[Mod] Money (or Economy) [201207] [money]

Kryuko
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 20:26

by Kryuko » Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:47

Thanks.
But i don't understand how i can craft an admin shop (and locked sign).
 

User avatar
kotolegokot
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 17:03
Location: Russia, Ishim

by kotolegokot » Sun Dec 16, 2012 14:48

To get admin shop, you should use /giveme.
I'm creator of these mods: Locked sign, Locked furnace, Money. And I'm a developer of The RealTest Game.
 

User avatar
aldobr
Member
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:46

by aldobr » Sun Dec 16, 2012 14:58

How to solve the money ammount problem :

1 - create a new item called money that is worth one minetoon each
2 - create a ATM machine that is placed by the admins. That ATM machine lends money with a interest rate that is setup by the admins. That interest rate should take into account the rate of failure, because some people will be unable to pay their debts.
3 - a new player enters the server, he goes to the ATM and takes a loan.
4 - With the loan the player buys mining equipment and goes mining. He sells the mining results and pays his outstanding debits with the ATM.
5 - The surplus he can sell in the market to earn more money.
6 - The admins should setup "public works", like building roads and leveling land for a city to grow. Admins pays a salary for that work, transfering back to the players what was earned by the lend system.
 

Kryuko
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 20:26

by Kryuko » Sun Dec 16, 2012 16:11

kotolegokot wrote:To get admin shop, you should use /giveme.

/giveme what?

And how the users create shops?
Last edited by Kryuko on Sun Dec 16, 2012 16:15, edited 1 time in total.
 

Kryuko
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 20:26

by Kryuko » Sun Dec 16, 2012 19:33

Nubelite wrote:Here is a shop i setup with my customized version, just to give you an idea of what i was aiming for. It is on my server if you want to look in person.

Image
Image


The user's don't destroy all?
 

Kryuko
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 20:26

by Kryuko » Sun Dec 16, 2012 20:38

I have a little problem.
My users create a shop, set it, but when they click to the "proceed" button, nothing happend.
Do you have a solution for this? All users have the "money" privilege. Is there another privilege for create shops?

Thanks in advance.
 

User avatar
kotolegokot
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 17:03
Location: Russia, Ishim

by kotolegokot » Mon Dec 17, 2012 04:52

Maybe, they fill in the form wrong.
I'm creator of these mods: Locked sign, Locked furnace, Money. And I'm a developer of The RealTest Game.
 

kbobdc3
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 21:23
Location: Delmar, Delaware

by kbobdc3 » Mon Apr 01, 2013 15:47

Mod is in mods folder but not showing up in game
I'm not stupid, I'm weak minded
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Mon Apr 22, 2013 23:20

The mod is very nice for multiplayer servers. It would be good if it would be easier to define how much a shop is willing to buy of a certain node - else you may end up with a chest full of nodes of which you only wanted half a stack - and without no money left.
Also it would be nice to have a log that shows who bought what (not the time! only the amount) so that popular shops can be refilled and it gets easier to find out what the customers want.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

LazyJ
Member
 
Posts: 591
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:29
Location: Podunk, Nowhere, USA

by LazyJ » Tue May 14, 2013 13:21

Is it possilbe to have a way for admins to monitor transactions?

Something that would register in the server logs any time a money mod function is used?

For settling disputes and confirming large transactions (between who and how much and for what).

Perhaps a GUI menu that is invoked by a money command. The fields of the menu would carry out the action as well as write a line to the server log.


For example:
Player1 _______________
Player2 _______________

Pay
Amount _______________
For item:code ___________

Trade
Trade item:code quantity
For item:code quantity


Thanks for a great mod!
 

User avatar
Cooper97
Member
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 19:55
Location: Germany

by Cooper97 » Sat Jun 01, 2013 17:51

This is an awesome mod, but I found a bug. If I freeze the account of a player, he can still use money (buy and sell). Please solve this problem.

Edit: I tested it with the Minetest version 0.4.6
Last edited by Cooper97 on Sun Jun 02, 2013 07:52, edited 1 time in total.
Sorry for my bad english. (I am from germany.)
 

hdastwb
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 18:47
Location: United States
GitHub: hdastwb
IRC: hdastwb
In-game: hdastwb

by hdastwb » Tue Jun 25, 2013 00:47

I've just put in a pull request to fix a bug where players would use shops linked to nonexistent accounts and crash the server; if this is still in active development, I think it would be a good thing to incorporate in case the playerdata gets lost on someone else's economy server in the future.
 

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

by BrunoMine » Fri Jul 05, 2013 02:42

kotolegokot wrote:Commands for players (requires "money" privilege):


how can I give the privilege of money to a player?
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

User avatar
Menche
Member
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
Location: An island in a lava lake.
IRC: Menche
In-game: Menche

by Menche » Fri Jul 05, 2013 05:13

brunob.santos wrote:
kotolegokot wrote:Commands for players (requires "money" privilege):


how can I give the privilege of money to a player?

Same as you would give any privilege:
Code: Select all
/grant user priv

So, to give money:
Code: Select all
/grant user money
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.
 

xiong
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:26

by xiong » Fri Jul 19, 2013 13:50

I only want one thing: the ability to retune my shop without emptying it, digging it up, and replacing it. Being able to change prices (in particular) is a normal part of doing any sort of business. I do not see why, if I left-click my own shop (containing goods), I should not be taken to the tuning screen.

As for not wanting a shop to be flooded with goods when you only want some: You may have offered too much for the item in question; offer less. Another strategy is to move dummy goods into most of the slots -- dirt, perhaps. It only takes one block to fill that slot. You can leave as few as one slot open to accept goods and limit your buy to 99 items regardless of supply.

This is a fine, well thought-out mod. It needs only that one tweak.
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Sat Jul 20, 2013 15:24

Beeing able to change the price would be most helpful, yes.

As for the limiting of bought nodes through adding "fillers" in the other slots: Yes, that works, but it does not look so great and is rather impractical.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

by BrunoMine » Sat Sep 07, 2013 03:43

Can I change some data in this mod? To use on my server?
I already translated this mod almost completely (for Portuguese).
I want to change only one thing. cr to M $.
The official currency on my server called Minemoney.
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com
 

User avatar
kotolegokot
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 17:03
Location: Russia, Ishim

by kotolegokot » Sat Sep 07, 2013 16:58

brunob.santos wrote:Can I change some data in this mod? To use on my server?
I already translated this mod almost completely (for Portuguese).
I want to change only one thing. cr to M $.
The official currency on my server called Minemoney.

Do what you want.
I'm creator of these mods: Locked sign, Locked furnace, Money. And I'm a developer of The RealTest Game.
 

User avatar
Menche
Member
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
Location: An island in a lava lake.
IRC: Menche
In-game: Menche

by Menche » Sat Sep 07, 2013 22:08

brunob.santos wrote:Can I change some data in this mod? To use on my server?
I already translated this mod almost completely (for Portuguese).
I want to change only one thing. cr to M $.
The official currency on my server called Minemoney.

You mean change the name of the money? Edit the CURRENCY_POSTFIX variable in settings.lua.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.
 

xiong
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 12:26

by xiong » Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:51

Announcement

I worked on this mod to address the very issue I raised earlier about easier repricing; that's now in master. Punch to detune a shop, then right-click as usual to open the tuning form.
Details: https://github.com/Kotolegokot/minetest-mod-money/issues/1

I've also straightened out a minor bug that surfaced; and clarified (I trust) some of the words (code and displayed text) used to indicate the direction of a transaction.

Now kotolegokot has worked hard on this mod and created a truly important thing. But I'll be maintaining 'money' from now on and I hope to build on this excellent foundation. Various players have commented casually about things they want and I have a few ideas of my own.

So please, if you are running 'money' now, go ahead and update to the current 'master' branch head; and let me know what you want to see.
 

hdastwb
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 18:47
Location: United States
GitHub: hdastwb
IRC: hdastwb
In-game: hdastwb

by hdastwb » Mon Sep 16, 2013 14:51

One thing that I've been meaning to code into this mod but never got around to is a way to specify merchandise by just dragging a sample of what is to be sold into the formspec rather than having to deduce it's item name; this would be particularly useful when selling stuff from mods like mesecons which have really odd names for their items…

Also, how about adding mesecons/digilines support (perhaps in the form of a block that produces a pulse when payment is issued) so that people can build things that require payment to run, like more generalized merchandise dispensers, pay gates, coin-operated laundry, or online banking…
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Mon Sep 16, 2013 16:36

Automatic determination of the name of the item that is to be sold is certainly important. Most players do not know the name of all items they want to sell. Maybe you could add merchandise to the shops inventory first and then, after something is inserted and thus it's certain what is to be sold, show the setup (shop name, amount to be sold together, price).

For shops that want to buy, setting a limit (only buy for x amount of money/only buy up to y of these) would be very helpful.

The vending system used on the Landrush server gives some helpful information in its infotext shown at mouseover: Is the shop owner out of money? Does the shop contain items? What is sold, and at which price? (even with price per item). That's a nice feature. Maybe that can be adopted for these shops here as well.

The barter shops on VanessaEs server have the advantage that they're able to exchange combinations of items for combinations of items. Maybe that would be too much for this mod as it's more money-based.

It would be great if it would be possible to see who bought which amount of items (not when!) so that you can offer regular customers presents or reduced prices occasionally (manually of course - that's nothing that can be automatized).

Another helpful point would be to have a node that shows you with one click which shops ran dry and need refilling.

If you want to really dig into it, combining the shops with the pipeworks mod and allowing automatic refill through pneumatic tubes might be fun.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

Azuna
Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 22:50

by Azuna » Sat Oct 19, 2013 21:01

i cant get rid of the admin shop i placed.
 

hdastwb
Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 18:47
Location: United States
GitHub: hdastwb
IRC: hdastwb
In-game: hdastwb

by hdastwb » Sat Oct 19, 2013 22:13

Azuna wrote:i cant get rid of the admin shop i placed.


I sort of accidentally happened across an admin shop vending machine on a server once and wound up placing an indestructible admin shop as well…

I believe that it is possible to dig admin shops if one has money admin privileges; otherwise, worldedit always works…
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Sat Oct 19, 2013 23:57

hdastwb wrote:
Azuna wrote:i cant get rid of the admin shop i placed.


I sort of accidentally happened across an admin shop vending machine on a server once and wound up placing an indestructible admin shop as well…

I believe that it is possible to dig admin shops if one has money admin privileges; otherwise, worldedit always works…


Or disable/remove from minetest/mods the money mod. It will give you a diggable unknown block. Then enable/put back in minetest/mods the money mod.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest