WorldPainter support?

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Wed Feb 15, 2017 16:40

Also, I have the basic game running, but I'm trying to compile it myself because that would make it much easier to test my understanding of the source code. I'm having trouble though. I'm compiling it with MinGW, and it gets to the minetest object file stage, but it won't link with the precompiled binaries I downloaded of the libraries, presumably because they are meant for MSVC.

Are there precompiled versions of the libraries for MinGW? What is the easiest way to build Minetest (and minetest_game) on Windows 10, for someone not in possession of Microsoft Visual Studio?
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Wed Feb 15, 2017 17:38

What does Minetest do if it encounters unknown node names in the map? Will it crash, ignore them, or display them as some standard block? Will it keep the unknown node, or will it remove it?
 

User avatar
Krock
Member
 
Posts: 3577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Krock » Wed Feb 15, 2017 17:43

The libraries that are labeled as "pre-compiled libraries" are indeed compiled with MSVC (2010) for 32-bit MSVC builds only. I'd be surprised when one gets it working with MinGW.

Check out the buildbot script. That script and the 32-bit pendant download cross-compiled libraries for MinGW and compile the binary automatically.

Captain_Chaos wrote:What does Minetest do if it encounters unknown node names in the map? Will it crash, ignore them, or display them as some standard block? Will it keep the unknown node, or will it remove it?

In-game they get the "unknown node" texture. When you dig them, they will convert to an "unknown item", which can not be used anywhere but it's still possible to get its original name (whatever it was before it turned into an unknown thing).
Newest Win32 builds - Find a mod - All my mods
ALL YOUR DONATION ARE BELONG TO PARAMAT (Please support him and Minetest)
New DuckDuckGo !bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1060
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany

Re: WorldPainter support?

by twoelk » Wed Feb 15, 2017 17:51

+ some unknown blocks on a server
Attachments
screenshot_105553239.jpg
(375.76 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: WorldPainter support?

by sofar » Wed Feb 15, 2017 19:08

Captain_Chaos wrote:In other words, which could I leave out because they are optional or Minetest will generate them itself if they are missing?


Everything is optional. I have a test case that runs a minetest server only from an empty folder. So all you'd have to do is create (on Linux) ~/.minetest/worlds/new_world/ and put stuff in there.

Code: Select all
$ mkdir ~/.minetest/worlds/new_world_test
$ minetestserver --world ~/.minetest/worlds/new_world_test --gameid minetest_game

(runs)
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Thu Feb 16, 2017 20:26

Well this all sounds very encouraging. I think I can come up with something relatively simple, yet useful. I'll probably support v25 of the serialization format, the sqlite backend and the minecraft_game block set (insofar as they overlap with Minecraft), at least initially. I'll need people to test once I have something up and running. I don't know when that will be yet, but I'll keep you guys posted.
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: WorldPainter support?

by TheReaperKing » Thu Feb 16, 2017 21:45

My students and I would be happy to test it!
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com

Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com

Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: belgum
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Fri Feb 17, 2017 13:06

I would love to test it!
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) i love pixels and voxels ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: WorldPainter support?

by sfan5 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 14:32

About required files you should be fine with only map.sqlite, world.mt and map_meta.txt (for disabling the default mapgen).
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke
Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Sun Feb 19, 2017 17:21

What is the "ignore" block for? When should I be generating it instead of air blocks?
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Nore » Sun Feb 19, 2017 17:28

"ignore" is used for unloaded blocks or nodes. You should never generate it.
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Sun Feb 19, 2017 18:11

That is nice and clear, thanks. I will refrain for now. ;)
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: belgum
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:59

Captain_Chaos wrote:That is nice and clear, thanks. I will refrain for now. ;)


Can you post updates on progress? I'm really curious in the process behind the scenes
It's the good opportunity to ask now :)
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) i love pixels and voxels ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Mon Feb 20, 2017 14:47

Nore wrote:"ignore" is used for unloaded blocks or nodes. You should never generate it.

Should it exist on disk? The reason I know about it is that I see it in a dumps of a test map I made with Minetest. Usually the only other nodes in the block are leaf or air nodes.

I'm curious how it is used, exactly, as there might be circumstances in which it would be useful for WorldPainter to generate them, for example perhaps around the edges of the generated area for objects which extrude outside the generated area.
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Nore » Mon Feb 20, 2017 15:07

Hmm, I am surprised that it may even exist on disk. You can try to do as you say, but beware that it may have strange consequences, so try to avoid it if possible.
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Mon Feb 20, 2017 17:12

Nore wrote:Hmm, I am surprised that it may even exist on disk. You can try to do as you say, but beware that it may have strange consequences, so try to avoid it if possible.

Maybe some day; it seems clear that initially I shouldn't bother with it. But if it's not supposed to exist on disk you might want to look into that, as I'm seeing it quite a lot. Let me know if you need details.
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Mon Feb 20, 2017 17:16

Krock wrote:Check out the buildbot script. That script and the 32-bit pendant download cross-compiled libraries for MinGW and compile the binary automatically.

What environment is that script made for? I'm trying to compile Minetest on Windows.
 

Previous

Return to Minetest-related projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest