Map of Alefgard (Dragon Quest)

So.Po.Coder
GitHub: SoPoCoder
In-game: SoPoCoder

Map of Alefgard (Dragon Quest)

by So.Po.Coder » Post

I'd like to present a map I've been working on for several months. I hand-painted a grayscale DEM (Digital Elevation Model) map using the original game map as a reference, then used a modified version of Bobombolo's Realterrain mod to generate most of the map (the land, towns, dungeons and caves) then used the WorldEdit tool to place the various pieces together (stacking dungeon floors, etc.). The scale of the towns is a bit larger than the terrain, in order to make it manageable in Minetest, but even so the resulting map is enormous (around 2500 blocks wide/long, or about 200 MB, 100 MB zipped). I'll post a few screenshots here in the forum, and link to a page of screenshots I made if you'd like to see more. The map works out of the box, no dependencies required. However I do recommend the Skybox Mod to get really epic looking scenery. I think it would make a great map for a stand-alone RPG game. I might look into modeling enemies based on the original game at some point, unless someone else beats me to it *wink*. Shout-out to AspireMint for the boat.

Download (103 MB)
Attachments
hauksness & south river near cantlin
hauksness & south river near cantlin
hauksness-cantlin.jpg (600.11 KiB) Viewed 1575 times
north road & garinham wharf
north road & garinham wharf
nroad-garinham.jpg (401.08 KiB) Viewed 1575 times
map comparison & tantegel castle
map comparison & tantegel castle
maps-tantegel.jpg (642.63 KiB) Viewed 1575 times

twoelk
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: Map of Alefgard (Dragon Quest)

by twoelk » Post

droooooooooool

freshreplicant
In-game: freshreplicant

by freshreplicant » Post

Wow, that looks fantastic. Downloading now to mess about with it later. These are they kind of screenshots the Minetest website could showcase (especially the one with the castle).

So.Po.Coder

by So.Po.Coder » Post