Simple Static Remote Media Server

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Simple Static Remote Media Server

by Lejo » Sun Aug 18, 2019 17:20

I made a script to automatically load all medias of all servers of the serverlist.
These media’s are available on my media server.
 

User avatar
LMD
Member
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
Location: Germany
GitHub: appgurueu
In-game: LMD + PRO_LMD + Limo

Re: Simple Static Remote Media Server

by LMD » Mon Aug 19, 2019 09:43

I've seen the script (it basically just joins the servers). Also, that's likely illegal, you don't know the licenses.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Simple Static Remote Media Server

by Linuxdirk » Mon Aug 19, 2019 09:57

Lejo wrote:I made a script to automatically load all medias of all servers of the serverlist.
These media’s are available on my media server.

Yeah, fuck licensing.
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Simple Static Remote Media Server

by Lejo » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:07

LMD wrote:I've seen the script (it basically just joins the servers). Also, that's likely illegal, you don't know the licenses.

Why is it illegal to join servers?
Shall I stop playing on servers?
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Simple Static Remote Media Server

by Lejo » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:09

Linuxdirk wrote:
Lejo wrote:I made a script to automatically load all medias of all servers of the serverlist.
These media’s are available on my media server.

Yeah, fuck licensing.

The server provides the media’s without noticing to the client the server (must) send the license with as it distributes the medias

I know it's a Problem but I have no direct solution...
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: Simple Static Remote Media Server

by Linuxdirk » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:03

Lejo wrote:I know it's a Problem but I have no direct solution...

You mean except checking the mod repositories for licenses and git clone them to your server instead of using a bot to automatically scrape everything from every server.
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Simple Static Remote Media Server

by Lejo » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:24

And if the server has old media’s which doesn’t exist anywhere online you can’t add it.
 

User avatar
LMD
Member
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
Location: Germany
GitHub: appgurueu
In-game: LMD + PRO_LMD + Limo
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2059
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Simple Static Remote Media Server

by sofar » Tue Aug 20, 2019 00:26

Lejo wrote:I made a script to automatically load all medias of all servers of the serverlist.
These media’s are available on my media server.


This likely violates the license of the music on ITB, which is not fully OSS. Please remove them from your server and issue a statement that you in fact have removed ALL of the ITB media from your server, please.
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo
 

Previous

Return to Minetest-related projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests