Page 1 of 1

[Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 21:21
by jp
This is a revised fork based on the old kotolegokot one. This mod adds commerce in Minetest.

What's different ?
  • No unnecessary functions and code cleaning.
  • Better textures / formspecs.
  • Show the money account on the right-down corner.
  • Only the two essential shops : player's shop and admin shop (unlimited stock).
How to use ?
Commands for players (requires "money" privilege) :
  • /money — gets the balance of your account
  • /money pay <account> <amount> — transfers <amount> money to <account>
Commands for administrators (requires "money_admin" privilege) :
  • /money <account> — gets balance of <account>;
  • /money set <account> <amount> — sets balance of <account> in <amount> money
  • /money inc <account> <amount> — increases <amount> money to balance of <account>
  • /money dec <account> <amount> — decreases <amount> money from balance of <account>
  • /money take <account> <amount> — takes off <amount> money from balance of <account>
Licenses : GPLv2/later for the code, WTFPL for the textures.
Depends : default
Recommends : itemframes (VanessaE's fork)

Image Image
Image

Thanks to nerzhul (nrz) for his participation...

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 22:19
by lightonflux
The mod is great. Much better than some other shop systems.

It would be nice if there was an option to search for a node when you setup the shop. Just like in worldedit GUI.

Image

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 08:33
by nrz
It works very well but we need to improve performance a little to reduce CPU usage on server. actually HUD is updated in world loop process, but we need to change it per event.

If i get time i'll look at this today

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 19:03
by Krock
Is this mod compatible with the old money mod?

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2015 19:19
by jp
Krock wrote:Is this mod compatible with the old money mod?
Yes, but be aware that the Barter shops are removed.

Also, update : performances improvement by nerzhul (nrz) and re-working of the shop interface (WIP).

Image

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:32
by lightonflux
Is it possible to change the texture when the shop is empty?

it is really annoying to open 10 shops just to see that the owner did not restock them.

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 20:15
by Vazon
There seems to be a issue, no matter what i can't get the shops to tune. I know I am doing it right because i have been using kotolegokot and Xiong's version for well over a year.

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 09:29
by jp
Fixed, sorry.

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 19:38
by Vazon
Thank you :)

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 01:24
by Sokomine
nrz wrote: It works very well but we need to improve performance a little to reduce CPU usage on server. actually HUD is updated in world loop process, but we need to change it per event.
What has a shop system got to do with the HUD? Or why does it cause CPU usage?
lightonflux wrote: Is it possible to change the texture when the shop is empty?
Empty shops are indeed a problem of many mods. Perhaps the infotext could be extended: "Get 3 mese crystals for 2 diamonds at Sokomines shop. Only 5 left!" or "SOLD OUT" if it's empty.

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 07:37
by lightonflux
Is it not possible to change a nodes texture under certain conditions?

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 08:08
by jp
lightonflux wrote:Is it not possible to change a nodes texture under certain conditions?
It'd require to change the node with an ABM, far to be an ideal solution...

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 08:53
by lightonflux
So it would make sense if the engine would provide a more efficient method?

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:05
by jp
As Sokomine said, better to use an infotext for that.

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 09:53
by lightonflux
The problem with info texts is that you have to face the node close by. On a server with over 200 shop nodes on one spot this is very annoying. Just visit "Liberty Lands" and go in "Messias Shop"[1] or any other bigger shop (as in building).

A simple text it is definitely better than opening the shop menu, but visual indication on the node would be so much more elegant.


[1]: http://i.imgur.com/pLk8kLG.png It has several floors and is not the only shop on the server. They also have ikea.

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 13:45
by Sokomine
lightonflux wrote: A simple text it is definitely better than opening the shop menu, but visual indication on the node would be so much more elegant.
Who said they'd exclude each other? The infotext is for fast identification of shops that might be of intrest to the customer (or where the seller might have to refill). More details - like the exact pictures - can be shown in the formspec where the actual sale takes place.

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 13:56
by 12Me21
It would be awesome if you could connect these to digilines/luacontrollers, and use them to adjust the prices.

This might cause some problems with people "hacking" other people's shops with luacontrollers, but this could probably be fixed by only letting the owner place digilines and luacontrollers near the shop.

A far better solution would be to:
-only allow the shop to connect in one spot (probably the back), and only directly to the luacontroller. no digiline wires.
-have locked luacontrollers.


OR, you could add another type of shop that can be programmed by itself, without the need for luacontrollers.
For example, you could make the shop rise the price by X dollars every time someone buys something, and drop the price Y dollars every Z minutes that someone doesn't buy something, or opens the shop, but doesn't buy anything (however that could be abused, by rapidly opening and closing the shop)

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 09:25
by CWz
It appears that the original repository was removed for this reason i mirrored here: https://github.com/ChaosWormz/minetest-money

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 15:24
by Mallen
This mod looks very nice. I want to use it on my "server".

But I get this error:

Code: Select all

2018-02-06 16:13:27: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from F:\Spiele\minetest-0.4.16-win64\bin\..\mods\minetest_money\init.lua:
2018-02-06 16:13:27: ERROR[Main]: ...inetest-0.4.16-win64\bin\..\mods\minetest_money\init.lua:8: attempt to concatenate a nil value
2018-02-06 16:13:27: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2018-02-06 16:13:27: ERROR[Main]: 	...inetest-0.4.16-win64\bin\..\mods\minetest_money\init.lua:8: in main chunk
2018-02-06 16:13:27: ERROR[Main]: Siehe debug.txt für Details.
I know that this mod is old. But I'm new in Minetest and don't know why I get this error.

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:27
by Isja Krass
where can i doawnload this mod?
There is no download link :-(

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:22
by Nathan.S
Isja Krass wrote:where can i doawnload this mod?
There is no download link :-(
Two posts above yours CWz posted a mirrored repository...

Re: [Mod] Simple Money [economy]

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:36
by Isja Krass
thank you :-)