[Tool] WorldPainter plugin

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2016
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: WorldPainter support?

by sofar » Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:50

GreenDimond wrote:I shall edit.


This will make the conversation completely incoherent for someone who reads it afterwards.
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Yes
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: WorldPainter support?

by GreenDimond » Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:55

sofar wrote:
GreenDimond wrote:I shall edit.


This will make the conversation completely incoherent for someone who reads it afterwards.

True. I have edited it so it is not incoherent.
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: WorldPainter support?

by TumeniNodes » Wed Jun 28, 2017 19:01

sofar wrote:This will make the conversation completely incoherent for someone who reads it afterwards.


I'm starting to think most people stop reading threads after the first page, and try to start a new thread, related to ask questions of for help, anyway. :P
I couldn't fix your brakes, so I made your horn louder.
 

User avatar
Codesound
Member
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 14:56
 

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
Location: Lyon, France
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly Ginkgoo

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Gael de Sailly » Wed Mar 14, 2018 21:45

Captain Chaos: are you still working on this project? Some people are still interested :)

TumeniNodes and Voxelproof have drawn my attention to this thread because I'm currently working on a project that has some similarities with World Painter.

It's a program that generates Minetest worlds from GeoTiff images, you can find it here: geo-mapgen. It does not generate the Minetest world directly like World Painter, it acts in 2 steps. First, a standalone Python program converts the image(s) into a binary data file (heightmap.dat). Then this file is interpreted by the mapgen.
The format for the heightmap.dat was first designed to handle only topographic data, but it now supports biomes. So I'm wondering if World Painter could export into this format, which is basically a set of tiled arrays with zlib compression, should not be too difficult to generate.
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.
 

User avatar
Samson1
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 19:41
IRC: Samson1
In-game: Samson1

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Samson1 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 02:39

Nice! I am a big fan of WorldPainter! I can't speak on the technical side but I can say that WorldPainter would be brillient and splended for server hosters. I do hope you are still working on the project, If so, good luck!

I'm a tad late to the thread aren't I?
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Thu May 17, 2018 10:15

It was brought to my attention that the plugin had gone. This was caused by the server crash that ate the WorldPainter website at the end of last year. I've updated the plugin and it's now back! See the first post for details. You can now use the latest WorldPainter version instead of having to use a snapshot. If you already have the plugin you'll have to re-download it and copy it over the version currently in your plugins folder, as WorldPainter won't load the old plugin.

Please note that I haven't tested whether the plugin actually still works. ;) Please test it and let me know!
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: WorldPainter support?

by Captain_Chaos » Thu May 17, 2018 10:25

Gael de Sailly wrote:Captain Chaos: are you still working on this project? Some people are still interested :)


"Working" is too big a word, but it is not dead. ;) If you have feature requests, let me know!

Gael de Sailly wrote:So I'm wondering if World Painter could export into this format, which is basically a set of tiled arrays with zlib compression, should not be too difficult to generate.


I don't think that would make too much sense, as WorldPainter creates fully 3D maps, with caves, bodies of water or lava, trees and other vegetation, etc.. You could use WorldPainter as a height map designer though, as WorldPainter can export the world as an 8-bit or 16-bit height map (File -> Export).
Last edited by Captain_Chaos on Thu May 17, 2018 17:39, edited 2 times in total.
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: WorldPainter support!

by twoelk » Thu May 17, 2018 12:56

uhm, but worldpainter can load hight maps or so it could when I used it to create mc maps long ago.
simple pixel images as hightmaps iirc with weird results sometimes
don't know how difficult loading GeoTiff images would be

hadn't noticed there was a newer version than I had
so
offffffffff to the next crash tests :-D
 

Kroukuk
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 18:08
In-game: Kroukuk

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

by Kroukuk » Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:23

Hello
I get this error when trying to export a minetest world
Code: Select all
[2018-09-13 12:04:49,189] {ERROR } (  o.p.worldpainter.ErrorDialog) ClassCastException: org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestPlatformProvider cannot be cast to org.pepsoft.worldpainter.plugins.BlockBasedPlatformProvider
java.lang.ClassCastException: org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestPlatformProvider cannot be cast to org.pepsoft.worldpainter.plugins.BlockBasedPlatformProvider
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.WorldPainterChunkFactory.<init>(WorldPainterChunkFactory.java:37)
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.AbstractWorldExporter.parallelExportRegions(AbstractWorldExporter.java:220)
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestWorldExporter.export(MinetestWorldExporter.java:61)
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.ExportProgressDialog$1.execute(ExportProgressDialog.java:138)
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.ExportProgressDialog$1.execute(ExportProgressDialog.java:125)
   at org.pepsoft.util.swing.MultiProgressComponent$1.run(MultiProgressComponent.java:91)
[2018-09-13 12:04:49,191] {ERROR } (  o.p.worldpainter.ErrorDialog) java.lang.ClassCastException: org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestPlatformProvider cannot be cast to org.pepsoft.worldpainter.plugins.BlockBasedPlatformProvider
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.WorldPainterChunkFactory.<init>(WorldPainterChunkFactory.java:37)
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.AbstractWorldExporter.parallelExportRegions(AbstractWorldExporter.java:220)
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestWorldExporter.export(MinetestWorldExporter.java:61)
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.ExportProgressDialog$1.execute(ExportProgressDialog.java:138)
   at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.ExportProgressDialog$1.execute(ExportProgressDialog.java:125)

Does anyone know what the reason could be? I have Java installed, but is there something else I need?
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

by Captain_Chaos » Sat Feb 02, 2019 15:03

Kroukuk wrote:I get this error when trying to export a minetest world

I had not updated the plugin for some changes in WorldPainter. I've now done so, if you download the plugin again it should work with the latest release of WorldPainter!
Last edited by Captain_Chaos on Tue Feb 05, 2019 20:30, edited 1 time in total.
 

Kroukuk
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 18:08
In-game: Kroukuk

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

by Kroukuk » Sun Feb 03, 2019 12:26

Captain_Chaos wrote:
Kroukuk wrote:I get this error when trying to export a minetest world

I had not updated the plugin for some changed in WorldPainter. I've now done so, if you download the plugin again it should work with the latest release of WorldPainter!

Thank you very much :D
 

MalaTortuga
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 15:58

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

by MalaTortuga » Tue Mar 05, 2019 18:29

I'm trying to create a Minetest world from a height map to create a roughly 1:1 scale recreation of Dereth from the game Asheron's Call. I'm running into a few roadblocks in Minetest support in various WorldPainter UIs.

When using "Import new World...From Height map" the UI does not support Minetest limitations. The max world height is 2048 for Minecraft using a specific mod. This makes it impossible to create a Minetest world with a larger height range via import. It's also impossible to go beyond 999% of the image dimensions using this UI. I also can't tell if importing through this means will even allow me to export a MineTest map.

When using "New World" and setting the format to Minetest, the UI lets me create a new map using the limits of Minetest, however if I then use the "Import...height map into current dimension" the blocks height setting is fixed at 256 and the option is unable to be changed. Therefore when I set the "Minecraft...Top" setting to the top of the currently loaded map I get an error because the fixed maxHeight value of 256 is lower than the actual maximum map height I'm trying to use with my height map (which is well over 2048).

Because of these two issues I'm unable to import the map I'm looking to create in Minetest and I'm unable to find a workaround. Is there any way to resolve this or would it require patching?

EDIT:

I did more toying around with this after posting yesterday and I found the only way to get around this was to stay at or below 2048 block height. It appears if you set the world height to over 2048 blocks, the "maxHeight" setting of the height map import gets locked to whatever the max height is so you cannot set it within the bounds of the actual height map image's range. This appears to be a bug that I'll report through more official channels.

The 999% max scale issue cannot be worked around in any way I can find.

I'm also seeing issues with water level placement when scaling a height map but that's outside the scope of this post so I'll take it to a more generic WorldPainter forum.
 

User avatar
Captain_Chaos
Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 13:04
GitHub: Captain-Chaos

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

by Captain_Chaos » Sun Mar 10, 2019 20:53

MalaTortuga wrote:I'm running into a few roadblocks in Minetest support in various WorldPainter UIs.

The situation should be improved with the latest version of WorldPainter. It allows you to select the map format on the height map import screen.

The 999% maximum scale could be increased, but I wonder what would be the points of that. 999% is already a ten times increase, resulting in an extreme smoothing out and loss of all detail in the map. But if you really want that then you could resize the height map yourself before importing it, using a paint program.

Have you reported the other issues you mentioned anywhere yet?
 

SaxoFr
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 21:08

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

by SaxoFr » Tue May 07, 2019 21:16

Hello, great program! Just a small question: is it possible to add a function to import (open) a MINETEST world ?
 

Previous

Return to Minetest-related projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest