Page 6 of 6

Re: WorldPainter support?

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:50
by sofar
GreenDimond wrote:I shall edit.
This will make the conversation completely incoherent for someone who reads it afterwards.

Re: WorldPainter support?

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 18:55
by GreenXenith
sofar wrote:
GreenDimond wrote:I shall edit.
This will make the conversation completely incoherent for someone who reads it afterwards.
True. I have edited it so it is not incoherent.

Re: WorldPainter support?

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 19:01
by TumeniNodes
sofar wrote:This will make the conversation completely incoherent for someone who reads it afterwards.
I'm starting to think most people stop reading threads after the first page, and try to start a new thread, related to ask questions of for help, anyway. :P

Re: WorldPainter support?

Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2017 06:21
by Codesound
Hi,

this is an awesome project! Thanks.....

R

Re: WorldPainter support?

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 21:45
by Gael de Sailly
Captain Chaos: are you still working on this project? Some people are still interested :)

TumeniNodes and Voxelproof have drawn my attention to this thread because I'm currently working on a project that has some similarities with World Painter.

It's a program that generates Minetest worlds from GeoTiff images, you can find it here: geo-mapgen. It does not generate the Minetest world directly like World Painter, it acts in 2 steps. First, a standalone Python program converts the image(s) into a binary data file (heightmap.dat). Then this file is interpreted by the mapgen.
The format for the heightmap.dat was first designed to handle only topographic data, but it now supports biomes. So I'm wondering if World Painter could export into this format, which is basically a set of tiled arrays with zlib compression, should not be too difficult to generate.

Re: WorldPainter support?

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 02:39
by Samson1
Nice! I am a big fan of WorldPainter! I can't speak on the technical side but I can say that WorldPainter would be brillient and splended for server hosters. I do hope you are still working on the project, If so, good luck!

I'm a tad late to the thread aren't I?

Re: WorldPainter support?

Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 10:15
by Captain_Chaos
It was brought to my attention that the plugin had gone. This was caused by the server crash that ate the WorldPainter website at the end of last year. I've updated the plugin and it's now back! See the first post for details. You can now use the latest WorldPainter version instead of having to use a snapshot. If you already have the plugin you'll have to re-download it and copy it over the version currently in your plugins folder, as WorldPainter won't load the old plugin.

Please note that I haven't tested whether the plugin actually still works. ;) Please test it and let me know!

Re: WorldPainter support?

Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 10:25
by Captain_Chaos
Gael de Sailly wrote:Captain Chaos: are you still working on this project? Some people are still interested :)
"Working" is too big a word, but it is not dead. ;) If you have feature requests, let me know!
Gael de Sailly wrote:So I'm wondering if World Painter could export into this format, which is basically a set of tiled arrays with zlib compression, should not be too difficult to generate.
I don't think that would make too much sense, as WorldPainter creates fully 3D maps, with caves, bodies of water or lava, trees and other vegetation, etc.. You could use WorldPainter as a height map designer though, as WorldPainter can export the world as an 8-bit or 16-bit height map (File -> Export).

Re: WorldPainter support!

Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 12:56
by twoelk
uhm, but worldpainter can load hight maps or so it could when I used it to create mc maps long ago.
simple pixel images as hightmaps iirc with weird results sometimes
don't know how difficult loading GeoTiff images would be

hadn't noticed there was a newer version than I had
so
offffffffff to the next crash tests :-D

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:23
by Kroukuk
Hello
I get this error when trying to export a minetest world

Code: Select all

[2018-09-13 12:04:49,189] {ERROR } (  o.p.worldpainter.ErrorDialog) ClassCastException: org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestPlatformProvider cannot be cast to org.pepsoft.worldpainter.plugins.BlockBasedPlatformProvider
java.lang.ClassCastException: org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestPlatformProvider cannot be cast to org.pepsoft.worldpainter.plugins.BlockBasedPlatformProvider
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.WorldPainterChunkFactory.<init>(WorldPainterChunkFactory.java:37)
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.AbstractWorldExporter.parallelExportRegions(AbstractWorldExporter.java:220)
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestWorldExporter.export(MinetestWorldExporter.java:61)
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.ExportProgressDialog$1.execute(ExportProgressDialog.java:138)
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.ExportProgressDialog$1.execute(ExportProgressDialog.java:125)
	at org.pepsoft.util.swing.MultiProgressComponent$1.run(MultiProgressComponent.java:91)
[2018-09-13 12:04:49,191] {ERROR } (  o.p.worldpainter.ErrorDialog) java.lang.ClassCastException: org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestPlatformProvider cannot be cast to org.pepsoft.worldpainter.plugins.BlockBasedPlatformProvider
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.WorldPainterChunkFactory.<init>(WorldPainterChunkFactory.java:37)
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.AbstractWorldExporter.parallelExportRegions(AbstractWorldExporter.java:220)
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestWorldExporter.export(MinetestWorldExporter.java:61)
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.ExportProgressDialog$1.execute(ExportProgressDialog.java:138)
	at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.ExportProgressDialog$1.execute(ExportProgressDialog.java:125)
Does anyone know what the reason could be? I have Java installed, but is there something else I need?

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 15:03
by Captain_Chaos
Kroukuk wrote:I get this error when trying to export a minetest world
I had not updated the plugin for some changes in WorldPainter. I've now done so, if you download the plugin again it should work with the latest release of WorldPainter!

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Sun Feb 03, 2019 12:26
by Kroukuk
Captain_Chaos wrote:
Kroukuk wrote:I get this error when trying to export a minetest world
I had not updated the plugin for some changed in WorldPainter. I've now done so, if you download the plugin again it should work with the latest release of WorldPainter!
Thank you very much :D

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2019 18:29
by MalaTortuga
I'm trying to create a Minetest world from a height map to create a roughly 1:1 scale recreation of Dereth from the game Asheron's Call. I'm running into a few roadblocks in Minetest support in various WorldPainter UIs.

When using "Import new World...From Height map" the UI does not support Minetest limitations. The max world height is 2048 for Minecraft using a specific mod. This makes it impossible to create a Minetest world with a larger height range via import. It's also impossible to go beyond 999% of the image dimensions using this UI. I also can't tell if importing through this means will even allow me to export a MineTest map.

When using "New World" and setting the format to Minetest, the UI lets me create a new map using the limits of Minetest, however if I then use the "Import...height map into current dimension" the blocks height setting is fixed at 256 and the option is unable to be changed. Therefore when I set the "Minecraft...Top" setting to the top of the currently loaded map I get an error because the fixed maxHeight value of 256 is lower than the actual maximum map height I'm trying to use with my height map (which is well over 2048).

Because of these two issues I'm unable to import the map I'm looking to create in Minetest and I'm unable to find a workaround. Is there any way to resolve this or would it require patching?

EDIT:

I did more toying around with this after posting yesterday and I found the only way to get around this was to stay at or below 2048 block height. It appears if you set the world height to over 2048 blocks, the "maxHeight" setting of the height map import gets locked to whatever the max height is so you cannot set it within the bounds of the actual height map image's range. This appears to be a bug that I'll report through more official channels.

The 999% max scale issue cannot be worked around in any way I can find.

I'm also seeing issues with water level placement when scaling a height map but that's outside the scope of this post so I'll take it to a more generic WorldPainter forum.

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 20:53
by Captain_Chaos
MalaTortuga wrote:I'm running into a few roadblocks in Minetest support in various WorldPainter UIs.
The situation should be improved with the latest version of WorldPainter. It allows you to select the map format on the height map import screen.

The 999% maximum scale could be increased, but I wonder what would be the point of that. 999% is already a ten times increase, resulting in an extreme smoothing out and loss of all detail in the map. But if you really want that then you could resize the height map yourself before importing it, using a paint program.

Have you reported the other issues you mentioned anywhere yet?

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Tue May 07, 2019 21:16
by SaxoFr
Hello, great program! Just a small question: is it possible to add a function to import (open) a MINETEST world ?

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 14:45
by Leongham
Hey I have a problem with worldpainter. I cant export the worlds to minetest. I get this message:
"An unexpected error has occurred.

Type: java.lang.NoSuchMethodError
Message: org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.AbstractWorldExporter.<init>(Lorg/pepsoft/worldpainter/World2;)V

Please help debug the problem by using the button below to email the details of this error to the creator of this program.

The program may now be in an unstable state. It is recommended to restart it as soon as possible."

Anyone can help?

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2020 14:47
by Leongham
Leongham wrote:Hey I have a problem with worldpainter. I cant export the worlds to minetest. I get this message:
"An unexpected error has occurred.

Type: java.lang.NoSuchMethodError
Message: org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.AbstractWorldExporter.<init>(Lorg/pepsoft/worldpainter/World2;)V

Please help debug the problem by using the button below to email the details of this error to the creator of this program.

The program may now be in an unstable state. It is recommended to restart it as soon as possible."

Anyone can help?

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Mon Jan 27, 2020 16:15
by Codesound
+1 for this project!

Thanks

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2020 17:11
by MHL
Good evening, I am a few years late but I wanted to say thanks for even considering to support Minetest. Home more Minecraft users will do the same too.

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 09:35
by Captain_Chaos
Hi everyone! Just in case anyone is still using this, I just updated the plugin so it works again with the latest WorldPainter. Sorry it took a while!

Just download it again from the link in the first post and place it in the WorldPainter plugins folder, which you can open from the Tools menu. Don't extract the file!

Let me know if you encounter any problems.

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 15:32
by Troodon
Great work!

I just have a few questions can we add mod blocks specific to minetest? (I saw that in the minetest_game_blocks.tkt file there is a block list should we just add our blocks to this list?)

Again thank you for your help: D

Troodon

Re: [Tool] WorldPainter plugin

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2020 19:32
by niwla23
java.lang.NullPointerException: null
at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.minetest.MinetestChunkStore.close(MinetestChunkStore.java:199)
at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.WorldRegion.save(WorldRegion.java:276)
at org.pepsoft.worldpainter.exporting.AbstractWorldExporter.lambda$parallelExportRegions$0(AbstractWorldExporter.java:293)
at org.pepsoft.util.mdc.MDCThreadPoolExecutor.lambda$wrap$0(MDCThreadPoolExecutor.java:55)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1130)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:630)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:832)

WorldPainter version: 2.7.16 (20200614113037)

java.version: 14.0.1
java.vendor: Private Build
java.vm.version: 14.0.1+7-Ubuntu-1ubuntu1
java.vm.vendor: Private Build
java.vm.name: OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM
os.name: Linux
os.arch: amd64
os.version: 5.4.0-37-generic
user.home: /home/alwin
user.dir: /opt/worldpainter
user.country: DE
user.language: de

Free memory: 160725896 bytes
Total memory size: 424673280 bytes
Max memory size: 6140461056 bytes

World name: Generated World
Seed: 7793690040873449687
Bounds: -2, -2 => 2, 2
Height: 256
Number of tiles: 25
Layers in use:
Border: null @ 62
Sub surface material: Stone Mix
Water height: 62

Operation: Height
Radius: 57
Brush: Constant Square (radius=57, brushShape=SQUARE, level=0.51)/Sine Circle (radius=57, brushShape=CIRCLE, level=0.51)
Level: 0.51/0.51
Zoom: 0
Hidden layers: [Biome]