[Mod] Workbench (3x3,4x4,5x5) [workbench]

User avatar
darkrose
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 04:25

[Mod] Workbench (3x3,4x4,5x5) [workbench]

by darkrose » Post

Adds workbenches (crafting tables) with 3x3, 4x4, and 5x5 crafting grids, so bring on the complicated recipes!

This uses the new api, so requires version 0.4.2-rc1 or later.

Image

Code: Select all

CRAFTING:

3x3 workbench:

wood    wood

wood    wood


4x4 workbench:

stone    stone    stone

wood    wood    wood

wood    wood    wood


5x5 workbench:

steel_ingot    steel_ingot    steel_ingot    steel_ingot

wood        wood        wood        wood

wood        wood        wood        wood

wood        wood        wood        wood


mese (as a 5x5 example):

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock    steelblock

Code: LGPLv2.1/later, textures: WTFPL

Mod dependencies: default

Download: workbench 0.2Updated to work with 0.4.2rc1
Git: Darkrose's minetest_mods github repository
Last edited by darkrose on Fri Aug 03, 2012 06:57, edited 1 time in total.
Take a look at Minetest Classic, and it's updated Development Tree, also check out my server.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Ahah, nice idea! But I like 3x3 inventory crafting.

User avatar
darkrose
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 04:25

by darkrose » Post

So do I, but I figured if I create a bigger crafting grid someone'll make use of it. Plus I was testing the nodemetadata changes. :)
Take a look at Minetest Classic, and it's updated Development Tree, also check out my server.

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
Posts: 1923
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Post

ahh very nice mate!
hello, am program. do language in rust. make computer do. okay i go now.

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

by LolManKuba » Post

Theres not much for 3x3 workbench because of the inventory workbench

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

could be very useful for me - after 100 or so recipes 3x3 only provides so many combinations lol
Last edited by mauvebic on Mon Jun 04, 2012 13:03, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Post

LolManKuba wrote:Theres not much for 3x3 workbench because of the inventory workbench
To counter that items could be made to require specific workbenches depending on item type. Sort of like how in Skyrim you need different tables to craft different type of items.

A wood working table
A leather working
A metal specific table
A cooking table

The player inventory would be used for the most primitive items: Wood and Stone tools, transforming from tree to wood, and other things that would need more special items to work with.

User avatar
InfinityProject
Member
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 00:52
Location: World of Infinity, US

by InfinityProject » Post

wait, can the init.lua support more than 9 crafting slots? I tried to make a recipe with 4 rows (12 slots) but the game wouldnt start with an lua error every time.

User avatar
minetesting
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 07:31
Location: some abandoned bunker

by minetesting » Post

InfinityProject wrote:wait, can the init.lua support more than 9 crafting slots? I tried to make a recipe with 4 rows (12 slots) but the game wouldnt start with an lua error every time.
I get the same error, i think..
ask about the cakes

User avatar
darkrose
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 04:25

by darkrose » Post

InfinityProject wrote:wait, can the init.lua support more than 9 crafting slots? I tried to make a recipe with 4 rows (12 slots) but the game wouldnt start with an lua error every time.
I've tested 4x4 and 5x5 recipes, and they work fine with the new api.
Take a look at Minetest Classic, and it's updated Development Tree, also check out my server.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Yes, the mod works in the latest version. At least when I used (smooth) stone instead of cobble...

Thank you!

User avatar
InfinityProject
Member
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 00:52
Location: World of Infinity, US

by InfinityProject » Post

Was the problem thatI did 12 slots instead of 16?

User avatar
minetesting
Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 07:31
Location: some abandoned bunker

by minetesting » Post

oh it is working for me now that i've upgraded to latest.
ask about the cakes

User avatar
kddekadenz
Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 17:21
GitHub: tinyworlds
Location: Germany
Contact:

by kddekadenz » Post

mauvebic wrote:could be very useful for me - after 100 or so recipes 3x3 only provides so many combinations lol
possible combinations = number of blocks + 1 (nothing) ^ 9

e.g. 15 different blocks -> (15 + 1) ^ 9 = 68719476736 combinations!

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4534
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

kddekadenz wrote:
mauvebic wrote:could be very useful for me - after 100 or so recipes 3x3 only provides so many combinations lol
possible combinations = number of blocks + 1 (nothing) ^ 9

e.g. 15 different blocks -> (15 + 1) ^ 9 = 68719476736 combinations!
Now madblocks will become "mad".

User avatar
MirceaKitsune
Member
Posts: 924
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 22:31
GitHub: MirceaKitsune
IRC: Taoki
In-game: MirceaKitsune
Location: Romania, Bucharest

by MirceaKitsune » Post

Very nice mod, I should try it soon. I'm still waiting for a workbench to be added into MineTest officially, so it works the same as in MC (2 x 2 inventory crafting and 3 x 3 workbench crafting). Being able to do everything from inventory is very boring. Not sure about 4 x 4 or 5 x 5 recipes, but optionality I imagine those could be added to MT officially as well.

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 872
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

This could work great with Naqueda Circuits for the stargate DHD - making the DHD requires 5 different naqueda-powered circuit boards, and you have to ''build'' them in a 20x20 crafting grid (or bigger :D)
Great mod! This should be added to Minetest as a default ''mod'' that comes with every minetest :D
"All we need it the right major crisis and the nations will accept the new world order."

ACDC
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 18:12

by ACDC » Post

You dont get tired of copying mods do you? first you wanna copy bad command now dark rose lol.....

GameBoom is where its at :)

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

by LolManKuba » Post

ACDC, he didn't copy Bad_Command

ACDC
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 18:12

by ACDC » Post

LolManKuba wrote:ACDC, he didn't copy Bad_Command
hes trying to make a mod that does exactly what bc's does, and he asked him to remove the privs restrictions cause he doesnt know how to do it, since all he has done is copied :) i rest my case

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

by LolManKuba » Post

Segfault didn't know that Bad_Command had a mod, he never posted it when Segfault did.

ACDC
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 18:12

by ACDC » Post

LolManKuba wrote:Segfault didn't know that Bad_Command had a mod, he never posted it when Segfault did.
well he has been on gameboom so he knows about it, and why are you justifying him anyway?

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 872
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

What is ''gameboom''?
oh and P.S. I still can't get the stargate to work when someone walks-into the event horizon, need to work on that a bit...
P.S.S. I am not copying darkrose either, I was stating that this mod should be added to ''default'' in minetest, so other mods can have more recipes.
"All we need it the right major crisis and the nations will accept the new world order."

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

by LolManKuba » Post

Gameboom is a server.

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 872
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

Cool.
Now, I shall go help rebuild Redcrab's Server (the normal-build-stuff-you-want-server)
"All we need it the right major crisis and the nations will accept the new world order."

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests