[Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

Post Reply
User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 803
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

[Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by jp » Post

A schematic file (.mts) is used to import building(s) into a world with WorldEdit.
This file can be found into the “worlds/<my_world>/schems” folder.
  • How to create a schematic file :

    1. Enter in your world (with WorldEdit enabled).
    2. Grant yourself all privileges : /grant singleplayer all¹.
    3. Press F5 to display the coordinates.
    4. Select the area to export with : //pos1 and //pos2.
    5. Create your schematic file with : //mtschemcreate <name of your schematic file>.

    Your schematic will appears into the “worlds/<my_world>/schems" folder.
  • How to import a schematic file :

    1. Enter in your world (with WorldEdit enabled).
    2. Grant yourself all privileges : /grant singleplayer all¹.
    3. Move a schematic file into the “worlds/<my_world>/schems” folder.
    4. Press F5 to display the coordinates.
    5. Select a position with : //pos1
    6. Import your schematic file from the chosen position with : //mtschemplace <name of your schematic file>
¹ (name “singleplayer” by default)
Last edited by jp on Fri May 29, 2015 11:56, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
minermoder27
Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 23:24
GitHub: ZNixian
In-game: minermoder27
Location: Unfortunately, not in Baikonur

Re: [Tutorial] How do I create / import schem file ?

by minermoder27 » Post

You only have to type the grant command the first time.
Maybe you should say that?

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 803
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Tutorial] How do I create / import schem file ?

by jp » Post

minermoder27 wrote:You only have to type the grant command the first time.
Maybe you should say that?
If these are different worlds, no. This tutorial explain in this case. Export / import a schem is often in this case.

User avatar
swordpaint12
Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 00:50
In-game: [swordpaint12][Belching_Balladeer]
Location: Foobass, isle of Atlantis, castle of Bardvendelle

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by swordpaint12 » Post

Unless you've already been on the second world before.
God's not dead; remember that!
Yay for MT! No MC here!
I am a human. I'm younger than 100 years old.
I've been playing Minetest since December 2014.

I'm amazed that I haven't been on here in so long! My latest minetest accomplishment was mining by hand (well, as close as you can get in a computer game) a circle 30 blocks in diameter. It took forever but it's pretty cool.

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4170
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by Sokomine » Post

You can also use my handle_schematics mod for saving and importing schematics. Just install it and type /giveme handle_schematics:build 99 and put the chest somewhere.
A list of my mods can be found here.

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by hajo » Post

jp wrote: * How to create a schematic file :
* How to import a schematic file :
Maybe you should add instructions on how to undo the import,
e.g. when the placement was wrong, or it damaged something.

User avatar
Onyx
Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 08:36
In-game: onyx58
Location: Steinheim-NodesNation
Contact:

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by Onyx » Post

Hi,

To avoid accidents of import, I got used to test above ground (in altitude) beforehand.
This will mark import sense, once that's done, I remove the import test and I can proceed to import at ground safely.
"Science sans conscience n'est que ruine de l'âme."
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steinheim NodesNation : steinheim-minetest.servegame.com Pt : 28000

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4170
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by Sokomine » Post

hajo wrote: Maybe you should add instructions on how to undo the import,
e.g. when the placement was wrong, or it damaged something.
That's where the build chest from my handle_schematics mod comes in really handy. Not only does it rotate the building the way you expect it (i.e. you'll always face the same side and don't have to manually rotate it) - it will also create a backup of the landscape so that placement of schematics can be undone.
A list of my mods can be found here.

Brian Gaucher
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 01:56
GitHub: BrianGaucher
In-game: Camasia

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by Brian Gaucher » Post

Another simple fool-proof way to avoid ruining your world with a wrong schematic import. Simply quit the game, make a backup of the world, try it in the backup. Anytime I need to do schematics, or world-edit files, I always make a simple backup first. Just 2 minutes to make it, and it can save so much trouble.
Current projects: Making a CTF map, Learning C++, Learning Programmer's Dvorak

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4089
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Schematic Editor

by Wuzzy » Post

There is also a decicated mod to edit and save schematics which is a bit simpler to use than WorldEdit (I hope):
Schematic Editor
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 774
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly Ginkgoo
Location: France

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by Gael de Sailly » Post

If anyone is interested, I have a small Python library to load/save/edit schematics: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=21444.
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

Segmented Worm
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 23:12

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by Segmented Worm » Post

Whenever I attempt to do this it says: "failed to place Minetest schematic." Could there possibly be a video on how to do this?

bzt
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 14:26

Re: [Tutorial] Create and import a schematic file (.mts)

by bzt » Post

You could try MTSEdit's mod. It is a very minimal mod to load and save MTS files. It isn't a swiss army knife (you can't edit the schems with it like with Schematic Editor or with WorldEdit), it's rather the simplest tool possible to load structures. Dependency-free, works with all games.

How to use:

Code: Select all

/mtsedit list
will list the mts files in your ~/.minetest/worlds/(current)/schems folder

Code: Select all

/mtsedit load (mts file)
Will load the schematic and will give you the "MTSEdit Magic Placement Wand Tool" (TM)

Now using the wand right click on a node where you want to build the structure. Simple as that. Repeat this as many times you like, it will build the same structure until you issue another "load" command.

Cheers,
bzt

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest