy
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:49
 

ph8jPf9M
Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:29
GitHub: 22i

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by ph8jPf9M » Sun Nov 06, 2016 13:05

TenPlus1 wrote:The latest update changed mob spawning so that it actually counts the number of a specific mob inside the area beforehand and spawns a new one only if within limits... Here is an example of a new spawn command which is easier to use:

Code: Select all
mobs:spawn({
   name = "mobs_animal:cow",
   nodes = {"group:soil"}, -- default is {"group:soil", "group:stone"}
   neighbors = {"air"} -- default is {"air"}
   min_light = 5, -- default is 0
   max_light =15 -- default is 15
   interval = 30, -- default is 30
   chance = 9000, -- default is 5000
   active_object_count = 1, -- default is 1 (per map block)
   min_height = 0, -- default is -31000
   max_height = 31000, default is 31000
   day_toggle = true -- default is nil (true for day, false for night, nil for both)
   on_spawn = nil, -- function on spawn (nil by default)
})


...also minetest.conf setting has been changed so that mob chance AND numbers per map block can be changed, e.g. This changes cow spawn chance to 7000 and number per block to 5:

Code: Select all
mobs_animal:cow = 7000,5


...if you only wish to change numbers per block do this instead:

Code: Select all
mobs_animal:cow = ,5


Sorry if it was already asked/explained before but i have some mob spawning questions:

The latest update changed mob spawning so that it actually counts the number of a specific mob inside the area beforehand and spawns a new one only if within limits...
How big is the area in nodes that it checks for a specific mob?

Interval = 30 --means every 30 seconds new mob spawns?
chance = 9000 -- 1 mob every 9000 nodes or 1 in 9000 chance to spawn a mob?
active_object_count = 1 -- only one mob per mapblock? - what is mapblock? and how big is it in nodes?

Sounds

Also is there a way to add 5 different sounds for random, attack ,damage and how?

Code: Select all
   sounds = {
        random = "mobs_chicken1",
        random = "mobs_chicken2",
        random = "mobs_chicken3",
        random = "mobs_chicken4",
        random = "mobs_chicken5",
        damage = "mobs_chickenaw1",
        damage = "mobs_chickenaw2",
        damage = "mobs_chickenaw3",
        death = "mobs_chickendeath1",
        death = "mobs_chickendeath2",
        death = "mobs_chickendeath3",
        death = "mobs_chickendeath4",
   },
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 20:22

A map block is 16x16x16 and I cover this by having it check 32 node radius to be sure (active_object_count is counted inside this area)

Interval is indeed 30 seconds default and chance is 1 in every 9000th node (e.g. spawn a cow on dirt, every 9000'th node will have a chance of a cow).

As for sounds, just have random = "mobs_chicken" and rename sound files to "mobs_chicken.1.ogg" "mobs_chicken.2.ogg" etc and it randomly selects a sound from the list.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Tue Nov 08, 2016 16:44

Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1310
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by maikerumine » Tue Nov 08, 2016 19:33

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.


+100!
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Tue Nov 08, 2016 19:42

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.

Fantastic! Whats the use of taming and keeping chickens if someone could just come up and slaughter them.
 

User avatar
firefox
Member
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 07:34
Location: Hidden Ninja Village
In-game: Red_Fox

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by firefox » Tue Nov 08, 2016 20:08

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.

+100
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 858
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by D00Med » Tue Nov 08, 2016 20:34

Nice update!, this is really useful
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by cHyper » Wed Nov 09, 2016 18:42

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.


+1
 

KCoombes
Member
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
Location: SW Florida, USA
In-game: Knatt or Rudilyn

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by KCoombes » Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:28

TenPlus1 wrote:Update:

- Tamed mobs can now be protected from harm by crafting a Protection Rune (8x stone with 1x gold block in centre) and right-clicking mob with it.


Will this prevent /clearobjects from killing livestock off?
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 09:09

Nope, the /clearobjects command kills ALL entities.
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 14:04

Hi Tenplus1, I'm trying to expand the functionality of the NPC mob. I would like to do so without editing the API, just implement using existing functions and variables. With that in mind, I have the following questions:

- Where do I define "do_custom()" function? Alongside "on_rightclick()", for example?
- Is "do_custom" called in intervals? If so, how frequently it is called?
- Can I add more variables to the "self" object without changing the main API?
- What are the accepted values for "self.child"? Is it boolean?
- I'm using a custom spawner for mobs (basically a copy of yours but with some slight modifications). Is there a way I can set the self.* variables to some specific value at spawn time?

Thanks!
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 14:37

Check out the rat.lua file in mobs_animal as examples are usually pasted there :) do_custom is called every tick so you would need to add your own timer for specific intervals...

You can add as many self.* variables as you like since they will all be saved in the entity itself, and yes, self.child is a boolean value.

On spawn you have a on_spawn function which you can use to read/set variables for the entity, or you can do a simple lua example like this:

Code: Select all
local mob = minetest.add_entity(pos, "mobs:creeper")
if mob and mob:get_luaentity() then
   local ent = mob:get_luaentity()
   ent.nametag = "Mr. Boombastic"
   ent.tamed = true
   ent.owner = "TenPlus1"
else
   mob:remove() -- entity not found, remove unknown.
end
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Fri Nov 11, 2016 15:58

Awesome!! I just checked rat.lua and definetely it has the examples I need. Thank you so much for the quick and comprehensive answer!!
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 15:36

Hi Tenplus1,

I'm using the spawn function that is in the rat.lua file, and I notice that almost all the time (think I have seen a negative case 1 or 2 times), the nametag for the mob and any other visual attribute (like resizing) doesn't works until I restart the server. It looks like the entity needs a refresh. Do you know about this? Is there any way to "refresh" the visual entity?

Edit: For clarity, this is very similar to what I'm doing:

Code: Select all
local function npc_spawn(self, pos)
  minetest.log("Spawning new NPC...")
  local ent = self:get_luaentity()
  ent.nametag = "Name"

  minetest.log(dump(ent))
end

-- Spawn
mobs:spawn({
   name = "advanced_npc:npc",
   nodes = {"default:stone"},
   min_light = 3,
   active_object_count = 1,
  interval = 5,
  chance = 1,
   --max_height = 0,
   on_spawn = npc_spawn,
})


Sometimes the entity seems to be stuck (I have changed default behavior to follow so they wander about) and it is not until I quit and start again that the nametag shows and it starts moving around.

Thanks!
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2094
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 20:32

Adding this line will force an update of an entity:

self.object:set_properties(self)
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 23:53

TenPlus1 wrote:self.object:set_properties(self)


Yes, that did it! Thanks a lot!!
 

ph8jPf9M
Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:29
GitHub: 22i

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by ph8jPf9M » Tue Nov 15, 2016 15:52

Is there a way to make mobs bigger with an item growray? Growray is a tool with durability. When you rightclick a mob with it it changes mobs visual size from visual_size = {x=4, y=4}, to visual_size = {x=5, y=5}, and each time we growray a mob it grows by 1 in x and y until he is a giant mob then we cant grow him any further. Also there is shrinkray that makes mobs smaller just the oposite of growray. How can this be done?
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
Location: Hell Creek
In-game: Christian9
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests