Page 2 of 3

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 17:05
by rinoux
I cant run your mod Proller

Loaded texture: /usr/share/minetest/textures/base/pack/menubg.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/minetest/textures/base/pack/menulogo.png
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod "waterplus-master": modname does not follow naming conventions: Only chararacters [a-z0-9_] are allowed.
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/poipoi/.minetest/mods/minetest/waterplus-master/init.lua
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/poipoi/.minetest/mods/minetest/waterplus-master/init.lua

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 17:08
by Topywo
rinoux wrote:I cant run your mod Proller

Loaded texture: /usr/share/minetest/textures/base/pack/menubg.png
Loaded texture: /usr/share/minetest/textures/base/pack/menulogo.png
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: Error loading mod "waterplus-master": modname does not follow naming conventions: Only chararacters [a-z0-9_] are allowed.
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run /home/poipoi/.minetest/mods/minetest/waterplus-master/init.lua
18:04:52: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run /home/poipoi/.minetest/mods/minetest/waterplus-master/init.lua


Try renaming the folder waterplus-master to: waterplus

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 17:11
by rinoux
that work, thanks Topywo

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 22:53
by proller
current version merged to https://github.com/rubenwardy/waterplus/ and its good

find underwater cave by crater on sea surface.
when cave will filled - surface will relax

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 07:52
by proller

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:40
by GJH105775
rubenwardy wrote:
BrandonReese wrote:How CPU intensive is this mod?


I have done no tests, all I can say is that it depends on how much finite water there is.

This mod uses an Active Block Modifier to check if any of the surrounding blocks are lower than it is, and if so it starts flowing water into it.

So basically, a waterfall or a pond of finite water will not be that CPU extensive, but if you replace all default water with finite water... only tests will show.



My 3.2ghz processor runs it great

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 15:44
by rubenwardy
I did do a speed test:

rubenwardy wrote:[h]Speed testing[/h]
I have tested the speed of this mod on my system.

No finite mod (control)
Using the vanilla minetest_game
Frame per second: 40 FPS
Loop time: n/a


Just Finite
Just a few finite lakes and puddles
Frames per second: 35 FPS
Loop time: half a second


Finite Ocean
All of default:water_source was converted to finite
Frames per second: 8-20 FPS
Loop time: 30sec - 1 min


Loop time is the time it takes to cycle through all of the finite water nodes.
Basically, it is how long it takes for a node to flow / drop again.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 16:05
by RealBadAngel
imho no point of testing speed of this mod since core version is waitin to be merged
try rather to test this one

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 17:06
by rubenwardy
RealBadAngel wrote:imho no point of testing speed of this mod since core version is waitin to be merged
try rather to test this one


I tested the speed ages ago :D

PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 20:08
by Calinou
GJH105775 wrote:My 3.2ghz processor runs it great


Frequency doesn't do everything these days, number of cores, amount of cache and architecture matter a lot today. :)

rubenwardy wrote:I did do a speed test:


Out of curiosity, what's your CPU and graphcis card?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 17:07
by proller
c++ version merged to core, to use - update and enable in conf -
liquid_finite = true

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 17:06
by rubenwardy
Calinou wrote:
GJH105775 wrote:My 3.2ghz processor runs it great


Frequency doesn't do everything these days, number of cores, amount of cache and architecture matter a lot today. :)

rubenwardy wrote:I did do a speed test:


Out of curiosity, what's your CPU and graphcis card?


CPU: Pentium.
GRAPHICS CARD: built in.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 17:26
by Traxie21
I tried adding liquids_finite = true in minetest.conf (0.4.5 xyz), but nothing happened. afaik.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 18:02
by rubenwardy

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 18:34
by kaeza
Sometimes the water gets stuck when you join after switching to liquids_finite. To fix that, you have to trigger a node update, for example, by digging a node adjacent to a body of water.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 19:10
by Inocudom
kaeza wrote:Sometimes the water gets stuck when you join after switching to liquids_finite. To fix that, you have to trigger a node update, for example, by digging a node adjacent to a body of water.

I have noticed that as well.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 06:58
by ch98
Can I modify this code for my Scientific Mod? This will be great for finite gas if I flip it and make the texture almost invisible.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2013 19:49
by JackGruff
Is it a bit too slow for your liking? You can try to increase the speed of the abm by decreasing the interval of the abm in finite.lua

Not detailed enough? Increase the water_finite_steps property in init.lua


How does one go about changing these now that this mod is stock?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2013 23:23
by Topywo
JackGruff wrote:
Is it a bit too slow for your liking? You can try to increase the speed of the abm by decreasing the interval of the abm in finite.lua

Not detailed enough? Increase the water_finite_steps property in init.lua


How does one go about changing these now that this mod is stock?


You can change liquid settings by putting them in your minetest.conf file.

Look for them in the minetest.conf.example file. Copy the ones you want to use into your minetest.conf file. Change some variables and remove the # from the beginning of the line to get them to work.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 07:58
by rubenwardy
Please notice that this is an old mod, and is not the finite in the Minetest game.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 17:26
by JackGruff
Topywo wrote:Look for them in the minetest.conf.example file. Copy the ones you want to use into your minetest.conf file. Change some variables and remove the # from the beginning of the line to get them to work.


Thanks! Changing the update to something like 0.2 really made it smoother.

Unfortunatly, it doesn't visualise sheer drops very well -- it looks like the water is teleported down a sheer drop, you can't see it falling.

So if you have something like this...

Code: Select all
#      body  #
#      of    #
#      water #
#     ########
#     #
#     #
#######




... water will start appearing at the bottom but you won't see it fall down.

This has smashed my dreams of constructing a secret waterfall entrance that can be opened by blocking the flow using mesecon pistons.

:(

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 22:04
by Topywo
JackGruff wrote:Unfortunatly, it doesn't visualise sheer drops very well -- it looks like the water is teleported down a sheer drop, you can't see it falling.

So if you have something like this...

Code: Select all
#      body  #
#      of    #
#      water #
#     ########
#     #
#     #
#######




... water will start appearing at the bottom but you won't see it fall down.

This has smashed my dreams of constructing a secret waterfall entrance that can be opened by blocking the flow using mesecon pistons.

:(



I'm not sure how to visualize what you mean and don't have much experience with mesecons (except the wires and the blinky plants :-) ), but maybe putting this in the groups of water_flowing and water_source: falling_node=1 (or in a node you create that replaces the node above the secret entrance), you can simulate the falling water.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 07:58
by rubenwardy
Again, this is the wrong topic.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 00:12
by HardcoreFox
In these versions(versions 0.4.8 and 0.4.7), they have finite liquid already.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 00:17
by HardcoreFox
Topywo wrote:
JackGruff wrote:Unfortunatly, it doesn't visualise sheer drops very well -- it looks like the water is teleported down a sheer drop, you can't see it falling.

So if you have something like this...

Code: Select all
#      body  #
#      of    #
#      water #
#     ########
#     #
#     #
#######




... water will start appearing at the bottom but you won't see it fall down.

This has smashed my dreams of constructing a secret waterfall entrance that can be opened by blocking the flow using mesecon pistons.

:(



I'm not sure how to visualize what you mean and don't have much experience with mesecons (except the wires and the blinky plants :-) ), but maybe putting this in the groups of water_flowing and water_source: falling_node=1 (or in a node you create that replaces the node above the secret entrance), you can simulate the falling water.
If you have v0.4.7 or v0.4.8, they will appear. :))