Page 4 of 5

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 05:39
by VanessaE
In nodes.lua there is a register_node() call for trees. Comment out the whole call, or just delete it.

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 16:46
by Inocudom
Thank you VanessaE. My computer doesn't have the best graphics card so the trunks will have to be kept square in my single player map. All of the other nodes in this mod are fine for me to use and I do appreciate this mod tonyka.

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 20:44
by kaeza
About node boxes, you may find this useful (it's part of my computers mod):

Code: Select all

pixelnodebox = function ( size, boxes )
    local fixed = { };
    local i, box;
    for i, box in ipairs(boxes) do
        local x, y, z, w, h, l = unpack(box);
        fixed[#fixed + 1] = {
            (x / size) - 0.5,
            (y / size) - 0.5,
            (z / size) - 0.5,
            ((x + w) / size) - 0.5,
            ((y + h) / size) - 0.5,
            ((z + l) / size) - 0.5,
        };
    end
    return {
        type = "fixed";
        fixed = fixed;
    };
end;
It is useful if you draw the basic layout of the object in a paint program, and then use the pixel coordinates for the nodeboxes. That way, you can use the layout you drew as a texture and it will map 1:1 into the nodeboxes.

Here's a piece of code that illustrates the usage:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("modname:nodename", {

    drawtype = "nodebox";

    -- Other node defs here...

    node_box = pixelnodebox(32, {
        -- X   Y   Z   W   H   L
        {  0,  0, 17, 32, 32, 12 },   -- Monitor Screen
        {  3,  3, 29, 26, 26,  3 },   -- Monitor Tube
        {  0,  0,  0, 32,  4, 17 },   -- Keyboard
    });
});
(X, Y, Z) is the position of the nodebox, W is the width (lenght in X direction), H is the height (length in Y direction), and L is length (length in Z direction).

Look at my mod for a real usage.

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 21:36
by guilleelcapoextra
Inocudom wrote:Is there a way to disable this mod's version of the tree trunks should it be necessary to do so?
if the first link is to fix it aka the link if https://www.dropbox.com/s/4xi92lzva6baa ... _trees.zip gives PERESA hehe

Posted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 22:24
by VanessaE
In light of the above, I'd like to reiterate my previous suggestion that the furniture and bathroom kit be split into a separate mod (or two) from trees/papyrus.

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 11:02
by markveidemanis
in the screenshot, the tree on the left does not have a 3d nodebox

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 17:32
by qwrwed
It does; it's just the angle. If you look carefully, you can see the dirt below it.

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 18:41
by dama0404
VanessaE wrote:In light of the above, I'd like to reiterate my previous suggestion that the furniture and bathroom kit be split into a separate mod (or two) from trees/papyrus.
I Agree.

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:35
by Jade_0420
IS THIS FOR 0.4.4?

Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:39
by kaeza
Jade_0420 wrote:IS THIS FOR 0.4.4?
Yes. Are you having any problems installing it?

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 02:01
by VanessaE
I guess this mod isn't being maintained anymore. Tony, if you're still here, can you please remove all but one of the lamps from the creative inventory? Seems a little redundant to have five of them in there if they're all the same thing but different brightnesses.

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 04:22
by acridstone
I wish you would find some way to make it compatible with the moretrees mod. When I run both at the same time, the extra trees do not generate. It would also be cool if you could give different 3d models to different trees in the moretrees mod.

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 04:29
by acridstone
kaeza wrote:About node boxes, you may find this useful (it's part of my computers mod):

Code: Select all

pixelnodebox = function ( size, boxes )
    local fixed = { };
    local i, box;
    for i, box in ipairs(boxes) do
        local x, y, z, w, h, l = unpack(box);
        fixed[#fixed + 1] = {
            (x / size) - 0.5,
            (y / size) - 0.5,
            (z / size) - 0.5,
            ((x + w) / size) - 0.5,
            ((y + h) / size) - 0.5,
            ((z + l) / size) - 0.5,
        };
    end
    return {
        type = "fixed";
        fixed = fixed;
    };
end;
It is useful if you draw the basic layout of the object in a paint program, and then use the pixel coordinates for the nodeboxes. That way, you can use the layout you drew as a texture and it will map 1:1 into the nodeboxes.

Here's a piece of code that illustrates the usage:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("modname:nodename", {

    drawtype = "nodebox";

    -- Other node defs here...

    node_box = pixelnodebox(32, {
        -- X   Y   Z   W   H   L
        {  0,  0, 17, 32, 32, 12 },   -- Monitor Screen
        {  3,  3, 29, 26, 26,  3 },   -- Monitor Tube
        {  0,  0,  0, 32,  4, 17 },   -- Keyboard
    });
});
(X, Y, Z) is the position of the nodebox, W is the width (lenght in X direction), H is the height (length in Y direction), and L is length (length in Z direction).

Look at my mod for a real usage.
This Lua code looks fascinating. Can the luacontroller from mesecons create nodes? I do not know ANY lua I just know little bits and pieces of python.

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 05:30
by Inocudom
You should try to update this mod when you can (or somebody else can.) This mod is still used on servers. You probably want to put in a configuration to toggle the round trunks and 3D papyrus on or off.

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 07:40
by VanessaE
Acridstone: Moretrees does not conflict with 3dforniture - I have both on my server and they run fine together. Just bear in mind that new trees are only added on new terrain (or with a sapling). Also, because a lot of the trees use a "+" shaped trunk, you wouldn't be able to round them at all - the "+" shape is generated in C++, so there's no way to fill in the spaces around them from Lua without really slowing things down. But, if someone wants to attempt it, I wouldn't mind seeing the result. ;-)

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 00:48
by kaeza
The author of this mod has not been seen in a while, and this mod has not been updated in ages.
I decided to write a version of this mod from scratch, and merged with Homedecor. It now has items compatible with this mod. They are aliased so old maps do not break, but is otherwise re-written from scratch.

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:07
by deivan
A link please kaeza. :D

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:08
by kaeza
deivan wrote:A link please kaeza. :D
See VanessaE's signature :)

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:17
by deivan
Thanks. :D

Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 01:31
by skyarmy520
I got to say that's epic.

Re: [Mod] 3D Furniture [1.0] [3dforniture]

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 21:31
by Ambrace
Sorry if someone answered this already; but I couldn't find the answer. How do I install this on Minetest? Like which parts go where? I tried Textures in texture area and mods in mod area but it doesn't seem to be working.

Re: [Mod] 3D Furniture [1.0] [3dforniture]

Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 00:18
by ExeterDad
Ambrace wrote:Sorry if someone answered this already; but I couldn't find the answer. How do I install this on Minetest? Like which parts go where? I tried Textures in texture area and mods in mod area but it doesn't seem to be working.
Since we don't know if you are running Linux, Windoze or Mac...
Mod installing 101 might be the best answer for you. :)
http://wiki.minetest.net/Installing_Mods

Re: [Mod] 3D Furniture [1.0] [3dforniture]

Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 01:57
by kaeza
Also note that this is an old mod. It's not guaranteed to work.

Most of the items were moved to the homedecor mod (the only items not moved are the 3D trees and papyrus).

Re: [Mod] 3D Furniture [1.0] [3dforniture]

Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2016 22:34
by Ambrace
Well, that's a bummer if it no longer works. I apologize for not clarifying. I forgot that the older versions were still used. I am on a Windows 7. I tried looking at that link already and I'm still confused. Like, do I install the whole folder in one area or do I install them in separate areas? No matter what I seem to due nothing works. Then again, I suppose it probably wouldn't work if the mods are old. =/ Do you know of any mods similar to this one?

Re: [Mod] 3D Furniture [1.0] [3dforniture]

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 18:50
by Andrey01
I like mod. It uses on a few server up to how now. 3D textures are great!