[Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

Locked
Craig Ferguson

by Craig Ferguson » Post

Not sure if this is the right place to post, but here goes...
After about a week in game-time the game got really bogged down, with near %100 CPU usage. The problem seemed to be caused by mobs continuing to spawn without old mobs disappearing. I found the mobs drop settings in the init.lua and set it to 1 (for example, the Dirt Monster dropped 3-5 dirt blocks when the sun came up, and I set it to not drop any.) I also had a problem with sheep dying in lakes and ponds and leaving lots of meat behind.
My question is two-parted: Is there a way to reduce spawn rates, or clear up old mobs? And is there a way to make mob drops decay(like the dirt blocks) over time? I love this mod, and would really love to use it but after a while it ends up eating all my processing power.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Craig Ferguson wrote:Is there a way to reduce spawn rates, or clear up old mobs?
The current spawning algorithm is realy crap. I have some ideas how to make it better and will code it in the future. But for now you have to use /clearobjects to remove all the objects in the world (also the dropped items).
Craig Ferguson wrote:And is there a way to make mob drops decay(like the dirt blocks) over time?
My builtin items mod decays the dropped items (IIRC).

xChinmoku
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 22:39

by xChinmoku » Post

Alright, so I've been trying to download your mods... I can't. I mean, I can, but every time I try to go on my server, it gives me and error.
I have dev build 0.4.3, if that helps.
So... Can someone tell me how to do this? I'm probably missing something so simple.
Thanks.

sysedit
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Post

/clearobjects only gives me "Issued command: /clearobjects" and nothing else. All enemies and objects are still there and the map is still just a small
patch of blocks that I stand on.
PilzAdam wrote:
Craig Ferguson wrote:Is there a way to reduce spawn rates, or clear up old mobs?
The current spawning algorithm is realy crap. I have some ideas how to make it better and will code it in the future. But for now you have to use /clearobjects to remove all the objects in the world (also the dropped items).
Last edited by sysedit on Sun Nov 11, 2012 07:32, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

sysedit wrote:/clearobjects only gives me "Issued command: /clearobjects" and nothing else. All enemies and objects are still there and the map is still just a small
patch of blocks that I stand on.
PilzAdam wrote:
Craig Ferguson wrote:Is there a way to reduce spawn rates, or clear up old mobs?
The current spawning algorithm is realy crap. I have some ideas how to make it better and will code it in the future. But for now you have to use /clearobjects to remove all the objects in the world (also the dropped items).
Are you sure to have no typo in it? Also the command takes realy long to execute because it clear the objects of the whole world.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

xChinmoku wrote:Alright, so I've been trying to download your mods... I can't. I mean, I can, but every time I try to go on my server, it gives me and error.
I have dev build 0.4.3, if that helps.
So... Can someone tell me how to do this? I'm probably missing something so simple.
Thanks.
Can you please give some more information about the error from your debug.txt in your bin/ folder? It should be something in the last ~50 lines.

sysedit
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Post

Adam, thank you very much for looking into this.

]: WARNING: active block modifiers took 226ms (longer than 200ms)
10:53:16: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: std::bad_alloc

In thread b67ffb70:
/home/henry/system/games/minetest/src/server.cpp:152: virtual void* ServerThread::Thread(): Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD b67ffb70:
#0 virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1 void Server::AsyncRunStep())
(Leftover data: #2 virtual void ServerEnvironment::step(float))
(Leftover data: #3 RemoteClient* Server::getClient(irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #4 void ItemStack::serialize(std::ostream&) const)
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD b77406d0:
#0 int main(int, char**)
#1 Dedicated server branch
#2 void dedicated_server_loop(Server&, bool&)
(Leftover data: #3 void Server::step(float))

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

sysedit wrote:(...)
10:53:16: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: std::bad_alloc
(...)
This is not a bug in the simple mobs mod. It is a bug in the Minetest engine. IIRC, it is something with low RAM or something like this.

sysedit
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
sysedit wrote:(...)
10:53:16: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: std::bad_alloc
(...)
This is not a bug in the simple mobs mod. It is a bug in the Minetest engine. IIRC, it is something with low RAM or something like this.
I have had it with this game. Mods breaking the server and the server commands not working. I am not a player I am a beta-tester.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

sysedit wrote:I have had it with this game. Mods breaking the server and the server commands not working. I am not a player I am a beta-tester.
You're right -- the game isn't even "finished" yet, there is no 1.0.0 version.

xChinmoku
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 22:39

by xChinmoku » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
xChinmoku wrote:Alright, so I've been trying to download your mods... I can't. I mean, I can, but every time I try to go on my server, it gives me and error.
I have dev build 0.4.3, if that helps.
So... Can someone tell me how to do this? I'm probably missing something so simple.
Thanks.
Can you please give some more information about the error from your debug.txt in your bin/ folder? It should be something in the last ~50 lines.
21:14:20: INFO[main]: Server: Loading mods: PilzAdam-mobs-8430099 creative default dye fire wool bucket doors give_initial_stuff legacy stairs
21:14:20: INFO[main]: [PilzAdam-mobs-8430099] ["C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua"]
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod "PilzAdam-mobs-8430099": modname does not follow naming conventions: Only chararacters [a-z0-9_] are allowed.
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua
21:14:20: INFO[main]: BanManager: saving to C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\worlds\Herpy Derp Derp\ipban.txt
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua

e.o I'm confused.

BTW: I redownloaded the 0.4.2 version to see if it would work then, but as you can see, it didn't. So this is on the 0.4.2 version, but it wouldn't work on the 0.4.3 version either.
Last edited by xChinmoku on Sun Nov 11, 2012 19:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Menche
Member
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
IRC: Menchers
In-game: Menche
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Post

xChinmoku wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
xChinmoku wrote:Alright, so I've been trying to download your mods... I can't. I mean, I can, but every time I try to go on my server, it gives me and error.
I have dev build 0.4.3, if that helps.
So... Can someone tell me how to do this? I'm probably missing something so simple.
Thanks.
Can you please give some more information about the error from your debug.txt in your bin/ folder? It should be something in the last ~50 lines.
21:14:20: INFO[main]: Server: Loading mods: PilzAdam-mobs-8430099 creative default dye fire wool bucket doors give_initial_stuff legacy stairs
21:14:20: INFO[main]: [PilzAdam-mobs-8430099] ["C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua"]
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod "PilzAdam-mobs-8430099": modname does not follow naming conventions: Only chararacters [a-z0-9_] are allowed.
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua
21:14:20: INFO[main]: BanManager: saving to C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\worlds\Herpy Derp Derp\ipban.txt
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua

e.o I'm confused.

BTW: I redownloaded the 0.4.2 version to see if it would work then, but as you can see, it didn't. So this is on the 0.4.2 version, but it wouldn't work on the 0.4.3 version either.
The folder name is wrong. Rename the folder "PilzAdam-mobs-8430099" to just "mobs". Minetest apparently doesn't like dashes and the folder name has to match the names in the mod.
Last edited by Menche on Sun Nov 11, 2012 20:47, edited 1 time in total.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.

xChinmoku
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 22:39

by xChinmoku » Post

Menche wrote:
xChinmoku wrote:
PilzAdam wrote: Can you please give some more information about the error from your debug.txt in your bin/ folder? It should be something in the last ~50 lines.
21:14:20: INFO[main]: Server: Loading mods: PilzAdam-mobs-8430099 creative default dye fire wool bucket doors give_initial_stuff legacy stairs
21:14:20: INFO[main]: [PilzAdam-mobs-8430099] ["C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua"]
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod "PilzAdam-mobs-8430099": modname does not follow naming conventions: Only chararacters [a-z0-9_] are allowed.
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua
21:14:20: INFO[main]: BanManager: saving to C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\worlds\Herpy Derp Derp\ipban.txt
21:14:20: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\PilzAdam-mobs-8430099\init.lua

e.o I'm confused.

BTW: I redownloaded the 0.4.2 version to see if it would work then, but as you can see, it didn't. So this is on the 0.4.2 version, but it wouldn't work on the 0.4.3 version either.
The folder name is wrong. Rename the folder "PilzAdam-mobs-8430099" to just "mobs". Minetest apparently doesn't like dashes and the folder name has to match the names in the mod.
Thank you! :] I'll try that right now.

Edit: It still doesn't work. -_-
When I try to get on my server, it stops me and this message comes up:
ModError: Failed to load and run
C:\Users\Lauren\Desktop\minetest-0.4.2-rc1-d38b465-win32\minetest-0.4.2rc1-c

It does that on my 0.4.3 version too.
What's going on?
Last edited by xChinmoku on Sun Nov 11, 2012 22:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

What are the 'new' error lines?

Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

Hey PilzAdam i think the Oerkii should have cisouns textures the current ones look scary.
Last edited by Josh on Sat Nov 17, 2012 03:09, edited 1 time in total.

liandro123
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 21:49

by liandro123 » Post

i got and error it says,

ServerError:LuaError:error running function 'on_step':attempt to index a number value

Please answer me Adam because i love Minetest.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

liandro123 wrote:i got and error it says,

ServerError:LuaError:error running function 'on_step':attempt to index a number value

Please answer me Adam because i love Minetest.
If you would read the first post you will see this:
PilzAdam wrote:It requires latest dev version of Minetest.
Is this realy hard to understand?
Do people dont know what this means?
Please, tell me.

User avatar
nomohakon
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 16:34
IRC: nomohakon
In-game: nomohakon
Location: VanessaE's servers

by nomohakon » Post

Can you please make version of simple mobs to 0.4.3 for us with 0.4.3? If its too much work, ignore this.
"To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize." - Voltaire
"Knowledge, like air, is vital to life. Like air, no one should be denied it." - Alan Moore, V for Vendetta
- - -
"To never die... and to conquer all, that is winning." ―Illyria

liandro123
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 21:49

by liandro123 » Post

i still says the same thing

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3121
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

At times the dungeon master's fireballs would spawn right at my position and the oerkii would be stuck to my position and cause me to die many times.

Is the sand monster supposed to spawn during the daytime?

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Inocudom wrote:Is the sand monster supposed to spawn during the daytime?
Yep.

User avatar
aldobr
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:46

by aldobr » Post

Can you add work bots ?

A little hand helping dig tunnels would be nice...

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

aldobr wrote:Can you add work bots ?

A little hand helping dig tunnels would be nice...
This is a nice idea but it would need some additional work on the AI. In this case I could delete the "Simple" in the topic name ;-)

AnonymousEs

by AnonymousEs » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
liandro123 wrote:i got and error it says,

ServerError:LuaError:error running function 'on_step':attempt to index a number value

Please answer me Adam because i love Minetest.
If you would read the first post you will see this:
PilzAdam wrote:It requires latest dev version of Minetest.
Is this realy hard to understand?
Do people dont know what this means?
Please, tell me.
The misunderstanding may be coming from the fact that many are under the impression
that 0.4.3 is the latest version, including myself. On the download page
http://minetest.net/download.php, people automatically assume that 0.4.3 at the top
is the latest version.

Can you please provide the link to the
latest version? I really love Minetest and your mods are awesome! I need that survival
element to complete this masterpiece!

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

AnonymousEs wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
liandro123 wrote:i got and error it says,

ServerError:LuaError:error running function 'on_step':attempt to index a number value

Please answer me Adam because i love Minetest.
If you would read the first post you will see this:
PilzAdam wrote:It requires latest dev version of Minetest.
Is this realy hard to understand?
Do people dont know what this means?
Please, tell me.
The misunderstanding may be coming from the fact that many are under the impression
that 0.4.3 is the latest version, including myself. On the download page
http://minetest.net/download.php, people automatically assume that 0.4.3 at the top
is the latest version.

Can you please provide the link to the
latest version? I really love Minetest and your mods are awesome! I need that survival
element to complete this masterpiece!
You actually get the latest (windows compiled) version of Minetest at the download page. Just go to sfan5's windows builds.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests