Page 3 of 5

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 02:46
by Neuromancer
if you really want to go crazy, how about something like this:


*
* *
* * *
**** *
***
*
*

Or this, but it's probably too much:

Image

Vanessa's rounded dome cap would be nice.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 21:38
by tonyka
Neuromancer wrote:if you really want to go crazy, how about something like this:


*
* *
* * *
**** *
***
*
*

if anyone knows how to do the code to place the blocks, I nodebox drawing ...

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 21:41
by sapier
I think code would be similar to code of growing trees mod just without leaves and branch growth a little bit modified

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 22:03
by tonyka
growing trees?

I will try ..., adapt something like that has to be hard for me
but, if not I try, I can will never know if ...

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 22:35
by sapier
If I've got time tomorrow I'll adapt engine to create a growing_cactus mod ... I just don't have any textures for it (rounded cactus ends will be missing too).

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 02:27
by tonyka
ok, when I have a few minutes I start designing nodes and complementary textures ...

maybe it would be interesting to make a separate mod, or to be of growing trees...

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 23:20
by sapier

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 18:07
by VanessaE
I'd like to suggest that the 3d papyrus and rounded trees be spun off into a separate mod and be removed from 3dforniture, so that server admins can have the furniture without the vegetation without hacking. :-)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 21:23
by tonyka
I have long ago that the idea of making a modpack ...
I wanted to create a medieval mod ...
but I like giving importance to requests

maybe in the future so here it separate into 3 mods
medieval furniure -- torch, chains, table, ... and more ...
Möbel 3D -- version 2 of table, lamp, chairs, wardrobes, ... and more ...
Umfeld 3D - 3D trees, papyrus 3D, apples, flowers & plants ...
all with an aesthetic similar to Metropolis (Fritz Lang), , I love that movie

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 21:47
by babe223
I wonder what program you use to make 3D mods please answer me

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 22:08
by tonyka
there is no specific program, you have to type the coordinates by hand...

I answered in response to a private email, but I repeat it over here:

if you have no experience in 3D, you better start using 3D wings, is very intuitive, and although a professional quality program is very easy to use, it's free, and can even be used for commercial work...

the official website is this:
http://www.wings3d.com/

tutorial helper nodeboxes:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/57504822/nodeboxes.odt

& forrum topic Basic node_box model examples:
http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2333

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 22:09
by sapier
@babe223 I think he's doing models same way we all do, by imagining where points of boxes need to be and then writing them in your favourite text editor. Afterwards checking if assumption was correct within minetest. ;-)

If there is a program I don't know about I'd be interested in too :)

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 22:29
by tonyka
sapier wrote:@babe223 I think he's doing models same way we all do, by imagining where points of boxes need to be and then writing them in your favourite text editor. Afterwards checking if assumption was correct within minetest. ;-)

If there is a program I don't know about I'd be interested in too :)

exact, that's my method ... 24 years ago that 3D drawing
I remember my first 3D program called ortocad, worked in MS-DOS in the pc 386 from my mother, is using all versions of Autocad, 3D Studio y MAX ... for me it's easy because it's my lifelong hobby ...

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 23:26
by babe223
then you simple mind and makes kicks after entering the game and to see if it

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 23:36
by tonyka
trial and error ...
make a box, saved and pluck with minetest ...
place the node with creative mode, and see if it is correct or not ...

Explain how long nodebox maybe helps the post:

http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=28041#p28041

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 03:56
by VanessaE
Tonyks: regarding separating into three mods - don't. That'll break the node names. Instead, just splinter off the trees/papyrus - removing those from a server that uses them just changes their look, but removing/renaming the rest will result in lots of unknown blocks.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 09:10
by tonyka
if true
but can be supported by assigning aliases to old names

I think ...

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 16:08
by VanessaE
That might work.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 08:36
by Mito551
tonyka, please help me. i'm trying to use your tree code to get my barrel round.

minetest.register_node("dwarves:barrel", {
description = "Barrel",
paramtype = "light",
tiles = {
"barrel_top.png",
"barrel_bottom.png",
"barrel.png",
"barrel.png",
"barrel.png",
"barrel.png",
},
drawtype = "nodebox",
node_box = {
type = "fixed",
fixed = {
{-0.35,-0.5,-0.4, 0.35,0.5,0.4},
{-0.4,-0.5,-0.35, 0.4,0.5,0.35},
{-0.25,-0.5,-0.45, 0.25,0.5,0.45},
{-0.45,-0.5,-0.25, 0.45,0.5,0.25},
{-0.15,-0.5,-0.5, 0.15,0.5,0.5},
{-0.5,-0.5,-0.15, 0.5,0.5,0.15},

},
},
groups = {snappy=2,choppy=2,oddly_breakable_by_hand=2},
legacy_facedir_simple = true,
sounds = default.node_sound_wood_defaults(),
etc...

but it shows up like that:
Image


UPD:
...aaaand it's gone. everything's alright. it shows properly. for now. i will keep the post so you could think what could have caused it.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 09:05
by PilzAdam
Mito551 wrote:UPD:
...aaaand it's gone. everything's alright. it shows properly. for now. i will keep the post so you could think what could have caused it.

The light wasnt updated. Hitting it will update the light.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 09:13
by Mito551
PilzAdam wrote:The light wasnt updated. Hitting it will update the light.


tried that while it was dark. didn't help at the time.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:24
by VanessaE
Can you add an alternate recipe to allow crafting a lamp using the wooden slabs provided by stairsplus? You do not have to make it a dependency, just add another recipe - it will be ignored if stairsplus isn't present. The nodename for those slabs is "stairsplus:slab_wood".

Insert the following at line 83 of crafting.lua (as an alternate to what is there now, so keep both):

Code: Select all
minetest.register_craft( {
         output = '3dforniture:table_lamp_off',
         recipe = {
                 {'default:paper','default:torch' ,'default:paper'},
                 {'','default:stick',''},
                 {'','stairsplus:slab_wood',''},
         },
})

Thanks :-)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 21:13
by tonyka
VanessaE wrote:Can you add an alternate recipe to allow crafting a lamp using the wooden slabs provided by stairsplus? You do not have to make it a dependency, just add another recipe - it will be ignored if stairsplus isn't present. The nodename for those slabs is "stairsplus:slab_wood".

Insert the following at line 83 of crafting.lua (as an alternate to what is there now, so keep both):

Code: Select all
minetest.register_craft( {
         output = '3dforniture:table_lamp_off',
         recipe = {
                 {'default:paper','default:torch' ,'default:paper'},
                 {'','default:stick',''},
                 {'','stairsplus:slab_wood',''},
         },
})

Thanks :-)



good idea ...
I am currently working in a private rpg engine ...
and I'm also studying assembler ... & C, so I have no time ...
as soon as possible, will improve the code ...

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 21:16
by guilleelcapoextra
good job

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 03:21
by Inocudom
Is there a way to disable this mod's version of the tree trunks should it be necessary to do so?