[Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

User avatar
kidmondo
Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 07:56
IRC: kidmondo
In-game: kidmondo
Location: New Zealand

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by kidmondo » Post

Me again :P would you be able to make the flat map have city roads (like roads set already so you could just build a city?)

User avatar
RHR
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by RHR » Post

paramat already created a mod that adds city streets:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9296

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4502
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by Krock » Post

You also can try Sokomines mg_villages mod.
It adds some nice towns to your world.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
superschizo
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 17:08
In-game: uberdorf
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by superschizo » Post

What are the dimensions of this world? I seem to have reached the end of it, so that one without fly privileges enabled would fall off the edge of the world.

User avatar
srifqi
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 04:31
GitHub: srifqi
IRC: srifqi
In-game: srifqi
Location: Indonesia

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by srifqi » Post

superschizo wrote:What are the dimensions of this world?
There are no dimensions in Minetest.
superschizo wrote:I seem to have reached the end of it, so that one without fly privileges enabled would fall off the edge of the world.
No, you can't. The Minetest's collision algorithm forbid that. You can't pass through the edge.
Saya dari Indonesia! · Terjemahkan Minetest! · my mods · My nickname in IPA: /es.rif.qi/

User avatar
superschizo
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 17:08
In-game: uberdorf
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by superschizo » Post

"What are the dimensions of this world?"

There are no dimensions in Minetest.


"I seem to have reached the end of it, so that one without fly privileges enabled would fall off the edge of the world."

No, you can't. The Minetest's collision algorithm forbid that. You can't pass through the edge.

my world must be corrupted then, because my map just drops off and one could fly off and down the edge. how do i fix it?

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4502
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by Krock » Post

superschizo wrote:my world must be corrupted then, because my map just drops off and one could fly off and down the edge. how do i fix it?
Thanks for the report. I fixed that problem and added a new chat command:

Code: Select all

/regenerate (<chunk size>*8)
It requires server privileges and can regenerate/reset areas of up to 64*64*64 nodes.
I updated the links in the first post, it can be found on GitHub now.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
superschizo
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 17:08
In-game: uberdorf
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by superschizo » Post

Thank you Krock for the quick response in posting a fix. Does this work with minetest 0.4.10? I'm using 0.4.10 from the ubuntu software center on ubuntu 14.10, since there is no stable 0.4.11 for download for my OS yet that I'm aware of (I just checked as of 20 Jan 2015). Maybe I am typing the command wrong? /regenerate (<8>*8) I've also tried various variations like "/regenerate 8" "/regenerate (<8>*8)^3" "regenerate (8*8)" and so on...
Image

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4502
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by Krock » Post

Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
superschizo
Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 17:08
In-game: uberdorf
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by superschizo » Post

Image

Thank you for the fix. This is how it turned out on the corrupted map, with the dirt sticking out being the result of the command {/regenerate (100*8)}. It would probably be better for me to use worldedit to paste the stadium into another world, right?

I suspect that the world got corrupted when I used the "fixlight" command from worldedit, minetest had trouble with that and I had to close it.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4502
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by Krock » Post

superschizo wrote:<snip>
Yes, I think saving the building is a better soulation than using /regenerate <size> in all broken areas.
Fixlight was not the problem, a Minetest engine change broke this mod.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

huang11
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:52
IRC: huang
In-game: huang

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by huang11 » Post

why i cant download

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by Topywo » Post

huang11 wrote:why i cant download
Go to post 1. Press: Browse code (to go to GitHub). Press: Download ZIP

senzo53
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 14:02

Re: [Mod] flatgen [100% flat maps]

by senzo53 » Post

Hi guys, i would like to know how to use this mod. I already install it on my "mods folder" on minetest. But i don't understand how i do change my world into a flatland full of grass !

Anyone ? thank you ! :)

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by Sokomine » Post

senzo53 wrote: Hi guys, i would like to know how to use this mod. I already install it on my "mods folder" on minetest. But i don't understand how i do change my world into a flatland full of grass !
You don't need a mod anymore with more recent versions of Minetest. Just choose the mapgen "flat" when creating a new world.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Warrior_4_Christ
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 18:16
GitHub: Warrior-4-Christ
In-game: Warrior_4_Christ
Location: Palm Bay, FL U.S.
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by Warrior_4_Christ » Post

I loaded the mod. Why are there black lines all over the place?
For God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. -- John 3:16 KJV
____
| [] []|
| _>/

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by Chibi ghost » Post

this mod is very very old it's not a good idea to use it
if you delete your world and create a new one look in the magpen you will find a flat magpen amongst them load that instead okay

User avatar
Warrior_4_Christ
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 18:16
GitHub: Warrior-4-Christ
In-game: Warrior_4_Christ
Location: Palm Bay, FL U.S.
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by Warrior_4_Christ » Post

Chibi ghost wrote:this mod is very very old it's not a good idea to use it
if you delete your world and create a new one look in the magpen you will find a flat magpen amongst them load that instead okay
Yeah I tried using that. The only difference between the "flat" mapgen and other mapgens are the profound abundance in trees, and the lack of hills.
For God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. -- John 3:16 KJV
____
| [] []|
| _>/

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4014
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by Sokomine » Post

Warrior_4_Christ wrote: Yeah I tried using that. The only difference between the "flat" mapgen and other mapgens are the profound abundance in trees, and the lack of hills.
The flat mapgen only makes the land flat. If you want no trees, no caves, no dungeons etc., then you need to set the mg_flags variable.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2853
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by TumeniNodes » Post

Warrior_4_Christ wrote:
Chibi ghost wrote:this mod is very very old it's not a good idea to use it
if you delete your world and create a new one look in the magpen you will find a flat magpen amongst them load that instead okay
Yeah I tried using that. The only difference between the "flat" mapgen and other mapgens are the profound abundance in trees, and the lack of hills.
when you use flatgen, you can add the flags for hills and/or lakes

1- create your new world, selecting flat
2- go to the settings tab
3- select server/single player / mapgen / Advanced / Mapgen Flat
4- when you click on Mapgen Flat you will see Mapgen flat specific flags... (click on it)
5- you will see a field appear, click the "edit" button and type lakes,hills
6- click SAVE

Go back to settings page, then select "local game"

start your world and enjoy.

later, there are other ways you can tweak the map to suit your tastes but, start with this first, and then start looking into info related to mapgen.
A good place to ask questions is viewtopic.php?f=47&t=15272
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am

User avatar
bosapara
Member
Posts: 575
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49
GitHub: bosapara
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by bosapara » Post

Any idea how to fix random shadows?

Its old mod topic, btw may be exist better simple mapgen mod for flat world?

Image

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4502
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by Krock » Post

bosapara wrote:Any idea how to fix random shadows?
In older releases shadows occurred when the "light" mapgen param was set. Now it seems to be the opposite. I fixed the bug and also made use of the "flat" mapgen in case the mod is used for a new world.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
bosapara
Member
Posts: 575
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49
GitHub: bosapara
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by bosapara » Post

Krock wrote:
bosapara wrote:Any idea how to fix random shadows?
In older releases shadows occurred when the "light" mapgen param was set. Now it seems to be the opposite. I fixed the bug and also made use of the "flat" mapgen in case the mod is used for a new world.
thanx you very much for updated mod, now shadows works good

How to set settings of limit for 'y'? Im used this y_min = -30, for init.lua, but doesnt work, this (bellow) for config doesnt works too

flatgen.depth = 2
flatgen.limit_y = true
___________________

settings for layers doesnt works too (or i do something wrong)

local layers = {
{ "default:dirt_with_grass", 1 },
{ "default:dirt", 3 },
{ "default:stone", 35 }, -- nil = no limit
{ "default:obsidian", 2 }
-- Fake ignore to generate whenever you want: { "ignore_me", 1 }
}

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4502
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by Krock » Post

bosapara wrote:settings for layers doesnt works too (or i do something wrong)
1) Open "init.lua"
2) Change "if file then" to "if file or true then" to make use of the settings file
3) Join the world, leave it again
4) Edit "flatgen_terrain.txt" inside the world directory to the wanted layers
5) Re-join the world and occasionally run "/deleteblocks here" to regenerate the map

The new flatgen code yet does not allow terrain customization.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
bosapara
Member
Posts: 575
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 08:49
GitHub: bosapara
Contact:

Re: [Mod] flatgen: 100% flat maps [flatgen]

by bosapara » Post

Krock wrote:
bosapara wrote:settings for layers doesnt works too (or i do something wrong)
1) Open "init.lua"
2) Change "if file then" to "if file or true then" to make use of the settings file
3) Join the world, leave it again
4) Edit "flatgen_terrain.txt" inside the world directory to the wanted layers
5) Re-join the world and occasionally run "/deleteblocks here" to regenerate the map

The new flatgen code yet does not allow terrain customization.

all works perfect, thanx you again

would to tell about good function '/regenerate', very useful

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest