Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2128
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

by sofar » Post

superschizo wrote:I found the problem with my edits of map_content.txt. It was a default setting for my KDE text writers. My text writers (Kate and Kwrite) both default to a soft tab, which I guess converts the white space from a tab to spaces. So now I have changed the setting and my edits work.
yeah, it just dawned on me that that's likely the problem. The file needs to be TAB delimited.

User avatar
superschizo
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 17:08
In-game: uberdorf
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

by superschizo » Post

Here is what the stadium looks like after the conversion with the modified map_content.txt and no mods. I would post the modified map content file, but some colors are off. Thank you very much for this app.
screenshot_20190522_100009.png
(427.72 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3938
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

by Wuzzy » Post

Does this work for MCL2?
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2128
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

by sofar » Post

Wuzzy wrote:Does this work for MCL2?
There's a PR pending for full MCL2 support, but it needs rework. If that's merged, it would fully support it.

xeno
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 11:59
In-game: xeno

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

by xeno » Post

i just downloaded the mc to mt map converter
viewtopic.php?t=13709
but when i launch it, it tells me "unable to locate map_content.txt fille, this is a critical error, and this program is unable to continue"
im am using linux
it commes as a terminal program and it has no graphic interface
do i have to put the mc folder in mcimport's folder or something ?

Also can anyone make a video tutorial for it pls ?
6qJF0AfOu745Hwbz4uWr9TEmyDB0BQ73

Rikola
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 08:40
IRC: mikola
In-game: Black

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

by Rikola » Post

Do anyone have working Minecraft converter download?
I found minecraft download here https://pobierajgry.pl/gry/minecraft-download/
Last edited by Rikola on Tue May 26, 2020 09:54, edited 1 time in total.

mini
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 11:28
GitHub: niansa
IRC: nisa oder tuxifan
In-game: nisa oder tuxifan
Location: Deutschland

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

by mini » Post

Does not seem to work for MC 1.14.4 worlds:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):??:?? h:m:s
  File "./mcimport.py", line 107, in <module>
    mtmap.save()
  File "/home/nils/Programme/OSS/mcimport/block.py", line 455, in save
    for block in self.blocks:
  File "/home/nils/Programme/OSS/mcimport/block.py", line 439, in fromMCMapBlocksIterator
    for mcblock in mcmap.getBlocksIterator():
  File "/home/nils/Programme/OSS/mcimport/block.py", line 62, in getBlocksIterator
    blocks = self.getChunk(chkx, chkz).blocks
  File "/home/nils/Programme/OSS/mcimport/block.py", line 45, in getChunk
    return MCChunk(chkx, chkz, self.world_path, self.ext)
  File "/home/nils/Programme/OSS/mcimport/block.py", line 91, in __init__
    self.blocks.append(MCBlock(raw_data, (chkx, chkz), section["Y"], True))
  File "/home/nils/Programme/OSS/mcimport/block.py", line 108, in __init__
    self.from_section(section)
  File "/home/nils/Programme/OSS/mcimport/block.py", line 174, in from_section
    self.blocks = self.reverse_X_axis(section["Blocks"])
KeyError: 'Blocks'

talamh
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 18:24

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest worlds

by talamh » Post

mini wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 16:48
Does not seem to work for MC 1.14.4 worlds:
Interesting, MC 1.14.4 is storing biome data in 256 long integers instead of the 256 integers that would be expected in maps from that period, that's possibly the cause of the issue. I'd not seen this documented anywhere so it seems you may be the first to notice that that client had a uniqueness. I have mentioned it on https://minecraft.gamepedia.com/Talk:Ja ... ion_1.14.4

*Edit posted link to where I mentioned it on gamepedia. I'm surprised those folks didn't have that info documented.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest