[Mod] Signs [2] [signs]

User avatar
xyz
Member
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 14:25

[Mod] Signs [2] [signs]

by xyz » Thu Aug 09, 2012 09:38

Image
Just wooden signs. No conflicts with default mod.

Code license: WTFPL
Textures license: font: 04b-03 (about link, which states that "you may use them as you like"); signs texture is based on default_wood.png from minetest_game
Dependencies: default

Download

Notice: There can be some texture glitches (and now I don't know a way to fix it). Re-logging in game helps (sometimes).
^ forget it, fixed long time ago

Changelog:
  • 1 — initial release
  • 2 — added yard signs (screenshot), slightly tuned textures
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02
 

Belgac
Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 15:27
Location: Brussels, Belgium

by Belgac » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:26

nice idea, i'll give it a try.
Contributor: Plant aging library
Creator: (soon)
 

User avatar
RandomBot
Member
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 03:46
Location: Behind you, go ahead, look....

by RandomBot » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:27

well it would look better if the sign texture had the same pixel dimensions that the font have.
but +1 from me too :D
"Everyone has a plan, until they get punched in the face"
- Mike Tyson
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 13:03

Looks awesome!
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Thu Aug 09, 2012 13:34

I changed default_wood to to clay but this is what i got:
Image
Image

it flickers like that when the camera moves, like most other signlike nodes, though this is a nodebox, so i dont understand why its happening here :-/
 

User avatar
xyz
Member
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 14:25

by xyz » Thu Aug 09, 2012 14:24

mauvebic wrote:I changed default_wood to to clay but this is what i got:
it flickers like that when the camera moves, like most other signlike nodes, though this is a nodebox, so i dont understand why its happening here :-/

Try quiting & entering game again, that should help.
 

TheLoLMan
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 13:43
 

pagliaccio
Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 07:38
Location: italy

by pagliaccio » Thu Aug 09, 2012 15:00

good, i wait a fix for install
 

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 21:13

awesome! now we do not have to worry about stuff around the sign being too bright and making it hard to see the text, because the text is actually on the sign.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.
 

Josh
Member
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Fri Aug 10, 2012 03:16

+3! Cool job xyz! i hope this get's added in the default game. Much better than the default signs. i installed it & it's cool!
 

User avatar
xyz
Member
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 14:25

by xyz » Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:06

Version 2 released.
 

User avatar
Cooper
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 00:43

by Cooper » Fri Aug 10, 2012 13:58

Cool
TACOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sat Aug 11, 2012 08:05

my text seems to disappear sometimes (maybe when someone joins). Relogging doesn't help. The text is still in the form. Only way to fix is to pickup and re-place the sign, and then write the text again.
 

User avatar
xyz
Member
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 14:25

by xyz » Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:39

cornernote wrote:my text seems to disappear sometimes (maybe when someone joins). Relogging doesn't help. The text is still in the form. Only way to fix is to pickup and re-place the sign, and then write the text again.

Can you report more information? What mods are you using? It seems that entity that displays the text disappeared, but I don't know a case in which that should happen.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:48

xyz wrote:
cornernote wrote:my text seems to disappear sometimes (maybe when someone joins). Relogging doesn't help. The text is still in the form. Only way to fix is to pickup and re-place the sign, and then write the text again.

Can you report more information? What mods are you using? It seems that entity that displays the text disappeared, but I don't know a case in which that should happen.

Maybe its because he moved away and the engine deactivates the entity. When its actiavated again all variable that are stored are deletet. You can save the variables by creating this method:
Code: Select all
get_staticdata = function(self)

The return value will be given to
Code: Select all
on_activate = function(self, staticdata)

as "staticdata". Its only a string so you should use
Code: Select all
minetest.serialize(table)
and
Code: Select all
minetest.deserialize(string)
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:49

It reappeared on its own. I have a lot of mods and some custom things too. I'll try to isolate it with less mods.
 

User avatar
xyz
Member
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 14:25

by xyz » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:07

PilzAdam wrote:Maybe its because he moved away and the engine deactivates the entity. When its actiavated again all variable that are stored are deletet. You can save the variables by creating this method:...

I don't store any variables in entities and this mod already have correct (I hope) on_activate.
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

by cHyper » Sat Aug 11, 2012 13:27

same as in minecraft... awesome mod !!!
___when_it's_done___ http://www.siederer.eu_for_more_details___
 

jpenguin
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 00:19

by jpenguin » Mon Aug 13, 2012 17:17

Great~ The texture thing is annoying, but really nice mod
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Tue Aug 14, 2012 00:22

It's still not displaying the text sometimes. Is there a way that I can punch/dig/kick/spit it so that it re-renders? To read my signs i have to right click them to see the entered text.

Here are the mods I am running:
https://github.com/cornernote/minetest-cornernote_game
Last edited by cornernote on Tue Aug 14, 2012 00:23, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5691
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

by rubenwardy » Tue Aug 14, 2012 09:16

nice job! i was thinking about doing this but you got here first!
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Tue Jan 01, 2013 23:45

Are there any plans to update this mod for the present builds of minetest? This mod has a few issues with the text messages on the signs. Sometimes, objects and even other messages get stuck to them. Other times, the messages will not show up. If it helps, Zegatron's Server uses this mod.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Wed Jan 02, 2013 01:36

Inocudom wrote:Are there any plans to update this mod for the present builds of minetest? This mod has a few issues with the text messages on the signs. Sometimes, objects and even other messages get stuck to them. Other times, the messages will not show up. If it helps, Zegatron's Server uses this mod.


Does it? Zeg9 told me he uses PilzAdam's signs plugin, not this one.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Wed Jan 02, 2013 02:03

I see. If that is the case, then it is PilzAdam's version of this that I have seen those bugs with.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

Next

Return to Old Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest