[Tool] WorldPainter plugin

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Sun Mar 05, 2017 00:31

TheReaperKing wrote:I'm hoping to do a video of this soon when my cold clears up :)

That would be great!

What will it be a showcase or a tutorial?
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: WorldPainter support?

by TheReaperKing » Sun Mar 05, 2017 00:48

I noticed on youtube there are so many tutorials but not many showcases so it'd be a short showcase :) A big reason would be to show my students what is possible and get them excited about it.
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: WorldPainter support?

by sofar » Mon Mar 06, 2017 22:07

Schematics are used by minetests' engine to place decorations that are more complex (trees, mostly). For some actual code that makes it easy to understand how they're generated, look here:

https://github.com/minetest-mods/saveschems/
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Tue Mar 07, 2017 21:27

sofar wrote:Schematics are used by minetests' engine to place decorations that are more complex (trees, mostly).

Is this the same as the "blueprints" mentioned by toby109tt?
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Tue Mar 07, 2017 21:29

Captain_Chaos wrote:
sofar wrote:Schematics are used by minetests' engine to place decorations that are more complex (trees, mostly).

Is this the same as the "blueprints" mentioned by toby109tt?

Yes
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:44

Captain-Chaos have any updates?
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:25

toby109tt wrote:Captain-Chaos have any updates?

I'm working on importing schematics. I want to do it properly so it's taking a while. The advantage will be that you can export Minetest schematics to Minecraft maps as well.
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Sun Mar 12, 2017 12:37

Captain_Chaos wrote:
toby109tt wrote:Captain-Chaos have any updates?

I'm working on importing schematics. I want to do it properly so it's taking a while. The advantage will be that you can export Minetest schematics to Minecraft maps as well.

That sounds nice!
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Fri Mar 17, 2017 21:43

Captain_Chaos wrote:
toby109tt wrote:Captain-Chaos have any updates?

I'm working on importing schematics. I want to do it properly so it's taking a while. The advantage will be that you can export Minetest schematics to Minecraft maps as well.

Now it's getting way too quiet!
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: WorldPainter support?

by TheReaperKing » Sat Mar 18, 2017 01:45

Will the Minetest plugin repo be available on your github page? I see you have the worldpainter repo in there already, it'd be nice to be able to get updates from there. Just wondering and thanks for making this!
-Mike
Resources on happiness and life management - http://MikesHappyPlace.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2826
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: WorldPainter support?

by TumeniNodes » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:15

toby109tt wrote:
Captain_Chaos wrote:
toby109tt wrote:Captain-Chaos have any updates?

I'm working on importing schematics. I want to do it properly so it's taking a while. The advantage will be that you can export Minetest schematics to Minecraft maps as well.

Now it's getting way too quiet!


Geesh... give the dude some time :P

I'm sure this is not the ONLY thing he has going on in life...

Let the news and updates come as he is able to provide it ; )
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Sat Mar 18, 2017 11:45

TumeniNodes
No I mean that theres not Enough People commenting on this topic
(it needs more comments)
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2826
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: WorldPainter support?

by TumeniNodes » Sat Mar 18, 2017 14:35

ohhhhhhh, heh sorry
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3874
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Sokomine » Fri Apr 07, 2017 03:51

Captain_Chaos wrote:
Nore wrote:"ignore" is used for unloaded blocks or nodes. You should never generate it.

Should it exist on disk? The reason I know about it is that I see it in a dumps of a test map I made with Minetest. Usually the only other nodes in the block are leaf or air nodes.

I'm curious how it is used, exactly, as there might be circumstances in which it would be useful for WorldPainter to generate them, for example perhaps around the edges of the generated area for objects which extrude outside the generated area.

If I understood hmmm correctly, that's preceisely what ignore in the outer shell of a mapblock is used for. When mapgen creates a new mapchunk of 5x5x5 mapblock of 16x16x16 nodes each, there's a shell of 16 nodes around it that overlaps with neighbouring mapblocks and is initially ignore. When a cave (or perhaps tree?) extends into that shell, some nodes may become "air" and will then not be processed by the neighbouring mapchunk when it's generated.

Captain_Chaos wrote:I didn't know about blueprints. I'll look into it. However in the mean time Minecraft schematics, bo2's, bo3's and Structures (.nbt files) do already work (insofar as they consist of blocks that minetest_game knows about of course)!

Seems there are a lot of formats around for MC. I added support for the .schematic format to my handle_schematics mod (in combination with mccompat) when I wrote those so that some structures from MC can be viewed in MT (MC itshelf does not run on my machine due to lack of a dedicated graphics card).

As to the other dimensions like nether and end which you mentionned: Why not add them at diffrent heights? Just go up/down 1000 or 10000 nodes and place that part of the map there.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
octacian
Member
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 22:18
Location: Canada
GitHub: octacian
IRC: octacian
In-game: octacian

Re: WorldPainter support?

by octacian » Wed Jun 21, 2017 18:53

Any updates on this project? I'm really looking forward to full support as it would really help with a server I plan on launching soon.

And a question: Will there be some sort of support to use WorldPainter to paint worlds using different subgames?
MicroExpansion, Working Computers, All Projects - Check out my YouTube channel! (octacian)
I'm currently inactive in the Minetest community! So if I don't respond, that's why.
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Thu Jun 22, 2017 13:20

octacian wrote:Any updates on this project? I'm really looking forward to full support as it would really help with a server I plan on launching soon.

And a question: Will there be some sort of support to use WorldPainter to paint worlds using different subgames?

Hes on vacation at the moment he said
His comment is below

I'm about to leave for Hawaii. Normal scheduled service will be resumed in July. :)
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: SCP-3008
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: WorldPainter support?

by GreenDimond » Tue Jun 27, 2017 16:27

+ I don't get it...
download worldpainter, make your world, export it, convert it to Minetest, and now you have used WorldPainter for Minetest.
Example:
This is a world I painted with WorldPainter:
Image
This is the world exported and converted to Minetest:
Image
Last edited by GreenDimond on Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:54, edited 2 times in total.
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patre●n | Twitter | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232

Hey, you. You're finally awake.
You were trying to view their profile, right? Found the rest of their signature, same as us, and that guest over there.
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: Belgium menen
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: WorldPainter support?

by toby109tt » Wed Jun 28, 2017 08:22

Yes but the plugin will be optimised for minetest to support mods and codes the mc doesn't have
i'm the co-dev and lead artist of farlands
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: SCP-3008
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: WorldPainter support?

by GreenDimond » Wed Jun 28, 2017 16:57

toby109tt wrote:Yes but the plugin will be optimised for minetest to support mods and codes the mc doesn't have

Touche'
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patre●n | Twitter | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232

Hey, you. You're finally awake.
You were trying to view their profile, right? Found the rest of their signature, same as us, and that guest over there.
 

User avatar
octacian
Member
 
Posts: 594
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 22:18
Location: Canada
GitHub: octacian
IRC: octacian
In-game: octacian

Re: WorldPainter support?

by octacian » Wed Jun 28, 2017 17:03

GreenDimond wrote:
toby109tt wrote:Yes but the plugin will be optimised for minetest to support mods and codes the mc doesn't have

Touche'


No, seriously. The developer had planned at one point to implement a Lua interpreter here so as to allow painting using nodes from other mods and subgames.
MicroExpansion, Working Computers, All Projects - Check out my YouTube channel! (octacian)
I'm currently inactive in the Minetest community! So if I don't respond, that's why.
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: SCP-3008
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: WorldPainter support?

by GreenDimond » Wed Jun 28, 2017 17:15

octacian wrote:
GreenDimond wrote:
toby109tt wrote:Yes but the plugin will be optimised for minetest to support mods and codes the mc doesn't have

Touche'


No, seriously. The developer had planned at one point to implement a Lua interpreter here so as to allow painting using nodes from other mods and subgames.

What, you thought I wasn't taking him seriously?
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patre●n | Twitter | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232

Hey, you. You're finally awake.
You were trying to view their profile, right? Found the rest of their signature, same as us, and that guest over there.
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: WorldPainter support?

by sofar » Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:24

GreenDimond wrote:I don't get it... just download worldpainter, make your world, export it, convert it to Minetest, and now you have used WorldPainter for Minetest.


You forget that minecraft worlds go from 0 to 128 only. With a special minetest version of worldpainter, you can directly make minetest worlds that go far higher and lower than the minecraft worlds can ever go.
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: SCP-3008
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: WorldPainter support?

by GreenDimond » Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:28

sofar wrote:
GreenDimond wrote:I don't get it... just download worldpainter, make your world, export it, convert it to Minetest, and now you have used WorldPainter for Minetest.


You forget that minecraft worlds go from 0 to 128 only. With a special minetest version of worldpainter, you can directly make minetest worlds that go far higher and lower than the minecraft worlds can ever go.

Yeah, it would be nice to have a Minetest version. But for the time being, this works.
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patre●n | Twitter | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232

Hey, you. You're finally awake.
You were trying to view their profile, right? Found the rest of their signature, same as us, and that guest over there.
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: WorldPainter support?

by sofar » Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:40

GreenDimond wrote:You forget that minecraft worlds go from 0 to 128 only. With a special minetest version of worldpainter, you can directly make minetest worlds that go far higher and lower than the minecraft worlds can ever go.

Yeah, it would be nice to have a Minetest version. But for the time being, this works.[/quote]

You said you didn't understand why this was nice and needed by people, I just answered your question.

Your method will work *indefinitely* for everyone, if you don't care about falling to your death at y=0, and don't want higher mountains. Well, I suppose that worldpainter can paint above 128, seeing that MC goes above 128 in recent versions.
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: SCP-3008
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: WorldPainter support?

by GreenDimond » Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:49

sofar wrote:You said you didn't understand why this was nice and needed by people, I just answered your question.

Your method will work *indefinitely* for everyone, if you don't care about falling to your death at y=0, and don't want higher mountains. Well, I suppose that worldpainter can paint above 128, seeing that MC goes above 128 in recent versions.

Yes, I should have rephrased - This would be nice if modified for Minetest due to things being different in Minecraft. I should have said that that was a method that could be used as a solution until WorldPainter is ready for Minetest. I shall edit.
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patre●n | Twitter | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232

Hey, you. You're finally awake.
You were trying to view their profile, right? Found the rest of their signature, same as us, and that guest over there.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest-related projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest