Node Box Editor [0.9.2]

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: NodeBoxEditor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by Napiophelios » Sun Oct 01, 2017 16:05

NBE has a feature to export as a mesh obj
but when I try to use it looks very weird in game
sides seem to be missing / invisible

When I put the object in blender these sides appear black
while the others are grey.

when I open the object in notepad++
I can't see much difference to that of a blender object

Is there a fix for this?
Is there a way to use blender to complete the process?

EDIT : forgot to mention, I am using Krocks windows build,
incase this is a factor maybe?

EDIT2 : Alright this is actually a pretty easy fix :)
Found the answer at Blender stack exchange
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: Hopefully very far from yours, snoop :P
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf

Re: NodeBoxEditor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by Lone_Wolf » Wed Nov 22, 2017 02:04

When trying to reopen a saved project I get this:
Image
EDIT: I am using Windows 7
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5539
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: NodeBoxEditor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by rubenwardy » Wed Nov 22, 2017 02:13

Sorry, I can't offer support for Windows. I suggest making sure the resources the editor needs are available. Make sure the zip is extracted. Make sure you run the exe directly in the folder by double clicking.
 

derixithy
New member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 19:16
GitHub: derixithy
In-game: derixithy

Re: NodeBoxEditor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by derixithy » Wed Feb 07, 2018 18:17

I don't know if you are planning to make a next version but it would be nice if you could add the ability to create a transparent png from the perspective view of the node. Then we could use that for the inventory mage.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: NodeBoxEditor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by Linuxdirk » Wed Feb 07, 2018 21:21

Lone_Wolf wrote:When trying to reopen a saved project I get this:

I’m on Linux and when I load an unaltered project I get this too, sometimes (and other functional and visual glitches). When I remove anything from the first line so that there is only MINETEST NODEBOX EDITOR in that line (i.e. remove the first bytes of the file that indicate what it is) I can open the file without any issues in 100 percent of all tests.

Maybe this helps on Windows, too. Simply edit the file with a proper text editor like Notepad++ and remove the first characters in that file.
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 1979
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: Hopefully very far from yours, snoop :P
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf

Re: NodeBoxEditor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by Lone_Wolf » Wed Feb 07, 2018 21:49

Linuxdirk wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:When trying to reopen a saved project I get this:

I’m on Linux and when I load an unaltered project I get this too, sometimes (and other functional and visual glitches). When I remove anything from the first line so that there is only MINETEST NODEBOX EDITOR in that line (i.e. remove the first bytes of the file that indicate what it is) I can open the file without any issues in 100 percent of all tests.

Maybe this helps on Windows, too. Simply edit the file with a proper text editor like Notepad++ and remove the first characters in that file.

Will try it. Thanks!
 

User avatar
StarNinjas
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 00:32
Location: aincrad
GitHub: starninjas
IRC: StarNinjas
In-game: J1
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5539
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk
 

User avatar
ANAND
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:54
Location: India
GitHub: ClobberXD
IRC: ANAND
In-game: ANAND ClobberXD [A-Za-z]+Tomato

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by ANAND » Mon Apr 09, 2018 15:16

Is it possible to make multi-block node-boxes with this tool? I'm sorry if this is a duplicate, as I haven't skimmed through every post in this topic.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5539
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by rubenwardy » Mon Apr 09, 2018 15:17

You can make nodes which are bigger than a node, and you can create multiple nodes. It doesn't automatically generate the code to place another node with a node however
 

User avatar
ANAND
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:54
Location: India
GitHub: ClobberXD
IRC: ANAND
In-game: ANAND ClobberXD [A-Za-z]+Tomato

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by ANAND » Mon Apr 09, 2018 15:19

rubenwardy wrote:You can make nodes which are bigger than a node, and you can create multiple nodes.

OK Thanks!

rubenwardy wrote:It doesn't automatically generate the code to place another node with a node however

I don't understand this however... :)
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5539
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by rubenwardy » Mon Apr 09, 2018 15:26

If you make multiple nodes, you need to write the Lua to place them yourself.
 

User avatar
ANAND
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:54
Location: India
GitHub: ClobberXD
IRC: ANAND
In-game: ANAND ClobberXD [A-Za-z]+Tomato

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by ANAND » Mon Apr 09, 2018 15:27

rubenwardy wrote:If you make multiple nodes, you need to write the Lua to place them yourself.

Righty ho! Thanks again!
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5539
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
 

User avatar
ANAND
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:54
Location: India
GitHub: ClobberXD
IRC: ANAND
In-game: ANAND ClobberXD [A-Za-z]+Tomato

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by ANAND » Fri Apr 20, 2018 06:11

rubenwardy, how exactly do I create a node that's larger than 1 block?

It would also be great if created nodes can be exported as entities
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by Linuxdirk » Sat May 05, 2018 16:18

rubenwardy wrote:Now available on AUR: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/nodeboxeditor

When installing from AUR using Yaourt I end up with this:

Image

Clicking File->Open does nothing in UI but opens this in the shell the application was started from:

Image

Shell output on loading:

Code: Select all
$ nodeboxeditor
 _   _           _        ____              _____    _ _ _             
| \ | | ___   __| | ___  | __ )  _____  __ | ____|__| (_) |_ ___  _ __
|  \| |/ _ \ / _` |/ _ \ |  _ \ / _ \ \/ / |  _| / _` | | __/ _ \| '__|
| |\  | (_) | (_| |  __/ | |_) | (_) >  <  | |__| (_| | | || (_) | |   
|_| \_|\___/ \__,_|\___| |____/ \___/_/\_\ |_____\__,_|_|\__\___/|_|   


Looking for the working directory...
/usr/bin
Can't find the working directory!
Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.4
Linux 4.16.6-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Apr 30 12:30:03 UTC 2018 x86_64
Using renderer: OpenGL 4.6.0
GeForce GTX 1080/PCIe/SSE2: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
GLSL version: 4.6
Media Manager created!
Media Manager:
Could not open file of texture: media/texture_terrain.png
Could not open file of texture: media/sky.jpg
Needed 0ms to create OctreeTriangleSelector.(1 nodes, 12 polys)
Could not load font because the file does not exist: media/fontlucida.png
Could not open file of texture: media/flip_x.png
Could not open file of texture: media/flip_y.png
Could not open file of texture: media/flip_z.png
Could not open file of texture: media/rotate_x.png
Could not open file of texture: media/rotate_y.png
Could not open file of texture: media/rotate_z.png
Could not open file of texture: media/gui_scale.png
Could not open file of texture: media/coordinates.png
Could not open file of texture: media/icon_mode_nodebox.png

And on closing:

Code: Select all
Saving to exit.
Tmpdir requested. Gave .tmp/
Failed to save file for unknown reason.

Compiling the latest git version with cmake . && make and starting ./bin/nodeboxeditor ends up with this but file open dialog doesn’t work either.

Image

Edit: Not properly working file dialogs are a result of missing “zenity” dependency in the PKGBUILD. When adding zenity as dependency and updating the package the file open dialogs appear as usual. The rest is still as described.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5539
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by rubenwardy » Sat May 05, 2018 16:31

The first screenshot is because I forgot to add /use/share to the resource search path.

The file->open issue is because it can't find a GUI file open provider, so falls back to the shell. Not sure how to resolve that. NBE uses native file browsers.
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5539
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.0] - Zooming, dynamic snap res

by rubenwardy » Sat May 05, 2018 19:38

0.9.2 Released



  • Added /usr/share/nodeboxeditor to resource search path
  • Added zenity to AUR depends

Linuxdirk: your issues should now be fixed
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1651
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk
 

User avatar
GamingAssociation39
Member
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 16:09
Location: Maryland, USA
GitHub: Gerold55
IRC: Gerold55
In-game: Gerold55

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.2]

by GamingAssociation39 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 17:33

Wh is it when I click to download the editor 0.9.2 it tries to get me to download 0.9.0?
Jesus Is Lord and Savior!!!
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5539
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.2]

by rubenwardy » Fri Jun 29, 2018 17:37

That's the latest version which has changes relevant to windows
 

User avatar
Ta1ls
New member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 19:35
In-game: Tails

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.2]

by Ta1ls » Sat Oct 06, 2018 23:11

if you have the formspec, how do you implement it into the code, do i use all of those numbers (the 6 ones), how do i put it into my code
 

Christian_Soldier
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 17:36
In-game: Christian_Soldier

Re: Node Box Editor [0.9.2]

by Christian_Soldier » Wed Oct 10, 2018 00:37

I used this so many times in mods I may or may not release on to the forums. This is great!
plz see my map from The Stanley Parable. https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=19944&p=0&e=0
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest-related projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron