MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

Gael de Sailly wrote:qt5-default is installed on my computer, and that doesn't work.
But I've tried on my laptop (14.04 too). qt5-default wasn't installed, so I've installed it, and surprisingly it works.
hmm thats odd. Maybe it helps if you reinstall it? (sorry, I dont know much about linux)
Gael de Sailly wrote:I still get an impressive quantity of non-fatal error messages: is that normal?
I got them too while compiling in the vm. Maybe you have somehow to tell your compiler to use c++11. But since it says "enabled by default" I would just ignore it.

Ill apply the instructions to install qt5-default to fist post. It could be usefull for other users. Thanks for your patience.

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: gaelysam
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly gaelysam
Location: Voiron, France

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Gael de Sailly » Post

It works, thanks.
Only problem : it always starts with "Select World dir" at /home/gael and "Output image" at /home/gael/maps.png. I can't change that, even when I change the params in profiles/default.ini. What can I do?
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

looks like you found a bug.

The MapperGui calles this functions:
profile.beginGroup("general");//tab1 General
profile.setValue("path_OutputImage", ui->path_OutputImage->text());
profile.setValue("path_World", ui->path_World->text());
profile.setValue("backend",ui->backend->currentIndex());
profile.endGroup();

but Qt stores this information in the profile (seems only happen in ubuntu 14.4)
[%General]
backend=0
path_OutputImage=/home/addi/map.png
path_World=/home/addi/some modified folder

if it reads the profile it does not find "general" so it uses default values.
you could change lines 772 and 807 from profile.beginGroup("general"); to profile.beginGroup("qt_sucks"); to make it work.
Since it looks like a bug of the Qt framework, ill have to do some research about it.

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: gaelysam
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly gaelysam
Location: Voiron, France

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Gael de Sailly » Post

But it works for other settings. Why is there a "%" to "General" and not for other titles?
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

hmm
Qt Documentation wrote:The INI file format has severe restrictions on the syntax of a key. Qt works around this by using % as an escape character in keys. In addition, if you save a top-level setting (a key with no slashes in it, e.g., "someKey"), it will appear in the INI file's "General" section. To avoid overwriting other keys, if you save something using a key such as "General/someKey", the key will be located in the "%General" section, not in the "General" section.
But If it escapes "general" to "%General" than I would assume if I read from "general" it should read from "%General" :-/ It already does this on Windows, but it seems not on Ubuntu 14.4. :-(

There is a bug report, but it got closed a year ago.
https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-31360

Hopefully I can find a workaround, else I would open a new ticket.
Is anybody affected by this not using Ubuntu 14.4? does this occur on other OS too?

Edit: there is a bug report which is still open and unresolved too:
https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-28893

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixer » Post

Please add no installer .zip kinds of downloads. I had to extract exe one with Universal Extractor. It also had no qt.conf which gave me run error about windows. Excellent program though!

Also:
Unknown nodes:
default:acacia_leaves
default:acacia_tree
default:acacia_wood
default:aspen_leaves
default:aspen_tree
default:dirt_with_dry_grass
default:dry_grass_1
default:dry_grass_2
default:dry_grass_3
default:dry_grass_4
default:dry_grass_5
default:fence_junglewood
default:ladder_wood
default:meselamp
default:pine_needles
default:pine_tree
default:river_water_flowing
default:river_water_source
default:sign_wall_wood
default:stone_block
doors:trapdoor_steel
doors:trapdoor_steel_open
flowers:mushroom_brown
flowers:mushroom_red
stairs:slab_acacia_wood
stairs:slab_stone_block

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

Fixerol wrote:Please add no installer .zip kinds of downloads. I had to extract exe one with Universal Extractor.
Was there is something wrong with the Installer? Did it not work? Then please tell me that I can try to fix. I could bundle all files in a Zip file, but this would require much more work then using the Installer. Also the .zip file would not be portable. It would still require a Installation of the MSVCR and use the Registry and %Appdata% to store config and profiles. So thre is no benifit of a Zip file IMO.

Ill update the colors.txt file if I get some more time.

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixer » Post

Thats just my tradition, I avoid installers at all times (since windows software ecosystem is minefield), I extracted it via special tool. Portable version much easier to operate, it worked for me after I added qt.conf from older version.

twoelk
Member
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Post

I just remembered - Addi could you please indeed supply a truly portable version that does not store information within some obscure system folder? I would like to carry the program around with me on a portable harddisk that I can plug into any machine I come along and still use my same settings just as it might be interesting to be able to transfer setting between different installations more easily.

For example I sometimes use the pc at work that is much more powerfull than anything I have at home. I do try to avoid anything writing to the registry of the host system or do try to keep the traces I leave on the host machine at the office to a bare minimum. To achieve this I quite often use software versions from the portableapps.com project. They also come with an installer and have access to an updating system. The file format is described here.

Think of a classroom project where the pupils each have an usb-stick with minetest on it. With this they can use the client in school to acces a school server and maybe use the mapper to explore world files they stored as local copies. After school they go home and likewise play minetest there from their usb-stick again using also the mapper maybe developing a new colors file to showcase something interesting. Back at school they exchange settings files with interesting settings for making maps.

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

I created a ticket about portable mode. https://bitbucket.org/adrido/minetestma ... table-mode
Because I does not want to maintain two versions of MinetestMapperGui my plan is to create a command line argument:

Code: Select all

  -p, --portable  Starts in Portable Mode and writes settings and profiles to
                  current directory
If its set, MinetestMapperGui will use folders relative to the current one. I hope its OK.
I did never realy trust the portableapps.com project. Its really obscure that you require to install a portable program. For myself I would prefer a .zip file over portableapps.com.
@twoelk: If you have more experience and want that with protableappscom, could you please create the package?
Btw: The "obscure system folder" aka AppData is exactly that place where such data does belong to. I would wish Minetest would respect it too.

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

Here is a beta portable package: https://www.magentacloud.de/lnk/5ZM1hZ8m

It has now the command line feature:

Code: Select all

Usage: MinetestMapperGui.exe [options]
This program provides a graphical user interface for minetestmapper. 
If you are looking for the command line interface of minetesmapper please execute minetestmapper directly.

Options:
  -?, -h, --help  Displays this help.
  -v, --version   Displays version information.
  -p, --portable  Starts in portable mode which reads and writes settings and
                  profiles relative to current directory
Please test it and report all errors you find. Please report also if it works great.
Thanks

twoelk
Member
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Post

hmm, when trying on Windows10 I get this:

Code: Select all

Die Version von blahblahblah\MinetestMapperGui.exe ist mit der ausgeführten Windows-Version nicht kompatibel. Überprüfen Sie die Systeminformationen des Computers, und wenden Sie sich anschließend an den Herausgeber der Software.
using this in the batch, so I could see the error message as the console window normally closes instantly

Code: Select all

@start MinetestMapperGui --portable 2>debug.txt
pause
clicking directly on the exe gives me a similar message in white on blue.

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

twoelk wrote:hmm, when trying on Windows10 I get this:

Code: Select all

Die Version von blahblahblah\MinetestMapperGui.exe ist mit der ausgeführten Windows-Version nicht kompatibel. Überprüfen Sie die Systeminformationen des Computers, und wenden Sie sich anschließend an den Herausgeber der Software.
using this in the batch, so I could see the error message as the console window normally closes instantly

Code: Select all

@start MinetestMapperGui --portable 2>debug.txt
pause
odd :-/ I used a windows 10 test computer too and it worked great there. Do you really use a 64bit version?
The instant close is exactly what the start command should doing. Minetestmappergui is (like each other gui application) not able to write into the windows console, so there is no need to keep it open.
What edition of Windows do you use exactly? What Cpu do you have?

twoelk
Member
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Post

oops, 32bit system running on:

Code: Select all

CPU:           AMD Athlon II X4 640 (Propus, BL-C3 (Bloodhound))
               3000 MHz (15.00x200.0) @ 3000 MHz (15.00x200.0)
Motherboard:   MSI 880GM-E43 (MS-7596)
Chipset:       AMD 880G/980G (RS880P) + SB750/SB710
Memory:        4096 MBytes @ 666 MHz, 9-9-9-24
Graphics:      ATI/AMD Radeon HD 4250 (RS880P) [Micro-Star International]
               AMD Radeon HD 4250, 256 MB DDR2 SDRAM

OS:            Microsoft Windows 10 Professional Build 10240.17113
I'll try it on a 64bit system later tonight.
But surely the new version will not be 64bit only?

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

XD yeah that would explain it :)

Of course there will be a x32 version too. But as I already said, zip packages does make more work for me then a Installer. Just had not the time to collect all x32 dlls and zip the folder

twoelk
Member
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Post

so I tried it on a 64bit system ...
it complained about some missing runtime files so I dumped these into the folder the exe resides in
msvcp140.dll
vcruntime140.dll

yay the program started!

but I only had time to try a few configurations.
Spoiler
Image
I was able to create a local profile though.
Spoiler

Code: Select all

[Mapper]
path_minetestmapper=

[%General]
path_OutputImage=O:/ProgramT/games/MineTest/commonfiles/mapper/Map-<world>-<isodate>T<time>.png
path_World=O:/ProgramT/games/MineTest/minetest-0.4.14-win32/worlds/Romans2
backend=0

[area]
scalefactor=0
geometry=1000x1000
geometry_format=center-dimensions
minY=1000
maxY=1000
geometry_granularity=pixel
geometry_sizemode=auto

[heightmap]
generateHeightmap=false
path_HeightmapNodes=./colors/heightmap-nodes.txt
colorHeightmap=
path_HeightmapColors=./colors/heightmap-colors.txt
drawHeightscale=false
heightLevelNull=0

[colors]
path_ColorsTxt=./colors/colors.txt
bgcolor=white
blockcolor=white
scalecolor=black
origincolor=red
playercolor=yellow
tileborderrcolor=black

[features]
drawScaleLeft=false
drawScaleTop=false
drawOrigin=false
drawPlayers=false
drawAlpha=0
drawAir=false
noShading=false

[tiles]
drawTiles=false

Attachments
Zwischenablage-1.png
Zwischenablage-1.png (70.5 KiB) Viewed 1372 times

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

hmm the errorcode -1073741515 or 0xC0000135 means there is some *.dll missing. could you please check the following two things?:
execute minetestmapper.exe without MinetestmapperGui. Does it tell you which dll is missing?
Does it works correctly if you install the vcredist.x64.exe that I delivered inside the zip file?

Thanks for your patience.

twoelk
Member
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by twoelk » Post

started minetestmapper.exe ->it complained msvcr100.dll was missing and failed to start.
installed vc_redist.x64.exe -> minetestmapper had the same issues as before
installed msvcr100.dll -> minetestmapper started and seemed happy
started MinetestMapperGui in portable mode -> worked with no problems
started MinetestMapper from ASuite with parameters (not using the batch file) -> worked and the local profile was used.

so to be truly portable as in "not needing to install anything on the host system" I usually put all files within the MinetestMapper folder. I haven't investigated yet what else vc_redist.x64.exe installed that I might need when I plug my portable device into some other computer that may not be mine and thus would not allow to install anything.

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

Thanks twoelk :-) Because of your help, I found out that the sqlite3.dll still had requirements to msvcr100.dll which I have resolved now.
Back to topic:

I m happy to announce now the first downloads with the option to start in portable mode:

MinetestMapperGui_Portable_x32.zip
7.1 MB
MinetestMapperGui_Portable_x64.zip 8.8 MB
Due to the modular Qt 5.7 and the fact that minetestmapper itself is now build with MSVC too, the file size is much smaller then the first builds. This builds should work pretty stable, but please report any error you find. Thanks.

This packages also contains a MakeColors.exe (source code can be found here: https://bitbucket.org/adrido/makecolors ). This is a tool to generate a colors.txt file out of the nodes.txt file generated by the Minetest mod dumpnodes its experimental and does currently not produce the same colors as the original, but better then nothing. If you want to test it, please do so and report your experiences here. thanks

Have fun!

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixer » Post

It works! Thank you very much.

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
Posts: 1420
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by maikerumine » Post

Fixerol wrote:It works! Thank you very much.
Thank you for pointing me here!!
Talamh Survival Minetest-->viewtopic.php?f=10&t=12959

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by hajo » Post

I tried MinetestMapperGui with the tiny map of TutorialWorld (128x128),
and noticed:

* map features/drawscale: the generated picture is not wide enough to show the last number of the x-axis

* map limits:
** scalefactor: for such a small map, an enlarging scalefactor would be nice
BTW, can the mapper use worldedit/schematics as input ?
** Center/dimensions X,Y vs. min/max-Y (height): shouldn't that be Center X,Z ?
** the tooltips for geometrymode have no newlines, so they run all across the screen

* the placeholders <date> etc. for output-filename use the current date.
It would be nice to also have a placeholder for the filedate.

The output shows a lot of

Code: Select all

Unknown nodes:
arrow_signs:wall_down
..
cottages:bench
..
darkage:basalt_brick
..
tutorial:wall
How would I specify which colors to use for these ?

Also, I would like to put markers with text onto the map, for points-of-interest.
This can be done (by hand) with programs like irfanview, or ImageMagick.

As MinetestMapper already supports "--drawmapline", "--drawmaptext" etc.,
it would be nice if the program could add such things to the output-picture,
perhaps reading from an inputfile (e.g. world.txt).

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by addi » Post

Thanks for your feedback.
hajo wrote: * map features/drawscale: the generated picture is not wide enough to show the last number of the x-axis

* map limits:
** scalefactor: for such a small map, an enlarging scalefactor would be nice
BTW, can the mapper use worldedit/schematics as input ?
yes, your right. But thats a problem of minetestmapper itself. Ill create a Issue there.
No, minetestmapper can only read minetest/freeminer maps no worldedit or shematic files. Not shure if there is a use for it.
hajo wrote: ** Center/dimensions X,Y vs. min/max-Y (height): shouldn't that be Center X,Z ?
Well X,Y means the image, but yes, that could be missunderstandable. I think Center/dimensions width height (w,h) should be better.
hajo wrote: ** the tooltips for geometrymode have no newlines, so they run all across the screen
Ill fix within the next release.
hajo wrote: * the placeholders <date> etc. for output-filename use the current date.
It would be nice to also have a placeholder for the filedate.
Not sure what you exactly mean by filedate.
A file (like map.sqlite) on Windows does have different dates: Create Date, Last modified date. Dont know if such a feature also exists on Linux
There are some database engines, that does not create a file inside the world directory so there could no date of them fetched.
hajo wrote: The output shows a lot of
[...]
How would I specify which colors to use for these ?
Within the latest download there is file called MakeColors.exe. Its a command line tool to create a colors.txt file out of a nodes.txt file. It will be soon integrated fully into MinetestMapperGui, you have to wait 2 weeks.
BTW ill upload a colors.txt file for the tutorial word this evening, please stand by.
hajo wrote: Also, I would like to put markers with text onto the map, for points-of-interest.
This can be done (by hand) with programs like irfanview, or ImageMagick.

As MinetestMapper already supports "--drawmapline", "--drawmaptext" etc.,
it would be nice if the program could add such things to the output-picture,
perhaps reading from an inputfile (e.g. world.txt).
Thats on my to do list. Maybe it comes with the next release or later.

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by hajo » Post

addi wrote:
hajo wrote: * map features/drawscale: the generated picture is not wide enough to show the last number of the x-axis
yes, your right. But thats a problem of minetestmapper itself. Ill create a Issue there.
With an option to also drawscale at right (and bottom), there would be enough space.
addi wrote:
hajo wrote:can the mapper use worldedit/schematics as input ?
No, minetestmapper can only read minetest/freeminer maps no worldedit or shematic files.
Not shure if there is a use for it.
My idea was to make maps of bigger schematics, e.g. villages.[/quote]
addi wrote:
hajo wrote: * the placeholders <date> etc. for output-filename use the current date.
It would be nice to also have a placeholder for the filedate.
Not sure what you exactly mean by filedate.
A file (like map.sqlite) on Windows does have different dates: Create Date, Last modified date.
Dont know if such a feature also exists on Linux
There are some database engines, that does not create a file inside the world directory
so there could no date of them fetched.
When creating a map from an old/archived world (e.g. Karsthafen),
a placeholder like <filedate> should expand to the date/time of the
state of the map, not the current date.

New:
* there is an error-message when trying to create a map of a freshly generated world.
I assume the database is still empty until a player actually enters the world.
Last edited by hajo on Wed Oct 26, 2016 15:36, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Fixer
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
Location: Ukraine

Re: MinetestMapperGui - Graphical userinterface for mtmapper

by Fixer » Post

I have another question, on Map Limit there is min-Y / max-Y fields, when I enable them only and type my numbers it still processes all z-levels it seems.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests