[Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

User avatar
Ikishida
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 08:02
Location: (secret)

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Ikishida » Mon Dec 01, 2014 09:20

How do I disable spawning? I just want to use limited mobs,I don't wan't them to spawn.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by PilzAdam » Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:09

Ikishida wrote:How do I disable spawning? I just want to use limited mobs,I don't wan't them to spawn.

By reading the first post.
 

LonelyCrow
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 16:17
In-game: Lonelycrow

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by LonelyCrow » Sat Jan 10, 2015 18:20

The Mod failed to load. I extracted it to C:\Users\LonelyCrow\Downloads\minetest-0.4.11-win64\mods and renamed the folder "mobs".
When I clicked the configure button on the menu, enabled the mod, and then hit play, I got an error. Was there something more I needed to do in the beginning or was extracting the file to the mod folder simply it?
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Topywo » Sat Jan 10, 2015 21:49

LonelyCrow wrote:The Mod failed to load. I extracted it to C:\Users\LonelyCrow\Downloads\minetest-0.4.11-win64\mods and renamed the folder "mobs".
When I clicked the configure button on the menu, enabled the mod, and then hit play, I got an error. Was there something more I needed to do in the beginning or was extracting the file to the mod folder simply it?



Look for the file: debug.txt (must be the same folder as minetest.exe).
Then search for ERROR and copy/paste the ERROR-lines here. It will be easier to see what went wrong.


Edit: Only do this if Maikerumine's solution doesn't work (post under this one). I bet he hit the mark :-)
Last edited by Topywo on Sat Jan 10, 2015 21:56, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by maikerumine » Sat Jan 10, 2015 21:52

LonelyCrow wrote:The Mod failed to load. I extracted it to C:\Users\LonelyCrow\Downloads\minetest-0.4.11-win64\mods and renamed the folder "mobs".
When I clicked the configure button on the menu, enabled the mod, and then hit play, I got an error. Was there something more I needed to do in the beginning or was extracting the file to the mod folder simply it?

Your file path should be:
C:\Users\LonelyCrow\Downloads\minetest-0.4.11-win64\mods\mobs

The changing of the mods folder to mobs breaks the game.
The red is supposed be called mods, then add the "mobs" folder there.

Forgive me if I am not hitting the mark.

[EDIT]

Also, I would create a folder in your D: directory-if you have one- straight up named MINETEST, then have all your minetest stuff there. Windows sometimes doesn't like writing to the C directory on newer versions of M$.

Just my two cents.
 

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
 
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Napiophelios » Sun Jan 11, 2015 01:15

Topywo wrote:
LonelyCrow wrote:The Mod failed to load. I extracted it to C:\Users\LonelyCrow\Downloads\minetest-0.4.11-win64\mods and renamed the folder "mobs".
When I clicked the configure button on the menu, enabled the mod, and then hit play, I got an error. Was there something more I needed to do in the beginning or was extracting the file to the mod folder simply it?



Look for the file: debug.txt (must be the same folder as minetest.exe).
Then search for ERROR and copy/paste the ERROR-lines here. It will be easier to see what went wrong.


Edit: Only do this if Maikerumine's solution doesn't work (post under this one). I bet he hit the mark :-)



I bet he didn't :)

How could he possibly enable the mod in the game menu if he renamed the mods folder to mobs?
I believe you guys have misread his post...or he is mistaken in what he has posted.

regardless without the debug text info its a mystery.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Topywo » Sun Jan 11, 2015 21:45

Napiophelios wrote: I bet he didn't :)

How could he possibly enable the mod in the game menu if he renamed the mods folder to mobs?



Well he did ...eh, hmmm and then...


/hides
 

Sick-D!!
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 15:36
GitHub: Sick-D
IRC: Sick-D
In-game: Sick-D

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Sick-D!! » Mon Jan 12, 2015 15:46

Hi :D

i'm new in here, so, sorry if my english is not as fluent as it seems :D

-> does this mod work with mt 0.4.11 on ubuntu???
Some Videos in German?[in BlockLiebeCity] https://www.youtube.com/user/SickDDubstep

Twitter https://twitter.com/SickD_LP

Interestet to play with us in BlockLiebeCity? Contact me!
Just want to Visit BlockLiebeCity ??
Server: blockliebecity.2nk.de:30000 (IPv6 Only!!)

Bye bye ;)
 

LadyErin
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 15:32
GitHub: LadyErin
IRC: LadyErin
In-game: LadyErin

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by LadyErin » Tue Jan 13, 2015 16:49

Can you make some cows and chickens or make sure you can breed the sheep with weed?

I would love if you do :)
Exuse me sir i'm a lady!
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Calinou » Tue Jan 13, 2015 17:13

Sick-D!! wrote:Hi :D

i'm new in here, so, sorry if my english is not as fluent as it seems :D

-> does this mod work with mt 0.4.11 on ubuntu???


Yes, it does.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by maikerumine » Tue Feb 17, 2015 08:44

Linuxdirk wrote:Maybe I’m doing something wrong but is it that I can kill the mobs with one hit with a Mese pickaxe? (And why aren’t they jumping to reach me?)

Link to the correct time position of one of my LP videos talking about that fact and demonstrating it in German


I have noticed that to, it seems the code is rather random on whether or not they are aggressive.

I would try out TenPlus1's Mobs Redo mob, he tweaked the code and they work really great!
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9917
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Linuxdirk » Sat Feb 21, 2015 14:53

I just started the game again and now it’s even possible to simply punch them once with bare hands to make them instantly disappear.

I think I’ll address that again in my next video (released today or tomorrow) :)
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by maikerumine » Sat Feb 21, 2015 16:48

Linuxdirk wrote:I just started the game again and now it’s even possible to simply punch them once with bare hands to make them instantly disappear.

I think I’ll address that again in my next video (released today or tomorrow) :)


By chance is creative mode checked as well?
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1713
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Linuxdirk » Sat Feb 21, 2015 19:57

maikerumine wrote:By chance is creative mode checked as well?

Haha great :) TIL: Creative Mode isn’t stored on world-basis but generally :D

But mobs still disappear when hitting them once with a tool or weapon.
 

User avatar
qyron
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 00:07
Location: Portugal

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by qyron » Sun Mar 15, 2015 18:10

Is this mod still being supported?

I've tried to add it to my game and it won't work due to a mod error.
 

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by mahmutelmas06 » Sun Mar 15, 2015 20:43

qyron wrote:Is this mod still being supported?

I've tried to add it to my game and it won't work due to a mod error.


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9917
My Mods:

Beverage
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Soudon » Thu Jun 18, 2015 21:07

was wondering how I would go about increasing the spawnrate of the mobs I read the first post and I looked at the init.lua. But I can't figure out how to increase the rate, for me I rarely see any mobs even sheep are scarce. So I would like to increase the rate if possible.
 

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by mahmutelmas06 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 21:19

mobs:register_spawn(name, nodes, max_light, min_light, chance, active_object_count, max_height)

Look at values called chance and active_object_count wich are 9000 and 1 below.

mobs:register_spawn("mobs:sheep", {"default:dirt_with_grass"}, 20, 8, 9000, 1, 31000)
My Mods:

Beverage
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Soudon » Thu Jun 18, 2015 22:05

mahmutelmas06 wrote:mobs:register_spawn(name, nodes, max_light, min_light, chance, active_object_count, max_height)

Look at values called chance and active_object_count wich are 9000 and 1 below.

mobs:register_spawn("mobs:sheep", {"default:dirt_with_grass"}, 20, 8, 9000, 1, 31000)


yea I kinda figured it out just after posting, thanks for the quick reply though.
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Soudon » Thu Oct 01, 2015 17:57

Ok so I changed the 9000 and 1 around to 150000 1, 1 and 1, 1 and 15000 etc... doesnt effect anything at all.
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Don » Fri Oct 02, 2015 01:22

Soudon wrote:Ok so I changed the 9000 and 1 around to 150000 1, 1 and 1, 1 and 15000 etc... doesnt effect anything at all.

Did you wait for the spawn cycle or go to an ungenerated area of the map?
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Don » Fri Oct 02, 2015 04:02

Soudon wrote:I hadnt but since I have

Did it help?
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

Soudon
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 17:14
In-game: Soudon

Re: [Mod] Simple Mobs [mobs]

by Soudon » Fri Oct 02, 2015 04:45

Yes it did help they have the correct textures. Thank You.

New Problem: I had to go to minetest/game/minetest_game/mods/default/models/ to get the character.x file copied it renamed it to mobs_sand_monster.x then opened up a png of a zombie that was 512x512 resized the canvas to 512x256 saved it and the mobs_sand_monster.x to mods/mobs/models. Now the texture does work it covers the "sand monster" with the zombie texture. however they fall through the ground and only from the waist up is above ground. I messed with the visible size x and y in the init.lua but regardless they still clip through whatever block they are on. I have a feeling it is a simple fix but I just cannot figure it out.


Well I solved the problem I took the character.blend file from the mods/default/models into blender saw the z axis was set to -10 changed it to 0 then exported the .x and overwrote mobs_sand_monster.x with it and now they no longer clip through the ground. Just in case anyone else wanted to know how to do it.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests