[Mod] Mobs Redo [1.37] [mobs]

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Nathan.S » Sun Nov 20, 2016 15:21

Download or clone from github and place in your mods folder. Rename the folder to mobs if necessary.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website.
 

captpete
Member
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2016 03:02

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by captpete » Sun Nov 27, 2016 22:17

Crashes (grey screen) with an Error on 0.4.14

2016-11-27 16:31:18: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Lua: OOM error from mod 'mobs_animal' in callback luaentity_Step(): not enough memory
2016-11-27 16:31:18: ERROR[Main]: Current Lua memory usage: 70 MB
2016-11-27 16:31:18: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer leaves game. List of players:
[biome_lib] Stand by, playing out the rest of the aircheck mapblock log
(there are 0 entries)...
[biome_lib] Stand by, playing out the rest of the no-aircheck mapblock log
(there are 0 entries)...

Fixed (I Think) see topic https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13972&hilit=OOM
Last edited by captpete on Sun Nov 27, 2016 23:20, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
Location: Isla Nublar
In-game: Christian9

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Christian9 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 23:04

Thanks, I am an idiot
"I dreamed of becoming a scientist, in general, and a paleontologist, in particular, ever since the Tyrannosaurus skeleton awed and scared me" - Steven Jay Gould

Discord Code for Prehistoric Life Mod:89HDA

My Deviantart Page
My Website
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1112
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by twoelk » Wed Dec 14, 2016 20:05

I had just been rearranging some of the mods on the http://wiki.minetest.net/Mods:Mobs page and while noticing how Mobs-Redo is vacuuming up more and more of the other mobs I was wondering wether a new group could be added that includes seasonal mobs such as the old Santa! NPC. These could be triggered or limited by some querying of the actuall real time of the year or some set ingame season variable. A Santa placing Lucky Blocks under Christmas Trees near players might be fun.
Anyways there are still some old and endangered mobs out there that might be worth recoding as addins for this API ;-P
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redblade7 redblade bleakfire
In-game: redblade7

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.28] [mobs]

by redblade7 » Sun Dec 18, 2016 22:52

mahmutelmas06 wrote:
redblade7 wrote:
TenPlus1 wrote:You could always comment out the mobs:spawn_egg line inside of the bunny.lua file to remove it's spawn egg completely.


No, I want the animals in the game, I just dont want people to take 99 kittens out of inventory and dump them everywhere. I already commented out all the monsters from my server and the spawner tool a long time ago. What I want is to remove the animals from creative inventory, like some mods have "not_in_creative_inventory = 1"


There wont be in inventory if you delete mobs:register_egg("mobs:animalname", "animalname", "mobs_animalname_inv.png", 0) line from each mobs lua files.
But they still be exist in game.


This makes a tamed mob turn to an unknown item when you try and pick it up (or use the net). Is there a way to remove the mob eggs from creative inventory while still allowing a picked up tamed mob?
-redblade7
Admin of:

* THE CREATIVE GARDENS (Creative Mode server)
* THE VALLEYS (Sandbox Server)
* THE DIGITAL FARMS (Pizza-like server with protection and emphasis on farming)
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Nathan.S » Mon Dec 19, 2016 00:43

add not_in_creative_inventory=1 to the groups, that would make them not show in creative, but still exist when captured with the net.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website.
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redblade7 redblade bleakfire
In-game: redblade7

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by redblade7 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 01:40

Nathan.S wrote:add not_in_creative_inventory=1 to the groups, that would make them not show in creative, but still exist when captured with the net.


There is no group in register_mob, and adding "groups = {not_in_creative_inventory=1}" has no effect, unlike register_node in other mods.
-redblade7
Admin of:

* THE CREATIVE GARDENS (Creative Mode server)
* THE VALLEYS (Sandbox Server)
* THE DIGITAL FARMS (Pizza-like server with protection and emphasis on farming)
 

zing269
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 19:10

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by zing269 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 02:00

There is an additional 5th parameter available for the register_egg function, no_creative. So if you modify the register_egg line in kitten.lua file to be mobs:register_egg("mobs_animal:kitten", S("Kitten"), "mobs_kitten_inv.png", 0, true) then the kitten egg should not be available in the creative inventory.
 

redblade7
Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 07:14
IRC: redblade7 redblade bleakfire
In-game: redblade7

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by redblade7 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 02:31

redblade7 wrote:
Nathan.S wrote:add not_in_creative_inventory=1 to the groups, that would make them not show in creative, but still exist when captured with the net.


There is no group in register_mob, and adding "groups = {not_in_creative_inventory=1}" has no effect, unlike register_node in other mods.


Actually Nathan I found from api.txt that if you add "true" as a fifth field to register_egg, it prevents the mob from showing up in creative inventory.

One problem though - when in creative inventory, the mob isn't removed when dropped, which still allows for griefing (though makes it harder). Is it possible to remove the mob when you drop it rather than leave it in inventory? I've noticed with creative mode that with some mods this happens and with other mods it doesn't, so there must be some setting.
-redblade7
Admin of:

* THE CREATIVE GARDENS (Creative Mode server)
* THE VALLEYS (Sandbox Server)
* THE DIGITAL FARMS (Pizza-like server with protection and emphasis on farming)
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2021
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:12

Update:

- Added 'mob_show_health' flag to minetest.conf to hide health status when punching mob.
- Few bugfixes addressed with line of sight attacks.
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
Location: Isla Nublar
In-game: Christian9

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.32] [mobs]

by Christian9 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 20:41

Is it at all possible to make the spawners only spawn baby mobs?
"I dreamed of becoming a scientist, in general, and a paleontologist, in particular, ever since the Tyrannosaurus skeleton awed and scared me" - Steven Jay Gould

Discord Code for Prehistoric Life Mod:89HDA

My Deviantart Page
My Website
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2021
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:31

Updated to 1.33:

- Added functions for players to ride mobs (thanks to blert2112)

... here's an example horse mob you can try for yourself (updated 30th Dec 2016):
Attachments
mob_horse.zip
(20.13 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
Last edited by TenPlus1 on Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:36, edited 1 time in total.
 

Fixerol
Member
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1447
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by ExeterDad » Thu Dec 29, 2016 17:27

Awesome! Mobs Redo has come a very long ways :)
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Kibbie and I have a beautiful public server now! HOMETOWN

"If this isn't intentional, you have a big problem to deal with. If it is, it is fantastic." ~teenspirit
 

User avatar
FreeLikeGNU
Member
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 02:50
GitHub: FreeLikeGNU
IRC: freelikegnu
In-game: FreeLikeGNU

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by FreeLikeGNU » Thu Dec 29, 2016 19:24

now if only there was a way to attach the bone of one mob to a bone of another mob...

Image
Attachments
goblindog.png
(39.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by D00Med » Thu Dec 29, 2016 20:29

Great! Nice to see lib_mount merged in
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

Bread
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 14:29

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by Bread » Fri Dec 30, 2016 07:01

It is a great function to ride a mob but I found bugs.

I am standing on a horse after using a bed when I am riding the horse.

I have lost my saddle after exit a game while I am riding a horse.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2021
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 09:20

Some quirks to iron out still :) e.g. saddle loss, player sitting when horse killed by mobs etc.

Update: horse example above updated to fix known issues :) saddle drops when horse dies, player disconnects from horse properly on death.
 

echosa
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by echosa » Fri Dec 30, 2016 15:28

What's the difference between your horse example and the mobs_more_animals horse? I currently have mobs_more_animals in my game. Do I need to replace its horse with yours?
 

User avatar
Chibi ghost
Member
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by Chibi ghost » Fri Dec 30, 2016 17:24

I cracked up when I looked up from building and saw a wild chicken get raptured
 

Griiimon
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 13:20
IRC: TelepathicVampire
In-game: Griiimon

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by Griiimon » Wed Jan 11, 2017 19:41

Would it be possible to create a spawn method, that spawns a bunch of mobs instantly as soon as a new chunk is created?

I find it annoying when animals pop up in an area i already searched and found empty. So far from what i figured, the spawn methods provided can't accomplish this.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2021
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by TenPlus1 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 20:34

echosa: the mobs_more_animals horse is from kpgmobs and can still be ridden using lib_mount, but the horse example uses mobs redo's own riding functions as a test :)

Griimon: maybe I could play with lbm's to spawn mobs in specific areas of map as they are loaded instead of an abm which is checking for spawns all around player.
 

Griiimon
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 13:20
IRC: TelepathicVampire
In-game: Griiimon

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by Griiimon » Wed Jan 11, 2017 21:21

I'm just starting to get acquainted with modding mintest, so this might be a stupid idea but how about:

- option to set chance to appear for mob by biome mob_cow: [ "Grassland", 20%], "Iceland", 0%]
- set group size/ how many to spawn in a map block, if chanced
- using minetest.register_on_generated(), determine if generated block is not entirely underground, get biome id and loop through all animals. if random(100) < chance look for random spot to spawn group

Btw, this API rocks. Your work is much appreciated.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by addi » Thu Jan 12, 2017 13:46

I getting some warnings on my client while playing with this mod. The warnings even occour while playing on a dedicated server.
Code: Select all
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Resizing window (1920 1001)
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.b3d
Loaded mesh: zmobs_mese_monster.x
Loaded mesh: zmobs_mese_monster.x
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.b3d
Loaded mesh: mobs_chicken.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_chicken.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_spider.x
Loaded mesh: mobs_spider.x
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_stone_monster.b3d
Loaded mesh: mobs_bunny.b3d
Loaded mesh: mobs_bunny.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_sand_monster.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d
Unknown chunk found in mesh base - skipping
Loaded mesh: mobs_oerkki.b3d

If you know what caused this, you may fix them some day. It seems the unknown chunk exist only in some mobs_monster.

Its a realy great collection of mobs that runs fine without any lag. Congratulation :)
 

zorman2000
Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 18:18
In-game: zorman2000

Re: [Mod] Mobs Redo [1.33] [mobs]

by zorman2000 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 01:17

Hi TenPlus1,

I know that since a few versions ago, mobs_redo has a good pathfinding thanks to the integration of rnd's smart mobs function. However, this is used mostly on the attack functionality of mobs. I think it would be extremely useful if this could be refactored to create an API for pathfinding, meaning, one could give a specific position at some point to the mob and the mob would try to reach it using the already built pathfinding method. Do you think this would be possible?

As I'm using mobs_redo for a NPC mod, pathfinding became very tricky for me. I wanted to use this functionality but was unable to figure out how. Maybe you can do it :)

Thanks!
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fireglow and 9 guests