Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

burli wrote:
sofar wrote:
burli wrote:I have a "low end" Intel system with an Intel x5-Z8350 QuadCore 1.44Ghz (1.92GHz) . Don't get more than 30fps
wow, so you can play the game, then?
My main PC is a little bit stronger. I just wonder how you can get 60fps. Or is it a faster CPU? i3? i5?
Lower the quality in the settings? :D

User avatar
GreenXenith
Member
Posts: 1356
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
GitHub: GreenXenith
Location: UTC-8:00
Contact:

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by GreenXenith » Post

I have 8 cores and 8 gigs of memory. I get 60 fps (though I could get more if I raised my MAX_FPS) with 100 viewrange, and 30fps if I have another CPU-consuming task open (ie. Blender or YouTube). No idea how it does it, but it does. Though, I am told Minetest doesn't utilize my cores. I will ask a question about that on General Discussion.
YouTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord @greenxenith

You should not be able to read this message.

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Fixer » Post

Intel Core i3 + AMD HD6870 on fresh vanilla world on default settings +vrange 240 can get above 100 fps easily, but experience is ruined/reduced by lots of stuttering (at least on my system, not all PC users have that). This is mitigated by new "mesh_generation_interval" option in upcoming 0.4.16 that allows to reduce the stutter a lot by slowing down mesh updates, game is very much playable in singleplayer and in multiplayer as well.

Multiplayer servers (most of them are modded ofc because... usual reasons) - fps can go down a lot, I'm playing with v_range 160 on mp servers and fps can be very different, from 20 to 100+, spawns are particularly heavy. Disabling shaders adds 10% more fps at least on my ATI. MC + optifine has much better performance though... but minetest performance has also improved a looot since recent times, after inclusion of VBO patch, SFS shaders, lots of optimisations done...

Looking forward to test this client on windows, I hope it can display more than 30 blocks of vrange.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7507
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

it looks very nice, shading is gone, maybe needs a bigger render distance and more contrast
Gone, but not dead. Contact me on discord: azekill_DIABLO#6565
DMs are always open if you want to get in touch!

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:it looks very nice, shading is gone, maybe needs a bigger render distance and more contrast
Playing around with rendering techniques for performance :) Will be customizable

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7507
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

ok :) you alredy did the biggest ! it's awesome!
Gone, but not dead. Contact me on discord: azekill_DIABLO#6565
DMs are always open if you want to get in touch!

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

Translated nodeboxes to vertextriangles (still needs work)+ facedir + completely reworked how mapblocks get drawn for performance -> everything gets processed async from gamethread now (still needs work)... New video in first post...

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2146
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by sofar » Post

Vibrocil wrote:New video of the connection to my modded server... Still ALOT of work todo as improvement in stabillity and actually handeling custom models. But for me it was a big issue and so a big step forward.
You're going to end up reading so much code to implement this all correctly, effectively you're copying LGPL code.

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

Considering I'm writing in c# and not c++ and working on a different game engine, I cannot really copy anything... Not knowing for sure but I don't think nodeboxes, b3d files or obj files are being translated to vertex triangles in the original code... Also consider I'm swapping everything between little endian and big endian for the network protocol and not using most of the libraries minetest does like GMP... To keep it portable Xamarin style, one dll for all platforms...

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

A lot of work later video in first post :)

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

Wrestled fast to the formspec's... Urho-Engine does not allow to put an image directly over another one... :(

--> Or I don't know how to... YET

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

Update on the formspec's overcomming some more of urhosharp's limitations... New video in first post...

User avatar
MineYoshi
Member
Posts: 5373
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 13:20
Contact:

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by MineYoshi » Post

Looks like it's handling the formspecs well...
Looks like you are trying hard for it to work.
+1
Have a nice day! :D

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

MineYoshi wrote:Looks like it's handling the formspecs well...
Looks like you are trying hard for it to work.
+1
Idd it does, solved the moving objects glitch yesterday too. It's almost starting to look like a real game :D

Vibrocil
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:32
In-game: Michiel

Re: Rebuild from scratch on Xamarin, different engine...

by Vibrocil » Post

B3D Model glitch solved, moving object glitch solved, video in first post as ussual... :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests