Minetest monitoring server

Post Reply
User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post


Minetest monitoring server

Public monitoring server for the monitoring mod (viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22472)

Screenshots

Lag stats
Image

Craft stats
Image


Links

Source: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... etest.land

Public monitoring server: https://monitoring.minetest.land

Installation Add the following lines to your minetest.conf:

Code: Select all

secure.http_mods = monitoring
monitoring.prometheus_push_url = https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/metrics/job/minetest/instance/my-cool-server
Replace the my-cool-server part of the url with the name of your server

Stability/Uptime

Should be fairly stable, but might need a backend-change if lots of servers
post their data on it.

Log file spamming

The log files might get spammed every 5 seconds with a HTTP-Info.
This should go away if the issue: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/8525 gets
released in the next minetest version
Last edited by BuckarooBanzay on Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:17, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Update 2019-05-16

I moved the pandorabox server to the hosted monitoring-server (a good example to see whats possible with the monitoring mod):
https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/YUpo ... dorabox.io

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Miniontoby » Post

Looks good!!
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell" Vote your gang

User avatar
Walker
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 09:22
In-game: Walker

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Walker » Post

but it spam the log -.-

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Walker wrote:but it spam the log -.-
It does not in the next release: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/issues/8525 ;)

User avatar
Walker
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 09:22
In-game: Walker

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Walker » Post

if so, be happy
then you will soon have traffic from all my servers;)

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by sofar » Post

What about Player stats? (new players, logins/time etc.)

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

sofar wrote:What about Player stats? (new players, logins/time etc.)
Sure, sounds good, but it is a monitoring tool, not an analytics tool...

New player display will work but only in the form of a graph that shows spikes or a counter that
shows the metric (new players) in a given time range...

I'm still extending the mod and its mod-integrations. The cool thing with the central monitoring server is
that i have to set up the graphs only once and it should work for every server with up-to-date monitoring mods.

EDIT: i'm open for metrics-suggestions btw...

User avatar
twoelk
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by twoelk » Post

BuckarooBanzay wrote:
sofar wrote:What about Player stats? (new players, logins/time etc.)
Sure, sounds good, but it is a monitoring tool, not an analytics tool...

New player display will work but only in the form of a graph that shows spikes or a counter that
shows the metric (new players) in a given time range...

...
I think values of how many players time out and when might be very interesting. Especially if spikes in the other graphs can be compared to the distributation of timeouts. If indeed timeouts can be monitored it might be usefull to distinguish between timouts on joining and those that happen while playing. Those that happen while playing might not only be due to internet connection problems but might also indicate client crashes which could be related to things happening in certain parts of the map.

not an analytics tool?
I bet that is exactly what many people use this for.

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

twoelk wrote: not an analytics tool?
I bet that is exactly what many people use this for.
Yeah, i guess it will be... :P

I started to collect the join/leave/timeout stats and added a dashboard draft:
https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/-o1y ... ts?orgId=1

I'm not sure though that the numbers are right :/
Guess i have to rewrite those queries again..

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Update 2019-07-27

I played around a little with the json api of the minetest server list.
The result is a nice chart with the server and client-count:

Image

Interactive chart: https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/kr34 ... -2d&to=now

(this has nothing to do with the "normal" server monitoring mod, but i thought it belongs here :)

User avatar
Nigel
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri May 03, 2019 09:08
GitHub: nyje
IRC: Nigel
In-game: Nigel
Location: Corinth, Greece

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Nigel » Post

Epic stuff BuckarooBanzay ;-)

I just found this, and after a little poking around, got ADVENTURETIME hooked up. Now I can keep an eye on it.

Thanks a lot for doing this and providing the public monitoring server... You rock 8o)

I'm struggling a bit figuring out how to turn on the mesecons monitoring tho ;-(
My Published Mods: Visual Bots | Symmetool Mirror

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Nigel wrote:I'm struggling a bit figuring out how to turn on the mesecons monitoring tho ;-(
Hey thanks :)

About the mesecons and other stuff:

Turns out i had my dashboards bookmarked/starred and they always pop up immediately in my browser... :/

Here the "procedure" to view the other dashboards:

Got to the left button and click on "Manage":
Image

This is how it should look like:
Image

EDIT: there might be some downtime in the next few weeks (about an hour or so) to migrate to another host...

Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1397
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: bye bye

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Festus1965 » Post

It is a bit unlucky, that after last change of main screen the main wanted lag graphic went down as all windows.

Is it possible to lift up the choice "instance" right of the (or center top row between ...) "Overview" selection, to minimize the black unused area in the 2 head lines?
Minetest has no future

User avatar
Jhalman
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 13:51
IRC: Jhalman
In-game: Jhalman

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Jhalman » Post

How can I install this?
is there an set of instructions somewhere Ive not seen?
Ive got grafana and influxdb running on a host computer and I would like to add this to it but not sure how

Also just to let you know unless you have seen it already but the serverlist is showing no data
https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/kr34eBHWz/serverlist

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Jhalman wrote:How can I install this?
is there an set of instructions somewhere Ive not seen?
Ive got grafana and influxdb running on a host computer and I would like to add this to it but not sure how

Also just to let you know unless you have seen it already but the serverlist is showing no data
https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/kr34eBHWz/serverlist
Setting the mod up is described here:
https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... install.md
(linked from the main readme by the way...)

You need to configure it in the minetest.conf file:

Code: Select all

secure.http_mods = monitoring
monitoring.prometheus_push_url = http://127.0.0.1:9091/metrics/job/minetest/instance/my_server
If you mean the setup of the grafana/prometheus programs: I set them up in containers (docker):
https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... yml#L8-L30

I never did a "bare-metal" installation of those tools but it should be possible....

About the "serverlist" dashboard: yes, i removed the script that feeds the data to it :P (you did not miss much)

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Jhalman wrote:How can I install this?
is there an set of instructions somewhere Ive not seen?
Ive got grafana and influxdb running on a host computer and I would like to add this to it but not sure how

Also just to let you know unless you have seen it already but the serverlist is showing no data
https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/kr34eBHWz/serverlist
You pm'ed me about the installation of the surrounding tools; i wrote a short manual how to install them without docker:
https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... ndalone.md

(warning: it may be a bit complex...;)

User avatar
Jhalman
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 13:51
IRC: Jhalman
In-game: Jhalman

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Jhalman » Post

BuckarooBanzay wrote:
Jhalman wrote:How can I install this?
is there an set of instructions somewhere Ive not seen?
Ive got grafana and influxdb running on a host computer and I would like to add this to it but not sure how

Also just to let you know unless you have seen it already but the serverlist is showing no data
https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/kr34eBHWz/serverlist
You pm'ed me about the installation of the surrounding tools; i wrote a short manual how to install them without docker:
https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... ndalone.md

(warning: it may be a bit complex...;)
Thank you, Thats exactly what I needed
I've got it all setup and working now
However after all the setup was done I noticed that in the dashboard it says in the Instance Menu "localhost:9091" instead of the server name and as far as I can tell I've not missed anything

Code: Select all

monitoring.prometheus_push_url = http://ip_adress:9091/metrics/job/minetest/instance/MeseLands
Image

Do you know why its not showing the server name?

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Jhalman wrote:
BuckarooBanzay wrote:
Jhalman wrote:How can I install this?
is there an set of instructions somewhere Ive not seen?
Ive got grafana and influxdb running on a host computer and I would like to add this to it but not sure how

Also just to let you know unless you have seen it already but the serverlist is showing no data
https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/kr34eBHWz/serverlist
You pm'ed me about the installation of the surrounding tools; i wrote a short manual how to install them without docker:
https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... ndalone.md

(warning: it may be a bit complex...;)
Thank you, Thats exactly what I needed
I've got it all setup and working now
However after all the setup was done I noticed that in the dashboard it says in the Instance Menu "localhost:9091" instead of the server name and as far as I can tell I've not missed anything

Code: Select all

monitoring.prometheus_push_url = http://ip_adress:9091/metrics/job/minetest/instance/MeseLands
Image

Do you know why its not showing the server name?
Strange, no clue... :/
But if you only have one instance you could hardcode the "instance" variable anyway...

User avatar
Jhalman
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 13:51
IRC: Jhalman
In-game: Jhalman

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Jhalman » Post

But if you only have one instance you could hardcode the "instance" variable anyway...
How do I do that?
Also not sure if it changes things but the MT server is not on the same device as the grafana server and all that stuff

Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1397
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: bye bye

Re: Asia Thailand Server => prometheus deleted

by Festus1965 » Post

at my server, the Prometheus is deleted = no using of monitoring
as of even on my fast server is see impact on CPU even not using mod active

I might not imagine how that is on lower hardware and less connection resource ...

(btw 2nd access to forum was fail again ... mhhh, this was 3rd)
Minetest has no future

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by Miniontoby » Post

How to run my own local thing of this (not using monitoring.minetest.land)
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell" Vote your gang

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6271
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by rubenwardy » Post

Please note that Minetest 5.3.0 and later contain built-in support for prometheus monitoring

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Minetest monitoring server

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

rubenwardy wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 13:38
Please note that Minetest 5.3.0 and later contain built-in support for prometheus monitoring
Those are different use-cases: mod-monitoring vs. engine-monitoring

Also: who uses the engine-monitoring anyway?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest