Public Remote Media Server Project

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Due to popular usage, I've moved the service to a different host with extra bandwidth allotment, as the host was starting to exceed the free bandwidth allotment at the previous hosting location (!).

At todays rates, the server is serving up about 4-5gb per day, more than a few million hits per day, and hundreds of clients.

User avatar
Aerozoic
Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 15:04
GitHub: aerozoic
IRC: aerozoic
In-game: aerozoic
Location: USA

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Aerozoic » Post

An exodus has begun at github. Do you have a way of checking the mods you've added to see if they are still at github?
“For once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Aerozoic wrote:An exodus has begun at github. Do you have a way of checking the mods you've added to see if they are still at github?
The copies of mods doesn't disappear from the server, they just stop updating. I have no way to discover that they have moved, so people will need to inform me that mods have moved, sadly.

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Could you add these mods?
viewtopic.php?t=7846
viewtopic.php?t=14934
Thank you!

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Stix » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:Could you add these mods?
viewtopic.php?t=7846
viewtopic.php?t=14934
Thank you!
FYI your supposed to provide a link to the github/repo page, not the forum-topic.
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Stix wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:Could you add these mods?
viewtopic.php?t=7846
viewtopic.php?t=14934
Thank you!
FYI your supposed to provide a link to the github/repo page, not the forum-topic.
- shooter added
- everamzah's fork of zombies was removed from github, and we already have the minetest-mods/zombies mod included, so I can't add that.

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Stix » Post

sofar wrote:
Stix wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:Could you add these mods?
viewtopic.php?t=7846
viewtopic.php?t=14934
Thank you!
FYI your supposed to provide a link to the github/repo page, not the forum-topic.
- shooter added
- everamzah's fork of zombies was removed from github, and we already have the minetest-mods/zombies mod included, so I can't add that.
Actually it has a repo still: https://github.com/taikedz/everamzah-zombies
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Stix wrote:Actually it has a repo still: https://github.com/taikedz/everamzah-zombies
I'm just gonna say no. I'm not going to add a copy of fork of a fork. If the minetest-mods version is missing cool stuff, patch it and include it in there. That's what minetest-mods is for.

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Installed it on pandorabox (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=20311) but i see no speed/load gain yet...

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

BuckarooBanzay wrote:Installed it on pandorabox (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=20311) but i see no speed/load gain yet...
It varies based on the mods you have on your server. If you host many custom mods, you may lose some benefit. However, if you run mostly standard mods that are included, you should see a significant reduction in bandwith usage on your server.

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Lejo » Post

Is it possible that you just add my whole Game?
If Yes: https://github.com/Lejo1/subgames
If not please add: https://github.com/Arcelmi/minetest-bows

Does you update the mods regular?

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Lejo wrote:Is it possible that you just add my whole Game?
If Yes: https://github.com/Lejo1/subgames
I don't want to. Games are usually nothing but mods, and we already have the mods covered. A game would have to stand out sufficiently to warrant inclusion.
Lejo wrote:If not please add: https://github.com/Arcelmi/minetest-bows
Added.
Lejo wrote:Does you update the mods regular?
yes.

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Lejo » Post

Thanks!

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Lejo » Post

I have a Problem with this service.
My Clients only download about 1000 textures from here and about 2000 from my server.
I have checked every mod, they are almost all added.(never can be 2000 textures)
Does I have to have exactly the same release of the mod?
Are really all minetest-mods mods added?
Does some mods moved to gitlab, so they aren't available anymore?

Or is there any other reason?

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Lejo » Post

I just wanted to drop this here.
If you have a traffic less then 100GB for media per month, you can use a free github.io page like this.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Lejo wrote:I have a Problem with this service.
My Clients only download about 1000 textures from here and about 2000 from my server.
I have checked every mod, they are almost all added.(never can be 2000 textures)
Does I have to have exactly the same release of the mod?
Are really all minetest-mods mods added?
Does some mods moved to gitlab, so they aren't available anymore?

Or is there any other reason?
yes, the files need to match exactly. So if you run optipng or something on the images after downloading, the clients won't ask the media server for those files since they have been modified and are not present on the media server.

The only way to figure out what is missing is to tell me exactly (iow, send me the sha1sums of every file) what media files you have for each mod so I can compare, as well as the git URLs for those mods.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Lejo wrote:I just wanted to drop this here.
If you have a traffic less then 100GB for media per month, you can use a free github.io page like this.
No need, but it's good to know for others perhaps. For the time being, even with the large amount of users using the service, I'm not anywhere near any bandwidth restrictions.

User avatar
joe7575
Member
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto
Location: Germany, in the deep south

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by joe7575 » Post

Sent from my Commodore 64. Some of my Mods: Tech Age, TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Minecart, Signs Bot.

User avatar
joe7575
Member
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto
Location: Germany, in the deep south

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by joe7575 » Post

I read the thread now a second time but I can't find a link to a list with all available mods.
I am wondering if there is any variant of the ambience mod available?
Sent from my Commodore 64. Some of my Mods: Tech Age, TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Minecart, Signs Bot.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post


Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1395
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: bye bye

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Festus1965 » Post

Thank you for this service, I added it also in my server(s), and for external Clients it might be faster also es so there is more "use" that proxy servers of providers might support storing it also more local in there caches.

Have to check how for the internal Clients, as there are sometime up to 10 gaming here at me. There it might be better to keep the own server, local intra-net - saving traffic for hole world users haha.
Minetest has no future

Festus1965
Member
Posts: 1395
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
In-game: bye bye

Public Remote Media Server Project

by Festus1965 » Post

seams some missing, just activated installed mods and getting ...png not found at
* televator - https://github.com/octacian/televator
* homedecor_modpack - https://github.com/minetest-mods/homedecor_modpack

so far, thanks - or sorry if I missed to see them

edit to following answer:
sofar wrote:If the client complains about PNG not found, then that is an error with the server that runs the mod, and not a problem with the public remote media server.
I checked that modpacks can keep inside the modpack-folder,
I did not change anything since last error message, (config, world.mt, etc...)
but error is gone and items usable.
(Sometime I should just wait ... looonger keep hoping)
Last edited by Festus1965 on Wed Jul 25, 2018 02:59, edited 1 time in total.
Minetest has no future

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Festus1965 wrote:seams some missing, just activated installed mods and getting ...png not found at
* televator - https://github.com/octacian/televator
* homedecor_modpack - https://github.com/minetest-mods/homedecor_modpack
If the client complains about PNG not found, then that is an error with the server that runs the mod, and not a problem with the public remote media server.

Homedecor_modpack is added already, and has always been. televator was added.

Rafi59
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 10:31
GitHub: Rafi594
IRC: Rafi59
In-game: Rafi59
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by Rafi59 » Post


sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Public Remote Media Server Project

by sofar » Post

Added
Rafi59 wrote:and if possible this texture pack https://framagit.org/Sporax/Vilja_Pix_Sporax
I'm not adding texture packs, that would be useless, texture packs are never fetched from the media server.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest