Page 1 of 5

[Mod] 3D Furniture [1.0] [3dforniture]

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 00:12
by tonyka
3D Furniture 1.0 (GPL)

Image

3DForniture adds new items to decorate your environment:
  • Deco Home
    • Table
    • Chair
    • Armchair
    • Table Lamp (adjustable)
  • Bathroom Kit
    • Toilet
    • Sink
    • Taps
    • Showers Tray
    • Showers Head
  • Medieval Fürnitüre
    • Bars
    • L Binding Bars
    • Chains
    • Wall Torches

Replaces:
  • Tree
  • Papyrus

(Crafting in HTML format in the zip file)
Image

Requirements:
Minetest 0.4 dev or later

Possible problems:

On maps created prior to installation, it does not load the textures of the trees...

Solution:

Interacting with the trees, the textures are restored...
Minetest to do it for you, just install the following package:

repair_trees.zip
(Recommend after use, remove the folder.)

GitHub:
https://github.com/tony-ka/tonyka-minetest-mods

Download 3DForniture:

3DForniture.zip

Contributors:

I accept contributions, either code, ideas...

Who wants to can see the development of the mod is in the following topic (in Spanish):
http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2121

Sorry for my bad English.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 00:13
by lkjoel
WHOA, That is awesome!

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 00:16
by VanessaE
This should go well with my homedecor mod :-)

Unfortunately, when I try to run the game with this mod installed, it dies with the following error, which I've seen before while working on my own mods:

20:19:22: ERROR[main]: A serialization error occurred:
20:19:22: ERROR[main]: unsupported ContentFeatures version
20:19:22: ERROR[main]: The server is probably running a different version of Minetest.

(which of course is not the case in single player mode)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 00:34
by tonyka
VanessaE wrote:This should go well with my homedecor mod :-)

Unfortunately, when I try to run the game with this mod installed, it dies with the following error, which I've seen before while working on my own mods:

20:19:22: ERROR[main]: A serialization error occurred:
20:19:22: ERROR[main]: unsupported ContentFeatures version
20:19:22: ERROR[main]: The server is probably running a different version of Minetest.

(which of course is not the case in single player mode)

My version is celeron55-minetest-48790c0
What you use?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 00:53
by VanessaE
I use the same one (compiled a couple of days ago). I think this is a bug in the game, not in your mod.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 01:40
by tonyka
VanessaE wrote:I use the same one (compiled a couple of days ago). I think this is a bug in the game, not in your mod.

is the most likely... still, I do not know programming, I am expert in CAD (building and civil works) ...
any error, appreciate some help.
Thanks, Vanessa :D

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 04:12
by SegFault22
+1
I like the round trees, it will make Minetest look more-realistic, and therefore it should be added to ''default'' (also it looks cool and it will make Minecraft look inferior)
Also, can you add glass tables? and maybe make tables work kinda like fences, but the legs of 2 tables that are connecting are removed?
Example:
tables that aren't connected look like this:
XXXXX XXXXX
X X X X
connected tables:
XXXXXXXXXX
X X
That would look cool, especially in offices and such.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:56
by VanessaE
I was able to get this to run by deleting a couple of other mods (both meant for testing) which also used a bunch of nodeboxes. It looks nice, but it causes huge lags in single player mode each time a map chunk is generated with a lot of trees on it (once generated, though, they seem to perform fine).

Also, even on a newly-created world, the textures used on the "sides" of the trees are inconsistent. In some places on a tree (same place in all trees), my installed texture pack is being used. In other places, such as the top/cut side, it's whatever comes with the mod. I would suggest making these an all-or-nothing configuration.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:24
by sfan5
Really nice!

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 13:03
by tonyka
VanessaE wrote:I was able to get this to run by deleting a couple of other mods (both meant for testing) which also used a bunch of nodeboxes. It looks nice, but it causes huge lags in single player mode each time a map chunk is generated with a lot of trees on it (once generated, though, they seem to perform fine).

Also, even on a newly-created world, the textures used on the "sides" of the trees are inconsistent. In some places on a tree (same place in all trees), my installed texture pack is being used. In other places, such as the top/cut side, it's whatever comes with the mod. I would suggest making these an all-or-nothing configuration.

if the trees slow down the running game (more faces per node for rendering = more cpu usage) ...
in texture, I did not consider the use of texturepacks ...
the error is mine, not the mod ... '_ *

sorry for my English
Translation by Google

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 13:15
by VanessaE
Well they don't seem to slow down the active game, per se - just the map generator. Once the game stops generating more chunks, the lags stop and performance is good.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 13:24
by tonyka
SegFault22 wrote:+1
I like the round trees, it will make Minetest look more-realistic, and therefore it should be added to ''default'' (also it looks cool and it will make Minecraft look inferior)
Also, can you add glass tables? and maybe make tables work kinda like fences, but the legs of 2 tables that are connecting are removed?
Example:
tables that aren't connected look like this:
XXXXX XXXXX
X X X X
connected tables:
XXXXXXXXXX
X X
That would look cool, especially in offices and such.

the game is intended to be used on any PC, my mod adds a lot of processes to cpu, tearing that idea...

respect to glass tables that can be assembled, and abia thought something similar but my knowledge of lua are very few, all I can do is encourage those who can, to improve my code

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 13:40
by tonyka
VanessaE wrote:Well they don't seem to slow down the active game, per se - just the map generator. Once the game stops generating more chunks, the lags stop and performance is good.

same happens to me, all you do is replace the default block ...
I took the method of your torches animated ...
so here the problem must be in the game engine

Code: Select all
minetest.register_node(":default:tree", {
    description = ...

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 14:02
by tonyka
VanessaE wrote:This should go well with my homedecor mod :-)
...

of course you can take what you need and modify it to your liking, even if you need some new block, I'm good at drawing in 3D ...
do not hesitate to ask for what you need ...
:D

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 15:06
by tonyka
VanessaE wrote:

to your problem using many mods, you have two solutions:

1st: install them in a world determined ...
/ worlds / world-your-name-here / worldmods / MODHERE

2nd: make games that only contain the moods you want to use ...
minetest folder there a folder called games, inside you will find 2 folders, minetest_game and minimal ...

minimal folder contains all the essentials to run the world,

now you just have to create folder with the name you want,
and copy the contents of minimal,
then modify the file game.conf

has only one line:
name = Minimal Development Test

change it to:

name = the name of my game

in your mods folder you can copy the mods you want to use

thus creating a new world minetest will give you the option to choose your new game mode, and use only the mods that it has installed

Linux note:
if you installed from the repositories minetest, you need administrator rights to do this ...
use the gksudo command from a terminal ...

example in Ubuntu:
type:
gksudo nautilus [enter]
insert your password

This will open the nautilus file browser in root mode

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 17:31
by Calinou
tonyka wrote:sudo nautilus [enter]

Use gksudo for graphical applications (or kdesudo on KDE), NEVER sudo. It may fail to set some environment variables, potentially resulting in loss of data.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 17:46
by tonyka
oh thanks, did not know that ... I modified the post...

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 17:53
by Sturmegeist
An amazing mod, why isn't this in the Mod release section?
+1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 18:10
by tonyka
Sturmegeist wrote:An amazing mod, why isn't this in the Mod release section?
+1

I have no permission to post in that section, nor know how to get them ... also I'm just a simple user, my programming skills are minimal ... My intention in presenting this mod, is to encourage them if they know programming, to improve it.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 21:40
by InfinityProject
404 on replace trees download

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 21:56
by tonyka
InfinityProject wrote:404 on replace trees download

solved, thanks.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 22:29
by Sturmegeist
tonyka wrote:
Sturmegeist wrote:An amazing mod, why isn't this in the Mod release section?
+1

I have no permission to post in that section, nor know how to get them ... also I'm just a simple user, my programming skills are minimal ... My intention in presenting this mod, is to encourage them if they know programming, to improve it.

Well now, either your more humble than most people or your lying about your programming skills!

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 23:15
by tonyka
Sturmegeist wrote:Well now, either your more humble than most people or your lying about your programming skills!

oh thanks ...
I am a draftsman, an expert in AutoCAD and similar programs, and I love to draw in 3D, but those are all my abilities ... everything else is changed, looking at the wiki or forum asking
An example: in the game chat type: / giveme 3dforniture:toilet_open
My idea was that the toilet is opened and closed by interacting with the ... though I have explained how to do it, not get it to work ...

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 15:32
by tonyka
if someone provides me the code to join two blocks nodebox with
Code: Select all
paramtype = "light",
paramtype2 = "facedir",

could create things like statues and armor, medieval beds, wardrobes ...

I have the code to change a node on the other, but I can not take the value of facedir param2
with this, could create furniture, to open the drawers and doors to give a punch

with what I have, I'm creating a table lamp, which varies from light to punch him

who help me of course, I add in the list of contributions ... unless do not want ...

sorry for my English
Translation by Google

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 02:05
by tonyka
for those who want to follow the progress of my work, I have a development package that constantly update.
This package may contain errors, change object names etc ...
therefore recommend that you install in a new world ...
3dforniture-dev.zip

so far the changes you have are:
inventory images for objects that do not occupy the entire block
a table lamp with adjustable lighting and a armchair

the crafting is:

table lamp:

paper, torch, paper
nothing, sticks, nothing
nothing, wooden slab, nothing

armchair:

wooden planks, nothing, nothing
wooden planks, wooden planks, nothing
wooden planks, wooden planks, nothing