[Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Wed Sep 05, 2012 21:09

@cisoun of course you may
another info for you not to make same mistake I did, first I tried to loop to whole chunk x,z ... wich is way to slow.

Current algorithm partitions chunk (roughly) in square areas based uppon tree distance and randomly tries to place a tree within this area. I say tries because I do 5 attempts and check those positions if they match some attributes I require to place a tree there. If after 5 attempts no tree can't be placed I skip.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

Spots
Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:12
Location: Outta my mind someplace.

by Spots » Wed Sep 05, 2012 22:20

i tested it today also and i like it a lot great job
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Thu Sep 06, 2012 19:47

I'm sorry to disappoint you but this mod needs major code rework until I see any chance celeron will accept it for default game. I'm currently reworking code for a growing_cactus mod and at some functions code is really horrible.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Sep 10, 2012 00:02

Leasons Learned on growing_cactus have been included within growing trees making trees even better than before ;-)
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Mon Sep 10, 2012 00:48

In the 0.0.5...the zip file is named "growing cactus" rather than "growing trees". I guess this wasn't intentional. :-)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

by Neuromancer » Mon Sep 10, 2012 01:45

VanessaE wrote:In the 0.0.5...the zip file is named "growing cactus" rather than "growing trees". I guess this wasn't intentional. :-)

Shucks I was really excited to try the new growing trees, so I downloaded it anyway and renamed it to growing trees. Unfortunately it blew up because I think it really is a link to the cactus mod and not the tree mod.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Mon Sep 10, 2012 02:16

It indeed is the cactus mod, though I found out a little less ... unceremoniously than you did :-)

(I tried to craft two sapling -> one growing tree sapling, which gave no result)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Sep 10, 2012 09:18

Sorry I messed up the links, fixed it.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

sysedit
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Fri Sep 14, 2012 20:36

The download-service you are using is making me throw up so I have mirrored the newest release.
http://media.w3-net.de/growing_trees-0.0.5.zip
 

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

by Neuromancer » Sat Sep 15, 2012 02:13

The growing cactii look beautiful, even while in the process of growing. The growing trees not as much. For example, what I'm seeing is a trunk that grows to about 12 high with a really small clump of leaves at the top. So it looks like a cotton swab. Then after a while small nubs grow out. That might be good for a cactus but not for a tree. I was looking at real trees, and their branches aren't a bunch of horizontal, lshaped and vertical branches. they are more 45% angle and straight up branches, and the branching starts fairly low down like this:

| \ |
\ | |
\ | /
H
H


And also a lot more leaves around all the branches, but not the lower trunk.
Last edited by Neuromancer on Sat Sep 15, 2012 02:14, edited 1 time in total.
 

sysedit
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Sat Sep 15, 2012 05:04

Neuromancer wrote:The growing cactii look beautiful, even while in the process of growing. The growing trees not as much. For example, what I'm seeing is a trunk that grows to about 12 high with a really small clump of leaves at the top. So it looks like a cotton swab. Then after a while small nubs grow out. That might be good for a cactus but not for a tree. I was looking at real trees, and their branches aren't a bunch of horizontal, lshaped and vertical branches. they are more 45% angle and straight up branches, and the branching starts fairly low down like this:

| \ |
\ | |
\ | /
H
H


And also a lot more leaves around all the branches, but not the lower trunk.

I agree to that. Though my trees are not very big as of now. And I must say I am quite satisfied at what this mod already supplies at this early stage of development.

I have another feature request. Can you instead of crafting the mods saplings with two saplings use the original saplings. It seems to make a lot more sense.
 

sysedit
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Sat Sep 15, 2012 07:02

Timber mod will not work with growing trees. Since it will only remove "default:jungletree", "default:papyrus", "default:cactus", "default:tree" that are stacked. I am reporting this here because I think there should be a way to not have a world where A lot of trees have a missing trunk below and unreachable wood above and growing_trees does not address this Problem as of yet. Rewriting part of timber is definitive an option. Atm if you just add growing_tree-nodes to timber it will leave you with the trunk missing and the sprout intact. From the code I would say it leaves branches, too. All in all very unsatisfactory atm.
 

sysedit
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:53

by sysedit » Sat Sep 15, 2012 07:37

Somebody did write code to make timber compatible with growing trees here http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1590&p=2
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:31

@sysedit @Neuromancer growing trees aren't expected to grow that way I'll have a look whats wrong with it. They should grow branches as soon as thei reach a height of 4.
Last edited by sapier on Sun Sep 16, 2012 11:32, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Sep 16, 2012 19:02

@all trees should look much better in growth by this version pleas tell me if they don't
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
BrandonReese
Member
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 00:44
Location: USA
GitHub: bremaweb
IRC: BrandonReese
In-game: BrandonReese

by BrandonReese » Mon Sep 17, 2012 18:48

My trees are growing through a stone structure, is there a fix for that yet? I have one next to a building and the limbs and leaves are replacing some of the stone blocks.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Sep 17, 2012 19:03

@BrandonReese I'll have a look at it that shouldn't happen of course
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

fgr
Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 08:22

by fgr » Mon Sep 17, 2012 22:35

got crashed while using this mod. some Value where set to NIL, i guess it was the max height .... should be picked up as bug :)
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Mon Sep 17, 2012 23:06

can you please supply a crash log finding "some values" where nil is a little bit difficult
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

fgr
Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 08:22

by fgr » Mon Sep 17, 2012 23:51

Code: Select all
01:50:02: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...minetest_game/mods/growing_trees/trunk_functions.lua:121: attempt to perform arithmetic on local 'height' (a nil value)
01:50:02: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:

In thread 7fa52956d740:
/build/buildd/minetestc55-0.4.3/src/main.cpp:1741: int main(int, char**): Assertion '0' failed.
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7fa52956d740:
#0  int main(int, char**)
(Leftover data: #1  Dedicated server branch)
(Leftover data: #2  virtual void ServerMap::save(ModifiedState))
(Leftover data: #3  virtual void ServerMap::saveBlock(MapBlock*))
(Leftover data: #4  void ItemStack::serialize(std::ostream&) const)
Aborted (core dumped)


Does that helps?
Last edited by fgr on Mon Sep 17, 2012 23:52, edited 1 time in total.
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Tue Sep 18, 2012 05:05

yes that helps thank you!
Last edited by sapier on Tue Sep 18, 2012 05:05, edited 1 time in total.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Tue Sep 18, 2012 05:35

@BrandonReese I've added some additional check please tell me if that doesn't fix your problem.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

Spots
Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:12
Location: Outta my mind someplace.

by Spots » Tue Sep 18, 2012 16:28

hit a bug
12:25:20: VERBOSE[main]: error_message = ServerError: LuaError: error: ....3-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\growing_trees/abms.lua:209: attempt to compare function with number
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Tue Sep 18, 2012 19:53

@spots wow you reached maximum tree size ....
replace line 209 by "if math.random() < 0.1 then" I'll release a fixed version soon
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

Spots
Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:12
Location: Outta my mind someplace.

by Spots » Tue Sep 18, 2012 20:05

hehehe yea for me breaking stuff lol all i did was cut down the default tress and plant yours all around my home because yours makes things look so much nicer IMO
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest