Convert (parts of) Minecraft maps to WorldEdit schematics

User avatar
apienk
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 15:38
GitHub: apienk
In-game: apienk

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by apienk » Wed Mar 11, 2015 15:14

Does this filter work both sides? I'm looking for a method to export fragments of Minetest worlds to Blender. I thought I might import a .we file in MC's WorldEdit and then use the Mineblend filter to export.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3810
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by sfan5 » Thu Mar 12, 2015 18:03

No, this only converts Minecraft to Minetest.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by dgm5555 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 22:02

apienk wrote:Does this filter work both sides? I'm looking for a method to export fragments of Minetest worlds to Blender. I thought I might import a .we file in MC's WorldEdit and then use the Mineblend filter to export.

There is a minecraft to blender python script called mineblend, that might provide a starter if you wished to code something specifically for minetest
 

User avatar
Kociak
Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 20:29
Location: Warszawa / Poland
In-game: kociak

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Kociak » Fri Apr 03, 2015 20:36

Hello, my first post here, so excuse me any mistakes - english is not my native language.
I've just used this filter to import a building from minecraft's world. The thing I've noticed - imported schematic needed to be flipped along X axis. I've repeated this with two independent constructions.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3874
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Sokomine » Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:41

mccompat is based on this approach here, although it is slightly diffrent. It takes schematics more or less directly (you have to manually gunzip them) and imports them using lua via the mod handle_schematics. It's intended for smaller objects like houses or tiny villages/towns and does handle a lot of nodes.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
imkongfu
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 08:39
GitHub: tafqif
IRC: tafqif
In-game: imkongfu
 

User avatar
eduardomezencio
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:48
GitHub: eduardomezencio

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by eduardomezencio » Tue Sep 22, 2015 00:02

I got this when trying to load the schematic in worldedit:

Code: Select all
2015-09-21 20:56:28: ERROR[main]: ServerError: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'worldedit_commands' in callback on_chat_message(): .../mods/Minetest-WorldEdit/worldedit_commands/init.lua:1009: attempt to concatenate local 'count' (a nil value)
2015-09-21 20:56:28: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
2015-09-21 20:56:28: ERROR[main]:    .../mods/Minetest-WorldEdit/worldedit_commands/init.lua:1009: in function 'func'
2015-09-21 20:56:28: ERROR[main]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/chatcommands.lua:42: in function '?'
2015-09-21 20:56:28: ERROR[main]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:355: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:335>


I don't know if the problem is with the schematic exported from the filter or if it's a worldedit bug. Is there a way for me to check if the schematic is 'valid'?
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3810
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by sfan5 » Wed Sep 23, 2015 20:48

Possibly a WorldEdit bug, make an issue at the issue tracker.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
eduardomezencio
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 17:48
GitHub: eduardomezencio

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by eduardomezencio » Wed Sep 23, 2015 23:05

I'm also getting errors when applying the filters. I have attached pictures using the two versions of the filter

Here's the terminal output for the division by zero:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/editortools/filter.py", line 32, in _func
    func(*args, **kw)
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/editortools/filter.py", line 410, in confirm
    self.editor.addOperation(op)
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/leveleditor.py", line 3382, in addOperation
    self.performWithRetry(op)
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/leveleditor.py", line 3388, in performWithRetry
    op.perform(self.recordUndo)
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/editortools/filter.py", line 317, in perform
    self.filter.perform(self.level, BoundingBox(self.box), self.options)
  File "/home/edju/.mcedit/filters/tomtsschem.py", line 301, in perform
    float(numnodes) / nps_avg,
ZeroDivisionError: float division by zero


And here's the one about 'permission denied'
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/editortools/filter.py", line 32, in _func
    func(*args, **kw)
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/editortools/filter.py", line 410, in confirm
    self.editor.addOperation(op)
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/leveleditor.py", line 3382, in addOperation
    self.performWithRetry(op)
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/leveleditor.py", line 3388, in performWithRetry
    op.perform(self.recordUndo)
  File "/usr/lib/mcedit/editortools/filter.py", line 317, in perform
    self.filter.perform(self.level, BoundingBox(self.box), self.options)
  File "/home/edju/.mcedit/filters/tomtweschem.py", line 221, in perform
    f = open("../" + options["Output filename"] + ".we", 'w')
IOError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: u'../test.we'
Attachments
Screenshot from 2015-09-23 19-50-48.png
(593.14 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screenshot from 2015-09-23 19-45-54.png
(454.01 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3874
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Sokomine » Sun Sep 27, 2015 20:20

If whatever you're trying to convert isn't too big (say, not several hundered/thousand nodes in each direction), you can also save it as a MC .schematic and import the file using my handle_schematics mod.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
DI3HARD139
Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 21:04
GitHub: DI3HARD139
IRC: DI3HARD139
In-game: DI3HARD139 DI3HARD139_
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by sofar » Tue Dec 01, 2015 06:11

Just a quick post that I've spent quite a bit of time on the python mcimport.py converter.

https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=11146&start=50#p199152

This may be useful to folks reading this thread. It does a decent job and can convert quite a few difficult objects from MC to MT (including doors and some redstone circuits) correctly.
 

chrisjose1913
Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 23:04
IRC: Hawksquawks
In-game: chrisjose1913

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by chrisjose1913 » Sun Dec 06, 2015 23:28

My server crashes every time I try to load a file in


2015-12-07 00:17:57: ACTION[main]: .__ __ __
2015-12-07 00:17:57: ACTION[main]: _____ |__| ____ _____/ |_ ____ _______/ |_
2015-12-07 00:17:57: ACTION[main]: / \| |/ \_/ __ \ __\/ __ \ / ___/\ __\
2015-12-07 00:17:57: ACTION[main]: | Y Y \ | | \ ___/| | \ ___/ \___ \ | |
2015-12-07 00:17:57: ACTION[main]: |__|_| /__|___| /\___ >__| \___ >____ > |__|
2015-12-07 00:17:57: ACTION[main]: \/ \/ \/ \/ \/
2015-12-07 00:17:57: ACTION[main]: World at [/home/minetest/.minetest/worlds/world]
2015-12-07 00:17:57: ACTION[main]: Server for gameid="minetest" listening on 0.0.0.0:30001.
Unified Inventory. inventory size: 1045
2015-12-07 00:24:00: ACTION[ServerThread]: Hawksquawks [95.145.146.11] joins game.
2015-12-07 00:24:00: ACTION[ServerThread]: Hawksquawks joins game. List of players: Hawksquawks
2015-12-07 00:25:03: ERROR[main]: UNRECOVERABLE error occurred. Stopping server. Please fix the following error:
2015-12-07 00:25:03: ERROR[main]: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'worldedit_commands' in callback on_chat_message(): deSerializeString: couldn't read all chars
2015-12-07 00:25:03: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
2015-12-07 00:25:03: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'place_schematic'
2015-12-07 00:25:03: ERROR[main]: ...ds/Minetest-WorldEdit-master/worldedit_commands/init.lua:1102: in function 'func'
2015-12-07 00:25:03: ERROR[main]: /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/chatcommands.lua:42: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/chatcommands.lua:30>
2015-12-07 00:25:03: ERROR[main]: /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:355: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:335>

In thread 7f1b08bb1780:
/build/minetest-bJwx9_/minetest-0.4.13/src/server.cpp:511: void Server::step(float): A fatal error occurred: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'worldedit_commands' in callback on_chat_message(): deSerializeString: couldn't read all chars
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'place_schematic'
...ds/Minetest-WorldEdit-master/worldedit_commands/init.lua:1102: in function 'func'
/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/chatcommands.lua:42: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/chatcommands.lua:30>
/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:355: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:335>
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f1afd4fd700:
#0 virtual void* EmergeThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1 MapBlock* ServerMap::loadBlock(v3s16))
(Leftover data: #2 void ServerMap::loadBlock(std::__cxx11::string*, v3s16, MapSector*, bool))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f1afdcfe700:
#0 virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
#1 void Server::Receive()
(Leftover data: #2 virtual void Server::deletingPeer(con::Peer*, bool))
(Leftover data: #3 void RemoteClient::GetNextBlocks(ServerEnvironment*, EmergeManager*, float, std::vector<PrioritySortedBlockTransfer>&))
(Leftover data: #4 void ItemStack::serialize(std::ostream&) const)
(Leftover data: #5 bool getCraftingResult(Inventory*, ItemStack&, std::vector<ItemStack>&, bool, IGameDef*))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f1b08bb1780:
#0 int main(int, char**)
#1 Dedicated server branch
#2 void dedicated_server_loop(Server&, bool&)
#3 void Server::step(float)
Aborted (core dumped)
 

brder
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2016 11:19

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by brder » Wed Jan 20, 2016 14:50

i saw this debug info when i tried to add a .mts schematic

016-01-20 16:48:59: ERROR[main]: ServerError: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'worldedit_commands' in callback ScriptApiServer::on_chat_message(): decompressZlib: inflate failed
2016-01-20 16:48:59: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
2016-01-20 16:48:59: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'place_schematic'
2016-01-20 16:48:59: ERROR[main]: ...s\Minetest\bin\..\mods\Uberi\worldedit_commands\init.lua:1102: in function 'func'
2016-01-20 16:48:59: ERROR[main]: C:\games\Minetest\bin\..\builtin\game\chatcommands.lua:42: in function <C:\games\Minetest\bin\..\builtin\game\chatcommands.lua:30>
2016-01-20 16:48:59: ERROR[main]: C:\games\Minetest\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:355: in function <C:\games\Minetest\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:335>
 

Kosmos
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:42
In-game: KosmosHD

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Kosmos » Fri Sep 30, 2016 16:33

I don't check it.
______________________________________________________________________________________________

---My english is bad---
 

Kosmos
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:42
In-game: KosmosHD

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Kosmos » Fri Sep 30, 2016 16:35

Can somebody help me???
______________________________________________________________________________________________---My english is bad---
 

User avatar
taikedz
Member
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 11:11
Location: Scotland, UK
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by taikedz » Sun Oct 09, 2016 17:20

Not quite sure I understand, and I know this is an old topic... but is the filter actually just filtering names? I see a filter applied on export which would produce a MCEdit file, but no filter before loading into WorldEdit

Otherwise does the schematic file for a MCEdit file use a compatible syntax with WorldEdit ?

(I'm still trying to find a MCEdit file not behind some ad-wall so I can check...)
 

Chiu ChunLing
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 09:37

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Chiu ChunLing » Mon Oct 31, 2016 05:18

No, the formats are completely different. The Minetest World Edit file format is a lua table you can open in a text editor and probably partly understand even with a basic knowledge of lua (at the level of seeing what the actual blocks are on an individual basis, anyway), the MC Edit schematic file is a binary data format that can't be read at all without special software.

The "filter" in this case is a script that builds up the World Edit lua from inside of a running copy of MC Edit. I'm not sure I know a place to get MC Edit without ads, but they don't bother me as long as you actually get the file in the end. http://www.mcedit.net/downloads.html may or may not fit your needs, give it a look.
 

ph8jPf9M
Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 10:29
GitHub: 22i
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3810
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by sfan5 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 15:26

ph8jPf9M wrote:download for MCEdit filter is not working

Fixed, thanks for making me aware.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Sickleroyy
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 23:03
IRC: Sickleroyy
In-game: Sickleroyy

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Sickleroyy » Tue Apr 18, 2017 00:01

i have been getting this error when trying to filter

exception during filter operation. see console for details.

[errno 30] Read-only file system: u'../house.we'
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3810
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by sfan5 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:07

You probably have MCEdit installed system-wide, try changing the part where it says "../" + options["Output filename"] + ".we" to "/path/to/your/home/" + options["Output filename"] + ".we".
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
ratmix
Member
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 19:45
In-game: ratmix

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by ratmix » Thu May 04, 2017 20:18

Hi sfan5. I imported a building following the steps you gave. Only the stone, dirt and grass were imported. It seems other materials were ignored. Can you tell me how to properly edit your .py script to map other MC materials to Minetest materials?

Update: This works...
Code: Select all
(89,  0, "default:meselamp")
Last edited by ratmix on Thu May 04, 2017 23:30, edited 1 time in total.
King of the Hill :: Modern Warfare Server RATMIX.COM:30000 | King of the Hill Community Site
 

Robsoie
Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 16:22

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by Robsoie » Sun Jun 11, 2017 19:31

Hello,

When i convert some minecraft schematics into minetest mts , i notice when using worledit (or handle schematics) that there are always several unknown nodes.

Things like
doors:door_steel_t_1
stairs:slab_stonebrickupside_down
stairs:stair_woodupside_down

and several more with the "upside_down" that the filter export but those nodes aren't existing in Minetest and come often with a MC schematic conversion to MTS.

Is there a mod required that is not mentionned in the filter and contain those required nodes or am i missing something ?
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3810
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Convert Minecraft maps to Minetest WorldEdit schematics

by sfan5 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 09:39

There is no mod required to correctly import the exported schematics.
The problem is that I haven't updated the script for a while, but I might do that soon.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Maps



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests