Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by Sergey » Mon Jan 16, 2017 21:10

taikedz wrote:you did "mkdir dir1; cd dir1"

There is no colors.txt in that dir1. An executable "that uses files in the current/local directory" uses the current dir in which you run the command, not the data from the dir in which it resides.

I know what current directory is. And I didn't confuse anything.

taikedz wrote:You want to execute
Code: Select all
minetestmapper --colors $PATH_TO_COLOURS_TXT <and the rest of your stuff>

I just want not to deal with colors.txt at all if I don't want to paint my map in some special way.
minetestmapper should use its own default settings.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by sfan5 » Wed Jan 18, 2017 15:40

Sergey wrote:
sfan5 wrote:How did you install minetestmapper and which version did you install?


I installed minetestmapper from AUR [https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/minetestmapper-git/] this standard way.

Unfortunately the AUR package installs minetestmapper incorrectly, please install it manually from source in the meantime.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by Sergey » Tue Jan 31, 2017 19:48

sfan5 wrote:
Sergey wrote:
sfan5 wrote:How did you install minetestmapper and which version did you install?


I installed minetestmapper from AUR [https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/minetestmapper-git/] this standard way.

Unfortunately the AUR package installs minetestmapper incorrectly, please install it manually from source in the meantime.

AUR package was corrected. Now it draws map without necessary colors.txt.

But it wasn't an upgrade. I had to uninstall program, clear package cache, and then install program again.
 

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by Sergey » Tue Jan 31, 2017 19:54

Now there are new problems with generating maps of newly generated worlds.

If I create new world (name: s1, mapgen: valleys), start (play) it, turn around without making any steps, exit it, and then launch in terminal minetestmapper, then I get that situation:

Code: Select all
$ minetestmapper --geometry -5000:-5000+10000+10000 --draworigin  -i ~/.minetest/worlds/s1/ -o s1.1.png
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::out_of_range'
  what():  sizecheck y
Аварийный останов (стек памяти сброшен на диск)
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by sfan5 » Thu Feb 02, 2017 21:56

I can't reproduce this problem, however it should go away if you compile minetestmapper in Release mode.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
Sergey
Member
 
Posts: 784
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 13:28
Location: Russia

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by Sergey » Fri Mar 17, 2017 21:48

I have reasonable questions about minetestmapper.

Does minetestmapper take into account floatlands?
What kind of maps minetestmapper generates in case of view from above?
Will view from above cover what is on the ground?
How to dintigiush projection of floatlands from what is on the ground?
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by twoelk » Sat Mar 18, 2017 14:15

Sergey wrote:I have reasonable questions about minetestmapper.

Does minetestmapper take into account floatlands?
What kind of maps minetestmapper generates in case of view from above?
Will view from above cover what is on the ground?
How to dintigiush projection of floatlands from what is on the ground?


quick answer:
1. yes
2. a view from above (as far above as air nodes have been generated)
3. yes
4. you cannot (at least not easily, you may want to try out hightmap options)

sollution:
you can tell the mapper where to begin mapping, left, right, front, back, up and down
README.rst wrote:
Code: Select all
min-y:
    Don't draw nodes below this y value, e.g. ``--min-y -25``

max-y:
    Don't draw nodes above this y value, e.g. ``--max-y 75``
 

User avatar
krokoschlange
Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 08:33
Location: get_author_pos() ~= get_viewer_pos()
GitHub: krokoschlange
In-game: krokoschlange

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by krokoschlange » Thu Aug 10, 2017 14:40

Code: Select all
CMakeFiles/minetestmapper.dir/Image.cpp.o: In Funktion `Image::save(std::__cxx11::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&)':
Image.cpp:(.text+0x9af): Nicht definierter Verweis auf `gdImagePng'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
CMakeFiles/minetestmapper.dir/build.make:279: die Regel für Ziel „minetestmapper“ scheiterte
make[2]: *** [minetestmapper] Fehler 1
CMakeFiles/Makefile2:67: die Regel für Ziel „CMakeFiles/minetestmapper.dir/all“ scheiterte
make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/minetestmapper.dir/all] Fehler 2
Makefile:149: die Regel für Ziel „all“ scheiterte
make: *** [all] Fehler 2


It seems to be similar to this one:
sfan5 wrote:
stormchaser3000 wrote:i got a compile error with the version in the top post (i might try sfan5's fork) and i got this
Code: Select all
        CMakeFiles/minetest_mapper.dir/TileGenerator.cpp.o: In function `TileGenerator::writeImage(std::string const&)':
        TileGenerator.cpp:(.text+0x22e9): undefined reference to `gdImagePng'
        collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
        make[2]: *** [minetest_mapper] Error 1
        make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/minetest_mapper.dir/all] Error 2
        make: *** [all] Error 2



Make sure you have a libgd version with png support installed.

What I did:
    Build libpng
    run ./config in the libgd folder: It said it would use libpng for png support
    build libgd
    build minetestmapper
What did I do wrong?
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by sfan5 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 13:18

If you have built libgd on your own you either need to make sure to install it system-wide or point minetestmapper to the correct path using -DLIBGD_INCLUDE_DIR= or -DLIBGD_LIBRARY=.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
krokoschlange
Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 08:33
Location: get_author_pos() ~= get_viewer_pos()
GitHub: krokoschlange
In-game: krokoschlange

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by krokoschlange » Fri Aug 11, 2017 15:24

sfan5 wrote:If you have built libgd on your own you either need to make sure to install it system-wide or point minetestmapper to the correct path using -DLIBGD_INCLUDE_DIR= or -DLIBGD_LIBRARY=.

Still the same error :(
I built libgd 2.2.4 with libpng 1.6.31, these should be the newest versions ... and ofc latest mtmapper
 

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by BirgitLachner » Sun Nov 05, 2017 15:04

What about this error?

Code: Select all
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'ZlibDecompressor::DecompressError


Is it a problem with png?
My husband (Linux-Pro) thinks that usually at Debian the png-support should be "installed".

Thanks ... Birgit
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by sfan5 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 22:10

Nope unrelated to PNG, that error usually points towards invalid data inside the map.sqlite
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by twoelk » Tue Nov 07, 2017 17:18

isn't the same error thrown when the mapper tries to load and unzip another mapblock and can't because it runs into memory issues? Try mapping a smaller area, if it still happens I was wrong :-P

or if you got lots of time, by some sort of clever mapping bisecting you can pinpoint the corrupt area
 

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by BirgitLachner » Tue Nov 07, 2017 18:46

I can try it, but the error was not inside the area I wanted to map. I teleported myself to this place but there was nothing special there and I think that haven't been there before. I even used the command "/deleteblocks here" to rebuild the area. But the problem was the same.

Can I "repair" the database. Is there a command?

Birgit
 

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: Minetestmapper rewritten into C++

by BirgitLachner » Fri Nov 10, 2017 18:10

I found the --geometry option and tried a smaller area but I got the same error.
 

Previous

Return to Minetest-related projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests