REMOVE CAVES!!!

User avatar
Ikishida
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 08:02
Location: (secret)

REMOVE CAVES!!!

by Ikishida » Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:38

okay,so,I found a perfect flat area for my house but when I looked around,I FOUND A BUNCH OF CAVES AROUND IT!!! caves can get really annoying sometimes and caves look really stupid so,I was wondering,"how the heck can I remove caves!?"(I actually said that lately and my parents shouted at me...)so,If you know how to remove caves or make cave holes smaller and make caves look good,please tell me!!!
When life hands you lemons,throw it back at life saying "I don't need your goddamn lemons!" =D
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:24

Remove the "caves" mapgen flag. You can set the mg_flags in minetest.conf, see minetest.conf.example.
 

User avatar
Ikishida
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 08:02
Location: (secret)

by Ikishida » Thu Oct 31, 2013 13:06

PilzAdam wrote:Remove the "caves" mapgen flag. You can set the mg_flags in minetest.conf, see minetest.conf.example.


yeah...there's gonna be a problem with that,cause I use latest and...when i opened minetest.conf.example,it was all wobblediecack!
When life hands you lemons,throw it back at life saying "I don't need your goddamn lemons!" =D
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Thu Oct 31, 2013 16:40

Here is my minetest.conf:

Code: Select all
#fullscreen = 1
screenW = 1435
screenH = 865
screenshot_path = ../screenshots
mg_flags = v6_junles, trees, caves, v6_biome_blend, dungeons
# Fast movement (keymap_special1)
fast_move = false
#
# Set the default privs.
#
default_privs = interact, shout, fast, fly, settime, give, noclip
free_move = false
noclip = true
address =
main_menu_tab = singleplayer
mainmenu_last_selected_world = 6
port = 30000
selected_world_path = C:\Games\minetest-sfan5\bin\..\worlds\4pillars
server_dedicated = false
mg_name = v6
main_menu_last_game_idx = 3
enable_shaders = false
3d_armor_update_time = 1
wieldview_update_time = 2
# Speed up my virtual server for singleplayer.
max_block_send_distance = 6
max_simultaneous_block_sends_per_client = 1
max_simultaneous_block_sends_server_total = 20
active_block_range = 1
dedicated_server_step = 0.1
server_map_save_interval = 15.3


A good portion of this, I never set up. But anyway, the line I need is mg_flags = v6_junles, trees, caves, v6_biome_blend, dungeons and all I have to is to change it to mg_flags = v6_junles, trees, v6_biome_blend, dungeons in order to keep the caves from generating. Change minetest.conf.example will do nothing. That is just an example file showing you some options.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Thu Oct 31, 2013 17:16

LionsDen wrote:v6_junles


It's "v6_jungles" by the way. :)
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Fri Nov 01, 2013 00:54

Calinou wrote:
LionsDen wrote:v6_junles


It's "v6_jungles" by the way. :)




LOL

I never noticed that. Oh well, thanks for reporting that to me. ;^P
 

User avatar
general3214
Member
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 03:15

by general3214 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 01:00

Ikishida wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:Remove the "caves" mapgen flag. You can set the mg_flags in minetest.conf, see minetest.conf.example.


yeah...there's gonna be a problem with that,cause I use latest and...when i opened minetest.conf.example,it was all wobblediecack!

Perhaps you're using Notepad? NEVER use Notepad to edit anything; use WordPad. If you don't even use Windows, then ignore this post.
Last edited by general3214 on Fri Nov 01, 2013 01:00, edited 1 time in total.
Avatar made by Annahstas
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3629
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

by Wuzzy » Fri Nov 01, 2013 08:19

Ikishida wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:Remove the "caves" mapgen flag. You can set the mg_flags in minetest.conf, see minetest.conf.example.


yeah...there's gonna be a problem with that,cause I use latest and...when i opened minetest.conf.example,it was all wobblediecack!


Okey then. Ignore minetest.conf.example.
Then: Just locate the line with “mg_flags” in your minetest.conf. Then remove the word “caves”.

Note that mg_flags expects a comma-seperated list, so remove any extra-commas. Every word is called a “flag” here. If a flag is not in the list, it is not active, if it is in the list, it is active. If you write “caves” into mg_flags, caves are activated in minetest.conf. So you want to remove this word.

If there is no line with “mg_flags” in it, then create one.

Here is an example of a valid setting:
Code: Select all
mg_flags = trees, v6_biome_blend


Over here is a list of valid flags:
http://wiki.minetest.net/Map_generator/settings#Available_flags


Oh, and I agree: Never ever use Notepad. Notepad is shit because it doesn’t work for non-Windows files. (If you used Notepad that would explain the wobblediecack). Good free alternatives to Notepad are Notepad++ and jEdit.
Last edited by Wuzzy on Fri Nov 01, 2013 08:41, edited 1 time in total.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
Ikishida
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 08:02
Location: (secret)

by Ikishida » Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:38

okay,thanks alot for the help,it worked! but when I entered v6_jungle,I can't find a forest anymore,little help?
When life hands you lemons,throw it back at life saying "I don't need your goddamn lemons!" =D
 

amadin
Member
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: REMOVE CAVES!!!

by amadin » Wed Jul 01, 2015 20:49

Does aviable option "turn off caves" in mapgen 7? I know what is developing mapgen.
 


Return to Maps



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest