Node Box Editor [0.9.2]

User avatar
mimilus
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 09:08
GitHub: mimilus
IRC: Mimilus
Location: France

by mimilus » Post

Krock wrote:
mimilus wrote:Hello

Could you add a texture selector ?
Textures are set in the node definition, in Lua.

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("my:nodebox", {
    description = "My Nodebox",
>>>>tiles = {"default_wood.png"},
    drawtype = "nodebox",
    paramtype = "light",
    node_box = {
        type = "fixed",
        fixed = {
            --NodeBox1,2,3,4...
        }
    },
I was thinking that you could put textures you want to use in media and after have a toolbox in node editor to switch beetween them for see the result
minetest 0.4.9
Ubuntu 12.04

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

The Texture tool is on the to do list. You will be able to make textures with pencils inside the editor.

Currently you have to do it in the lua file, as Krock said.

User avatar
mimilus
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 09:08
GitHub: mimilus
IRC: Mimilus
Location: France

by mimilus » Post

rubenwardy wrote:The Texture tool is on the to do list. You will be able to make textures with pencils inside the editor.

Currently you have to do it in the lua file, as Krock said.
Ok that's cool !!!!
minetest 0.4.9
Ubuntu 12.04

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

0.6.3 Released!

GitHub - Windows

Features
  • Multinode
  • Mode icons
  • Rotate perspective with arrow keys.
Todo
  • Link nodes together (ie: doors)
  • Navigate the platform
  • Nodebox Textures
  • Texture tool
  • Lua custom node box draw types (spheres, cylinders, etc)
Last edited by rubenwardy on Wed Jun 18, 2014 18:21, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Bugs and stuff

I have been told about some major bugs with the editor.
You can't delete nodes, and the editor goes weird when two nodeboxes on a node are named the same.

I am working on fixing these.
Last edited by rubenwardy on Tue Apr 22, 2014 16:39, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

The node delete bug has been fixed.

The best way to solve the naming of nodeboxes is to change the name of the only one you can select to something else, so you can change the name of the other. I will fix this later, and issue a windows build. I will also check Linux building fully. (some people are having issues.)

EDIT: 2000th post!
Last edited by rubenwardy on Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:54, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

rubenwardy wrote:EDIT: 2000th post!
Nobody likes you. -.-

JK.

Also, what do you mean the naming of nodeboxes? I never had anything like that happen...
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Create two nodeboxes.:

Node box 1
Node box 2

Delete number 1.
Add another node box.
You will now have two called 'node box 2: try selecting them both, only one will work.

User avatar
TheNodeboxer
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2014 01:38
Location: Nodebox World
Contact:

by TheNodeboxer » Post

Best Tool Ever!
I love using it lots.
I am using it make loads of things.

Right now using make Real Life Stuff.
Like, Chairs, Tables, And Other stuff. Plus the 8 Looking Bricks.

User avatar
ZachyGames
Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:14
Location: Youtube
Contact:

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by ZachyGames » Post

"Nodeboxeditor_0_6_3....zip is not commonly downloaded and could be dangerous"

What the...

User avatar
mimilus
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 09:08
GitHub: mimilus
IRC: Mimilus
Location: France

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by mimilus » Post

Hi

Is there a build for the last version on Ubuntu ?

Don't see it on your dropbox

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by rubenwardy » Post

Ignore that notice. Pretty self explained.

Build it yourself.

User avatar
mimilus
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 09:08
GitHub: mimilus
IRC: Mimilus
Location: France

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by mimilus » Post

Ok from github
thx

User avatar
mimilus
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 09:08
GitHub: mimilus
IRC: Mimilus
Location: France

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by mimilus » Post

0.6.2 Stone Version seems to crash with more than 50 nodes :(

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by rubenwardy » Post

mimilus wrote:0.6.2 Stone Version seems to crash with more than 50 nodes :(
That is a current limitation. The array that holds the node boxes in each node is only 50 cells big.

To increase that, look for something like this

#define nodeb_max 50

In src/common.h. increase 50 to 100, and recompile.

If you can't compile, then you will have to wait until I add support for unlimited node boxes.

User avatar
mimilus
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 09:08
GitHub: mimilus
IRC: Mimilus
Location: France

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by mimilus » Post

Ok thank's

Maybe you could put this info in the readme file.

User avatar
mimilus
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 09:08
GitHub: mimilus
IRC: Mimilus
Location: France

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by mimilus » Post

Hi again

Is it possible to modify the size of the grid for the snapping ?, in the source code.

Just found it.

Thx for the comments in the source code :)

User avatar
Amaz
Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by Amaz » Post

Hm. When I compile it, after linking the executable it gives me this error:

Code: Select all

Linking CXX executable bin/nodeboxeditor
/usr/bin/ld: /usr/lib/gcc/i686-linux-gnu/4.7/../../../i386-linux-gnu/libIrrlicht.a(CIrrDeviceLinux.o): undefined reference to symbol 'XF86VidModeGetGamma'
/usr/bin/ld: note: 'XF86VidModeGetGamma' is defined in DSO /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libXxf86vm.so.1 so try adding it to the linker command line
/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libXxf86vm.so.1: could not read symbols: Invalid operation
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [bin/nodeboxeditor] Error 1
make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/NodeBoxGenerator.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
Any ideas on how to fix it? I'm compiling on Ubuntu.

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by ShadowNinja » Post

I had this issue a while back too. I added this to CMakeLists.txt:

Code: Select all

@@ -11,16 +11,21 @@ find_package(OpenGL REQUIRED)
 find_package(JPEG REQUIRED)
 find_package(BZip2 REQUIRED)
 find_package(PNG REQUIRED)
+find_library(XXF86VM_LIBRARY Xxf86vm)
@@ -45,12 +50,11 @@ target_link_libraries(
        ${JPEG_LIBRARIES}
        ${BZIP2_LIBRARIES}
        ${PNG_LIBRARIES}
+       ${XXF86VM_LIBRARY}
 )

User avatar
Amaz
Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 08:26
GitHub: Amaz1
IRC: Amaz
In-game: Amaz

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by Amaz » Post

That worked. Thanks!

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by Calinou » Post

I still get this when trying to run it from any directory, on Xubuntu 14.04 :

Code: Select all

Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-version.c: 224: _dl_check_map_versions: Assertion `needed != ((void *)0)' failed!
I patched CMakeLists.txt, ran a “cmake .”, a “make clean” then a “make -j8”.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by rubenwardy » Post

mimilus wrote:0.6.2 Stone Version seems to crash with more than 50 nodes :(
The editor now has unlimited node boxes, thanks to ShadowNinja.

Commit 685c072

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.3 -!- multiple nodes]

by rubenwardy » Post

Calinou wrote:I still get this when trying to run it from any directory, on Xubuntu 14.04 :

Code: Select all

Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-version.c: 224: _dl_check_map_versions: Assertion `needed != ((void *)0)' failed!
I patched CMakeLists.txt, ran a “cmake .”, a “make clean” then a “make -j8”.
Can you see what happens if you apply the cmakelists.txt fix above, by ShadowNinja?

Reading these resource to see what has happened:

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.4 -!- bug fixes]

by rubenwardy » Post

0.6.4 released!

Windows Build - GitHub


Lots of bugs have been fixed. If you find any more bugs, then comment on this topic, or make an issue on github. Or send me a PM.

I would like to see videos of people using this editor, so I can see how to improve it.

ShadowNinja has been a real hero in this version. Thank you very much.

New Features
  • Keyboard short cuts
  • Unlimited node boxes per node (ShadowNinja)
  • Add default nodebox when creating a new node
Bug Fixes
  • Fixed snapping, added possibility for custom grids in the future.
  • Fixed node deleting bug.
  • Fixed node deleting bug again.
  • Fixed node box naming collisions.
  • Fixed multiple saving and opening bugs when there is more than one node.
  • Fixed handle offset error.
  • Fixed XXF86VM build failure (ShadowNinja)
  • Temporarily fixed top viewport handle offset.
  • Fixed properties side bar.
  • Fixed name in properties side bar, node box mode.
Other
  • Don't load icons multiple times (ShadowNinja)
  • Massive amounts of refactoring (ShadowNinja)
  • Fixed coding style
  • Use std::string and std::list instead of the irrlicht versions (ShadowNinja)
^ Contributions were made by me, rubenwardy, unless otherwise stated.
Last edited by rubenwardy on Tue May 27, 2014 17:35, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Editor] Node Box Editor [0.6.4] - infinite boxes, bug f

by rubenwardy » Post

New build!

There were several small bugs in 0.6.4, so I have fixed them as part of 0.6.4
The changelog for this has been added to the change log of 0.6.4.

It is highly recommended you update.

Windows Build

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest