open MT-Skin Database

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

I feel like a nub but I don't get it done to load a skin into that-I-think-it-should-be-a 3D viewer.
This is what I see:
Image
EDIT: This is the 300th post of me
Last edited by Krock on Sat Jan 04, 2014 17:39, edited 1 time in total.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6371
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Right click, inspect element, click the console tab of the thing that appears and tell us the content.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

rubenwardy wrote:Right click, inspect element, click the console tab of the thing that appears and tell us the content.

Code: Select all

Refused to set unsafe header "Connection"
http://minetest.fensta.bplaced.net/x3dom.swf
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
data:image/png;base64,[object HTMLImageElement]
Failed to load resource
http://www.x3dom.org/download/.1/x3dom.swf
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
Refused to set unsafe header "Connection"
8
chrome-extension://gofhjkjmkpinhpoiabjplobcaignabnl/content.js:1
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'style' of undefined
GET data:image/png;base64,[object HTMLImageElement] main.js:32
Last edited by Krock on Sat Jan 04, 2014 18:11, edited 1 time in total.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym
Location: Slovakia

by AMMOnym » Post

do u have Windows and mozilla firefox ?

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6371
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

Krock wrote:Failed to load resource
http://www.x3dom.org/download/.1/x3dom.swf
That looks like the problem line.
AMMOnym wrote:do u have Windows and mozilla firefox ?
He has chrome
Last edited by rubenwardy on Sat Jan 04, 2014 18:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

AMMOnym wrote:do u have Windows and mozilla firefox ?
Windows XP SP 3, 32-Bit Chrome as browser
rubenwardy wrote:
Krock wrote:Failed to load resource
http://www.x3dom.org/download/.1/x3dom.swf
That looks like the problem line.
yup
Last edited by Krock on Sat Jan 04, 2014 18:32, edited 1 time in total.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym
Location: Slovakia

by AMMOnym » Post

Hey addi how can i delete my skin from it .

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym
Location: Slovakia

by AMMOnym » Post

name:HungrySteve
Image
author: AMMOnym
license:CC BY-SA 3.0Image
view in 3d! on skin Database
DownloadEnjoy :D

User avatar
Pitriss
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 17:09
GitHub: Pitriss
IRC: pitriss
In-game: pitriss
Location: Czech republic, Bohumin

by Pitriss » Post

Ammonym: You are trying to win prize for best spamer on MT forums?
I reject your reality and substitute my own. (A. Savage, Mythbusters)
I'm not modding and/or playing minetest anymore. All my mods were released under WTFPL. You can fix/modify them yourself. Don't ask me for support. Thanks.

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym
Location: Slovakia

by AMMOnym » Post

Pitriss wrote:Ammonym: You are trying to win prize for best spamer on MT forums?
Díky Pitrissi, ale doma už jednu takú cenu mám a na další ma už nominovali tak my drž palce a možno dostanem aj druhú XD In english : Thanks Pitriss, but i have one at home indeed, and I have been nominated to next so u can keep me fingers and maybe i get a second XD sorry i will be careful
Last edited by AMMOnym on Sat Jan 04, 2014 21:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

by ShadowNinja » Post

This is very nice, and it would be nice if it became the official skins DB for Minetest (Under skins.minetest.net or something like that).
However, I think there should be an option for servers to download the whole skins DB and use it for setting skins on their server. That way there could be a centralized skins DB.
In order for that to work the skins will have to be associated with an account. You will also have to add a way for servers to download the skins, and preferably a method to only download new/changed skins and delete old skins. Does that seem doable?
Integrating with the forum would be nice, but I don't think the forum offers a API, so that is probably impossible.
This would require a seperate updater script, written in python, that would send a POST request to the server containing a list of the available local textures, and the server returning a list of skins to download and remove.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

If only the legs, arms, and core bodies of Minetest models had a second layer (second mesh) on them just like their heads do. That would be absolutely heavenly.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Post

woha!
thanks to all that responses on this i need a short time to read all responses and write answers to that :)
rubenwardy wrote:Can you make it so it is impossible to rotate the z axis?

Currently, the character spins out of control when I try to rotate by y axis

You could link it to an option.

.option could use some padding too.

go back to page x boxes (and go forward to page x boxes) have too much height, and would be better outlined in grey.
its possible to define more than just one viewpoint and switch between that. i made some experiments with that but without success

to that page boxes: my plan was it to make it like google images. scrolling down and than even more skins displayed automatical. but until this ill add this to the todo list
Krock wrote:I feel like a nub but I don't get it done to load a skin into that-I-think-it-should-be-a 3D viewer.
This is what I see:
Image
EDIT: This is the 300th post of me
Krock wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:Right click, inspect element, click the console tab of the thing that appears and tell us the content.

Code: Select all

Refused to set unsafe header "Connection"
http://minetest.fensta.bplaced.net/x3dom.swf
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
data:image/png;base64,[object HTMLImageElement]
Failed to load resource
http://www.x3dom.org/download/.1/x3dom.swf
Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
Refused to set unsafe header "Connection"
8
chrome-extension://gofhjkjmkpinhpoiabjplobcaignabnl/content.js:1
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'style' of undefined
GET data:image/png;base64,[object HTMLImageElement] main.js:32
hmm normaly the Flash element should only loaded if the browser dose not support X3Dom, but its in alpha and may dose not work sometimes.
i uploaded it now so you can try again but there are other things that are a bit odd.
eg. look at that images: normaly the shouldnt be draw so smoth the should be "pixelated" do you use the Google Chrome browser or a fork of it?
AMMOnym wrote:Hey addi how can i delete my skin from it .
there is currently no way to delete skins.
1. its because i cannot verify if you are realy the creator/uploader of it. so it would be posible for evrybody to delete evrybodys Skins.
2. you uploaded it under a public license. that means the skin keeps under that license.
3. but if you click on the report button and select stolen skin here and write as comment something like "i have stolen this skin from a minecraft user wich dose not alow it to share it under this license, im so sorry, please remove it" than i may remove it ;-)

AMMOnym wrote:
Pitriss wrote:Ammonym: You are trying to win prize for best spamer on MT forums?
Díky Pitrissi, ale doma už jednu takú cenu mám a na další ma už nominovali tak my drž palce a možno dostanem aj druhú XD In english : Thanks Pitriss, but i have one at home indeed, and I have been nominated to next so u can keep me fingers and maybe i get a second XD sorry i will be careful
*rofl* :-P
ShadowNinja wrote:This is very nice, and it would be nice if it became the official skins DB for Minetest (Under skins.minetest.net or something like that).
However, I think there should be an option for servers to download the whole skins DB and use it for setting skins on their server. That way there could be a centralized skins DB.
In order for that to work the skins will have to be associated with an account. You will also have to add a way for servers to download the skins, and preferably a method to only download new/changed skins and delete old skins. Does that seem doable?
Integrating with the forum would be nice, but I don't think the forum offers a API, so that is probably impossible.
This would require a seperate updater script, written in python, that would send a POST request to the server containing a list of the available local textures, and the server returning a list of skins to download and remove.
i think too it would be great to see that as a "official Minetest Skin database" but it does not bother me whether it is now "officially" or called "unofficially".

yes there exists a API where mods are able to get the skin information and the skins base64 decoded or as Hex. its also possible to get a single binary file.

Zeg9 also have a branch of his skins mod wich uses python to load the skins from the database
viewtopic.php?id=4147
i made some experiments on the King-arthur test server to get the skins using Luasocket http://luaforge.net/projects/luasocket/
but i stopped continue this since Zeg9 made his fantastic branch

the whole api returns JSON objects.
the documentation for the api is here: https://bitbucket.org/kingarthursteam/m ... ?at=master

the methods to delete old skins and update skins is a feature that can be done using a timestamp when it runed the last update. from this timestamp a list wich actions the server have to do can be generated.

the integration into the forum is difficult thats right.
Inocudom wrote:
If only the legs, arms, and core bodies of Minetest models had a second layer (second mesh) on them just like their heads do. That would be absolutely heavenly.
make a blender model wich supports it without breaking the old skins and than its possible to convert it to that page too. :-)

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

addi wrote:normaly the shouldnt be draw so smoth the should be "pixelated" do you use the Google Chrome browser or a fork of it?
Ehm I use this one: http://www.srware.net/software_srware_iron.php
I don't like the original chrome but I tihnk it should support the same things.
EDIT: It solved itself by upgrading version to 31.0, the flash file loads now but it stays at "X3DOM loading scene..."
Last edited by Krock on Sun Jan 05, 2014 12:25, edited 1 time in total.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Post

i tried it with your browser but to me all sems to work fine.
exept that thing with the wrong rendering of that skins.
i searchd in the internet and found out that this is a known bug of the webkit engine.
https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=40881
and
http://code.google.com/p/chromium/issue ... ?id=134040

just another question if you move your mouse over the flash element and press the key "d" (d = debug) does it show a console then?

btw:
here are other keys that work(or not work)
(the default view is the examine mode)

Examine Mode (activate with key ‘e’):
Button Function
Left Button / Left Button + Shift Rotate
Mid Button / Left Button + Ctl Pan
Right Button / Wheel / Left Button + Alt Zoom
Left double click Set center of rotation

Walk Mode (activate with key ‘w’):

Button Function
Left Button Move forward
Right Button Move backward

Fly Mode (activate with key ‘f’):
Button Function
Left Button Move forward
Right Button Move backward

Look at (activate with key ‘l’):
Button Function
Left Button Move closer
Right Button Move back

Non-interactive camera movement

Key Function
r reset view
a show all
u upright
Last edited by addi on Sun Jan 05, 2014 21:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

Well, the key "d" gives the "Here could be your skin!"-box a black background, all other keys do not do anything.

Gonna use firefox for this then...
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6371
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

"dose" means a portion of medicine.

I think you mean does.

:P
Last edited by rubenwardy on Sun Jan 05, 2014 17:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

addi wrote:
Inocudom wrote:
If only the legs, arms, and core bodies of Minetest models had a second layer (second mesh) on them just like their heads do. That would be absolutely heavenly.
make a blender model wich supports it without breaking the old skins and than its possible to convert it to that page too. :-)
First, it would have to be understood how the skins are drawn onto the models. If that is done by some sort of naming or numerical method, the the extra mesh layer will have to have new names and new numbers.

Another way is to create a secondary player model for that purpose (which would only appear if certain skins need it.)

I am certain that there are a few talented modelers in this community. Anyone care to try? A player model with secondary meshes on all of its parts (not just the head) allows for things like capes, dresses, togas, and generally better clothing. There are many benefits to come from such a model. Consider the possibilities, possibilities, possibilities, possibilities...
Last edited by Inocudom on Sun Jan 05, 2014 17:15, edited 1 time in total.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Post

rubenwardy wrote:"dose" means a portion of medicine.

I think you mean does.

:P
thanks ;-P
Inocudom wrote:
addi wrote:
Inocudom wrote:
If only the legs, arms, and core bodies of Minetest models had a second layer (second mesh) on them just like their heads do. That would be absolutely heavenly.
make a blender model wich supports it without breaking the old skins and than its possible to convert it to that page too. :-)
First, it would have to be understood how the skins are drawn onto the models. If that is done by some sort of naming or numerical method, the the extra mesh layer will have to have new names and new numbers.

Another way is to create a secondary player model for that purpose (which would only appear if certain skins need it.)

I am certain that there are a few talented modelers in this community. Anyone care to try? A player model with secondary meshes on all of its parts (not just the head) allows for things like capes, dresses, togas, and generally better clothing. There are many benefits to come from such a model. Consider the possibilities, possibilities, possibilities, possibilities...
possibilities made possible by a bunch work :-)
(@rubenwardy: dont know if a "bunch work" a valid english word^^)

User avatar
Mcc457
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 17:53
Location: Earth..nah too usual; Minetest
Contact:

by Mcc457 » Post

Working on a sub-game; mostly based texture packs, adventure and soon chemistry...

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Post

it seems its not official so i think its a joke

but its matters me not what the minecraft developers are doing because this database is for minetest skins :-P

User avatar
Mcc457
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 17:53
Location: Earth..nah too usual; Minetest
Contact:

by Mcc457 » Post

I just saw it and reminded me of this XD.
Last edited by Mcc457 on Sat Jan 18, 2014 22:48, edited 1 time in total.
Working on a sub-game; mostly based texture packs, adventure and soon chemistry...

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Post

another update:
  • updated x3dom from 1.5.1 to 1.6.0 -dev
  • maybe it has now IE11 support (not testet :-P)
  • default viewmode is now "turnable" it should be now easier to rotate the skin
  • the toolbar is now a bit bigger (for those people wich have a touchscreen and big fingers ;-))
  • also the player model tries to fit into whole screen (for those people that have a realy big or a realy small screen)
  • it loads per default 20 skins per page
  • added a button settings where users are able to modify the the turnable parameters (for thos wich have already trouble to rotate the skin try: min: 1.5 ; max: 1.6; this should work better;-))

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1374
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

I did use the site, and it did work in IE 11. With touch.

Owait, sorry, it was Firefox Aurora with touch. I'll test it with IE 11 if I fire it up later today.
Last edited by hoodedice on Sat Feb 01, 2014 13:36, edited 1 time in total.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Ferdi Napoli
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 12:12

by Ferdi Napoli » Post

YEAH!!!!!!!I'm the First!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest