[Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:16

4aiman: any element of growing trees is already a special nodes they just drop default nodes if you dig them in order to avoid bloating up game by differend sorts of wood
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26
Location: where we don't speak english.

by Mossmanikin » Fri May 24, 2013 06:30

Testing this mod right now.
Love it so far!

Noob 4 life!
My stuff
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

by dgm5555 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 09:52

I'm using minetest 0.4.9, and growing_trees 0.0.9
I have been running growing_trees in a world for a perhaps 5 hours in real time (whatever that is in minetest time). However the world now seems to have developed a glitch. This only occurs when the growing_trees.mod is enabled, and can be resolved by disabling growing trees (which unfortunately leaves tree-shaped blocks of unknown nodes around the place)
The first thing is minetest never(?) exits, but sits with a 'shutting down stuff' message which is present much longer than my patience (>10mins).
It has also caused the world borders to get severely restricted to a very small area around the spawn point (perhaps a few hundred nodes in each direction x,y,z with extensions around the trees, and I can't move past that initial boundary. Within that space are a few (probably) maximally sized growing trees. If I turn off the _trees I can go where there are none, exit normally, enable _trees, restart (where there are no trees), and come back, I can travel in and out of the zone normally with no apparent restrictions on world size.
The space changes exact nodes, but are roughly similar in size. The jpg shows the edges of the world, I am at maximal flying height pressed against one of the invisible 'walls' (ie it won't let me fly any higher or further away)
Image
Last edited by dgm5555 on Sat Apr 26, 2014 07:46, edited 1 time in total.
 

bajanhgk
Member
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 16:31
Location: The World Of Darkness
In-game: bajanhgk

by bajanhgk » Thu Apr 17, 2014 15:21

a tree which i can do a house treehouse style
Last edited by bajanhgk on Thu Apr 17, 2014 15:21, edited 1 time in total.
Just a Loner In the Winds which Blow Endlessly towards Death
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by sapier » Thu May 01, 2014 14:43

dgm5555 do I understand correct that your problem is your world stops loading and you can't close minetest once this happens?
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by dgm5555 » Tue May 06, 2014 13:33

@sapier: yes - it essentially freezes the world and won't draw or allow access beyond those limited boundaries (but works fine within the boundary). If you disabled the trees then moved elsewhere it reocurred when you re-enabled them and returned to that location (or similar with some growing trees in it). Minetest also never shut down when attempting to exit.
Just a thought: I never tried teleporting out to see what happened, I'll give it a go sometime...
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by sapier » Tue May 06, 2014 20:11

sounds like some sort of endless loop triggered, sorry but I didn't have time to check yet
 

Zeppelin
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 16:27

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Zeppelin » Wed May 27, 2015 16:40

sapier wrote:sounds like some sort of endless loop triggered, sorry but I didn't have time to check yet

i've checked the source and found something, that worked for me:

file branch_functions.lua line 145:
Code: Select all
 if not contains(branch,value) and

does'nt work like expected and so i replaced it with the following line ...
Code: Select all
 if not contains_pos(branch,value) and


... and wrote a new function to do the right check:
Code: Select all
function contains_pos(branch, value)
  for _, element in pairs(branch) do
    growing_trees_debug("verbose","Growing_Trees: testing " .. printpos(value) .. "(" .. dump(value) .. ") vs " .. printpos(element) .. " evals " .. dump((printpos(value) == printpos(element))))
    if printpos(value) == printpos(element) then
      return true
    end
  end
  return false
end


sorry for reactivating this old thread
 

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
 
Posts: 416
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
Location: Sol 3 (aka earth for you science noobs)
In-game: Diamondknight or diamond_knight

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Diamond knight » Sun May 31, 2015 16:45

Code: Select all
:default:tree
you could always overide the default trees to become the new trees
Join The United Empire of Ferrum, a new virtual society gaming clan that uses real world military and financial tactics to achieve victory. We are currently looking for new politicians for the clan. [url]theunitedempireofferrum.weebly.com[/url]
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by dgm5555 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 07:44

Zeppelin wrote:i've checked the source and found something, that worked for me:

Thanks I'll give it a try thou haven't used minetest much recently. I've always been a bit sad growing trees didn't work for larger worlds.
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by dgm5555 » Sat Jun 20, 2015 09:21

Cool, with a quick test it seems that it's not freezing like it used to.
However while watching them, I noticed the leaf nodes appear and disappear every few seconds, so the tree looks a bit like christmas lights blinking. Is there any way to change this so they only appear and disappear slowly like a normal tree?
EDIT: looks like that can be adjusted in abms.lua at then end is the growing and removing leaves which I think is better slowed down. from line 272,273 I changed to:-
Code: Select all
       interval = 25,
        chance = 60,


I also didn't like the default trunk texture which meant the ends of branches looked like they'd been cut off, so I edited lines 16-23 in nodes.lua to eliminate the _top texture:
Code: Select all
local textures_trunk = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xx = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_zz = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xpzp = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xmzm = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xmzp = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xpzm = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}

 

Zeppelin
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 16:27

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Zeppelin » Sat Aug 01, 2015 19:37

dgm5555 wrote:Cool, with a quick test it seems that it's not freezing like it used to.

good to know

is it possible to update the repository or have someone to fork it?
 

Murkle
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 02:56

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Murkle » Wed Mar 30, 2016 03:30

This is a Great mod so far, I do want to know if I increase the growth rate, if so, how do I do so?
-Murkle
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by addi » Sun Jun 12, 2016 08:48

Do you still work on it?

If yes, I have 2 bugs:
WARNING[Server]: Undeclared global variable "current_node" accessed at ...\mods\growing_trees/branch_functions.lua:287

and some nodes (looks like leaves) from the tree does not decay and are not burnable.
 

User avatar
Kreaton
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 16:46
IRC: Kreatons Kreaton
In-game: Kreaton Kreatons

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Kreaton » Sat Jan 07, 2017 23:56

What do I do when this happens, I've got no idea what any of this means.
http://imgur.com/a/V2bQS
Kreaton: accusative singular present nominal passive participle of krei
 

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
 
Posts: 2157
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by kaeza » Sun Jan 08, 2017 08:31

Kreaton wrote:What do I do when this happens, I've got no idea what any of this means.
http://imgur.com/a/V2bQS

You must name the folder "growing_trees", not "growingtrees".

Also note that this mod is quite old. It's not guaranteed to work. If it doesn't, read the other posts and try the proposed changes if you haven't already done so.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal | BTC: 1DFZAa5VtNG7Levux4oP6BuUzr1e83pJK2
 

sapier
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by sapier » Mon Jan 23, 2017 22:53

I've just pushed latest code to github and added your fixes. I haven't tested it by now but I intend to fix at least all issues related to "recent" minetest changes.
Feel free to write issues on github if you encounter bugs:

https://github.com/sapier/growing_trees
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by addi » Tue Jan 24, 2017 03:42

Some Days ago I also started to fix some bugs with this mod:
https://bitbucket.org/kingarthursteam/g ... ommits/all
If you want, you can use this codebase, it would save you some hours of work ;-)
 

Previous

Return to Old Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest