[Mod] Oil Mod [1.1.2] [oil]

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

[Mod] Oil Mod [1.1.2] [oil]

by sfan5 » Post

This Mod adds Oil.
Oil will be generated under Water.
You can use Pumps to pump Oil and you can use Pipes to transport it.
If you build a Refinery you can convert Oil into Fuel Buckets.
You can use the Fuel Buckets as Furnace Fuel.
License: GPLv2
Dependencies: default
==Download==
1.1.2dev: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/oil1.1.2dev.zip
1.1dev: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/30267315/oil1.1dev.zip
1.0: http://ubuntuone.com/1eG3mMCC5C9Z8ASglywpOj
==Crafting==
Pump:
Image
Pipe:
Image
Refinery:
Image
==Screenshots==
Oil Deposit under Water:
Image
Pump,Pipes and Refinery:
Image
==TODO-List==
  • Pump Fuel through Pipes | Possible with >= 1.1dev
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Jan 27, 2013 17:28, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
neko259
Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Post

I'm waiting for steampunk to come to minetest :D

Can you make oil power plant for mesecons?
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

Code: Select all

Can you make oil power plant for mesecons?
Working on that...
It will use fuel.
Last edited by Jeija on Mon Feb 06, 2012 17:49, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
neko259
Member
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Post

Working on that...
It will use fuel.
You should make separate downloads for the mesecons itself and plugins for using mesecons with different mods (mesecons-gates, mesecons-oil etc).
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

Yeah that is what I am planning. I think I will also make a mesecons-core pack which only contains the core functions (switches, mesecons itself, pistons, meselamps, inverters (later repeaters);
And also mesecon-standard which contains all mesecons functions without dependencies on other mods.

Well, this is not the mesecons mod topic.
Good Job, sfan5! I think pipes should also be able to transport oil up and down...
And Refineries should add the fuel to their inventory (like chests). I am working on a chest-system for my mesecon-oil generators.
Last edited by Jeija on Mon Feb 06, 2012 18:26, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Jeija wrote:Yeah that is what I am planning. I think I will also make a mesecons-core pack which only contains the core functions (switches, mesecons itself, pistons, meselamps, inverters (later repeaters);
And also mesecon-standard which contains all mesecons functions without dependencies on other mods.

Well, this is not the mesecons mod topic.
Good Job, sfan5! I think pipes should also be able to transport oil up and down...
And Refineries should add the fuel to their inventory (like chests). I am working on a chest-system for my mesecon-oil generators.
[german]
Später soll der Treibstoff noch durch Pipes gepumpt werden
[/german]
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Oil Mod 1.1 Preview:
Image
Last edited by sfan5 on Mon Feb 06, 2012 19:21, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

Can someone help me with the fuel-to-energy-generator?
I am trying to simply create a 1x1 chest you can put fuel in (Or transfer it via pipes);

I'm getting this error when placing the node:

Code: Select all

20:18:28: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: /home/florian/.minetest/usermods/oil/init.lua:536: attempt to call method 'inventory_set_list' (a nil value)
Code:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("oil:generator", {
    tile_images = {"default_lava.png"},
    paramtype = "facedir_simple",
    metadata_name = "generic",
    material = minetest.digprop_stonelike(3.0),
})


minetest.register_on_placenode(function(pos, newnode, placer)
    if newnode.name == "oil:generator" then
    local meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
    meta:inventory_set_list("0", {""}) -- THIS LINE SEEMS TO CAUSE THE ERROR
    meta:set_inventory_draw_spec(
        "invsize[8,9;]list[current_name;0;4,4;1,1;]"
        .."list[current_player;main;0,5;8,4;]"
    )
    
    end
end)
Can someone tell me why this doesn't work??? Seems like it cannot get the meta or something like that.
Anyway, Morechests mod works on with the same minetest version and I can't really see any difference.

Are you missing the whole code? Just past the code above behind the oil mod if you want to help finding the bug.

-----------------
Preview looks promising, sfan5!
Last edited by Jeija on Mon Feb 06, 2012 19:25, edited 1 time in total.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Jeija wrote:Can someone help me with the fuel-to-energy-generator?
I am trying to simply create a 1x1 chest you can put fuel in (Or transfer it via pipes);

I'm getting this error when placing the node:

Code: Select all

20:18:28: ERROR[ServerThread]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: LuaError: error: /home/florian/.minetest/usermods/oil/init.lua:536: attempt to call method 'inventory_set_list' (a nil value)
Code:

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("oil:generator", {
    tile_images = {"default_lava.png"},
    paramtype = "facedir_simple",
    metadata_name = "generic",
    material = minetest.digprop_stonelike(3.0),
})


minetest.register_on_placenode(function(pos, newnode, placer)
    if newnode.name == "oil:generator" then
    local meta = minetest.env:get_meta(pos)
    meta:inventory_set_list("0", {""}) -- THIS LINE SEEMS TO CAUSE THE ERROR
    meta:set_inventory_draw_spec(
        "invsize[8,9;]list[current_name;0;4,4;1,1;]"
        .."list[current_player;main;0,5;8,4;]"
    )
    
    end
end)
Can someone tell me why this doesn't work??? Seems like it cannot get the meta or something like that.
Anyway, Morechests mod works on with the same minetest version and I can't really see any difference.

Are you missing the whole code? Just past the code above behind the oil mod if you want to help finding the bug.

-----------------
Preview looks promising, sfan5!
Try "... metadata_name: 'chest',"
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
rahonejm
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Post

Really enjoyed this mod!
Sorry for possible language mistakes

User avatar
dannydark
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Post

Great mod ^_^ can't wait for the mesecon's support. How long does the oil deposit last? is it infinite or does it run out after some time?

Also I've found a few oil deposits that were just a 1x1 wide above water level and they don't overflow properly (like pictured above) until you build something next to them, is this normal?

EDIT: Nevermind it seems to have just been two of them the rest spread out when I get close ^_^.
Last edited by dannydark on Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

I absolutely love this mod! It's on my server already :D

User avatar
dannydark
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Post

Would it be possible to add rare oil deposits that can be found on land?

EDIT: maybe something like this: http://minecraftbuildcraft.wikia.com/wiki/Oil

Also just put this live on my server and you made a lot of people very happy ^_^ although....I think 2 people are on the verge of war fighting over an oil deposit haha I think its time I add the gun mod.
Last edited by dannydark on Tue Feb 07, 2012 00:54, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

It is conflicting with a lot of other mods and bugs that are in my minetest >~<
I think I gotta redownload it and filter through what I do and don't want..........

User avatar
dannydark
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Post

IPushButton2653 wrote:It is conflicting with a lot of other mods and bugs that are in my minetest >~<
I think I gotta redownload it and filter through what I do and don't want..........
What mods is it conflicting with? also any errors in your debug log?

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

by IPushButton2653 » Post

It has to do with the client I'm using. I downloaded the LoZ Temple of Time thing, and it was the whole client. And it had some weird thing in it that disallowed me to do a lot of normal crafting. Fixed now though

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

Sfan 5:

Code: Select all

Try "... metadata_name: 'chest',"
Not working. Morechests and luafurnace also use metadata name 'general' Any other suggestions?
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

dannydark wrote:Great mod ^_^ can't wait for the mesecon's support. How long does the oil deposit last? is it infinite or does it run out after some time?

Also I've found a few oil deposits that were just a 1x1 wide above water level and they don't overflow properly (like pictured above) until you build something next to them, is this normal?

EDIT: Nevermind it seems to have just been two of them the rest spread out when I get close ^_^.
This is normal.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

dannydark wrote:Would it be possible to add rare oil deposits that can be found on land?

EDIT: maybe something like this: http://minecraftbuildcraft.wikia.com/wiki/Oil

Also just put this live on my server and you made a lot of people very happy ^_^ although....I think 2 people are on the verge of war fighting over an oil deposit haha I think its time I add the gun mod.
I'll probably add this in 1.1
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4527
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

can't we just have a oil rush and old western texture pack, so it could be like cowboys looking for black gold.

so it can be themed.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

New Preview Picture:
Image
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
dannydark
Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Post

Ah man I can't wait ^_^

I wish we had the ability to add custom interfaces via lua so we could have a type of generator that would work like a furnace but would have a fuel level gauge :D

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post


User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3963
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Thanks!
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
rahonejm
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Post

New release! Oh man it's going to be awesome!
Sorry for possible language mistakes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests