Minetest Modding Course

Nathan.S
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Minetest Modding Course

by Nathan.S » Post

If you've been wanting to start making mods, but haven't been sure where exactly to start this could be just what you've been looking for, or weren't looking for, but needed to find. :)

I've been making Minetest videos for a few years now, and have created a bunch of modding videos, but never have I created a modding course, something that starts with the assumption that you know nothing about Minetest and modding and builds from the ground up. That is what this course aims to do.

The course starts out with an introduction chapter that covers the complete basics, installation of Minetest, mods, texture packs, and games. I list some decent code editors to use, and cover file layout. If you've ever done any modding you can probably skip the entire intro, but if you want to introduce a friend or family member to modding it might be good for them to watch the intro video, especially if they have no experience with Minetest.

Unlike all my other videos this is very scripted, and the entire video text is available on my website as well, making this suitable for people that like to learn watching videos or by reading. (There are actually some small differences between the video and lesson text, but both cover all the exact same material.)

I've been working on this course for some time, since about the beginning of the year, there's been a lot of planning and design work involved. Currently I only have the intro completed and the first lesson of Chapter two, which covers creating a basic node and recipe. Hopefully as I keep working on making these videos and editing them I get faster and faster at it, 'cause right now it's taking about six hours to get a fifteen minute video. As I release new videos I'll be mentioning it here, but the best way to keep up to date is to subscribe to my youtube channel. :)