Freeminer

User avatar
Casimir
Member
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 16:59
GitHub: CasimirKaPazi

Re: Freeminer

by Casimir » Fri Sep 26, 2014 22:48

On Freeminer I get 1 to 7 fps. On Minetest it's 24 to 30.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Sat Sep 27, 2014 00:57

Casimir wrote:On Freeminer I get 1 to 7 fps. On Minetest it's 24 to 30.

Well, might as well tell the developers of Freeminer (xyz and proller) about that. Their irc channel can be found below:
http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=#freeminer
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Tue Oct 07, 2014 16:03

https://www.dropbox.com/s/n8qf0hltvbd7w5s/freeminer-0.4.10.3-free-dev-win32-a14a829.zip?dl=0
Jojoa1997 made a new build of Freeminer for Windows today. Here is the link to it. Write in this topic how well it works. To those that use this build, make sure that you put the following line into your configuration file to prevent your CPU from revving like a jet engine:
more_threads = 0
All thanks goes to proller for telling me about this extremely important setting.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Thu Oct 09, 2014 20:13

by default for windows build more_threads=0
 

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: Freeminer

by Napiophelios » Fri Oct 10, 2014 22:53

Inocudom wrote:https://www.dropbox.com/s/n8qf0hltvbd7w5s/freeminer-0.4.10.3-free-dev-win32-a14a829.zip?dl=0
Jojoa1997 made a new build of Freeminer for Windows today. Here is the link to it. Write in this topic how well it works. To those that use this build, make sure that you put the following line into your configuration file to prevent your CPU from revving like a jet engine:
more_threads = 0
All thanks goes to proller for telling me about this extremely important setting.


Image
Doesnt even open up the gui for me....Is this 32bit or 64bit?
I have wanted to try FreeMiner but I have yet to get a Windows version that works.
The ones on the FreeMiner site open but as soon as I start a game they just shut down immediately.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Sat Oct 11, 2014 00:30

Napiophelios wrote:
Inocudom wrote:https://www.dropbox.com/s/n8qf0hltvbd7w5s/freeminer-0.4.10.3-free-dev-win32-a14a829.zip?dl=0
Jojoa1997 made a new build of Freeminer for Windows today. Here is the link to it. Write in this topic how well it works. To those that use this build, make sure that you put the following line into your configuration file to prevent your CPU from revving like a jet engine:
more_threads = 0
All thanks goes to proller for telling me about this extremely important setting.


Image
Doesnt even open up the gui for me....Is this 32bit or 64bit?
I have wanted to try FreeMiner but I have yet to get a Windows version that works.
The ones on the FreeMiner site open but as soon as I start a game they just shut down immediately.

This build is 32bit, but should work in 64bit Windows.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Freeminer

by Krock » Sat Oct 11, 2014 07:41

Freeminer is broken for Windows XP.
Blame developers
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Sun Oct 12, 2014 00:03

4aiman, post: 1708, member: 49 wrote:Just forget about Win and come to the red-eyed side ;)
As a gift, I'd give you the ability to use up to 32Gb of RAM on a 32-bit system FOR FREE!!!
You'd be able to use up to 4Gbs of RAM for FM w/o even thinking that your system may hang up - FM will never eat more than that.
So, is it a deal, Inocudom?

This is what 4aiman had to say about the matter when I asked him in the Freeminer forums.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice

Re: Freeminer

by hoodedice » Sun Oct 12, 2014 03:36

you can do that on windows too, using a RAM disk.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Fri Oct 17, 2014 16:23

Image
This is what lighting looks like in Freeminer. It differs from Minetest, but I am not sure how.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2726
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Freeminer

by Hybrid Dog » Fri Oct 17, 2014 17:48

Inocudom wrote:https://cdn.mediacru.sh/U7nu8522gtdI.png
This is what lighting looks like in Freeminer. It differs from Minetest, but I am not sure how.

I can't see a difference here.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Freeminer

by Krock » Fri Oct 17, 2014 19:18

Looks like the light spreads differently
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2726
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Freeminer

by Hybrid Dog » Sat Oct 18, 2014 06:31

Is smooth lighting enabled or disabled?

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2726
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Freeminer

by Hybrid Dog » Sat Oct 18, 2014 07:21

freeminer supports object shadows
Image
Image

but they're still in development
Image

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

User avatar
RHR
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

Re: Freeminer

by RHR » Sat Oct 18, 2014 08:39

Hybrid Dog wrote:freeminer supports object shadows

Nice, but why just for objects?
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Sat Oct 18, 2014 14:10

RHR wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:freeminer supports object shadows

Nice, but why just for objects?

I don't think it's possible for it to be done for nodes without there being massive fps drops. I guess that is proller's reasoning too.

How do you turn the shadows on?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Sat Oct 18, 2014 23:15

shadows = 1

Dynamic light and shadows from whole word require lot of work.
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Freeminer - part 2

by proller » Sun Oct 19, 2014 18:00

Somebody for unknown reasons lock prev topic about freeminer. So part2.

Freeminer - fork of minetest.
GPL licensed.
Use c++11
lot of features, much faster server, ...

https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer
http://freeminer.org/
Full list of changes - http://forum.freeminer.org/threads/full ... etest.110/
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4469
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: Freeminer - part 2

by Krock » Sun Oct 19, 2014 18:08

What if this topic gets closed too?
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer - part 2

by proller » Sun Oct 19, 2014 18:23

Maybe remove admin privs from person who made it?
 

Sol
Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 05:21
In-game: sol

Re: Freeminer - part 2

by Sol » Sun Oct 19, 2014 19:06

Fixed and optimized headless client

I would like to see some documentation on it.
Last edited by Sol on Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:25, edited 1 time in total.
There is no such thing as duty. If you know that a thing is right, you want to do it. If you don't want to do it—it isn't right. If it's right and you don't want to do it—you don't know what right is and you're not a man. -- Ayn Rand
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer - part 2

by proller » Sun Oct 19, 2014 19:17

make config freeminer.nohead.conf :

video_driver = null
random_input = 1
continuous_forward = 1
respawn_auto = 1
enable_sound = 0
enable_clouds = 0
preload_item_visuals = 0
enable_fog = 0
enable_particles = 0


and run:
nice -n 20 ./bin/freeminer --config freeminer.nohead.conf --disable-unittests --go --address yourserver.com 30001 --name imbot
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer - part 2

by Inocudom » Sun Oct 19, 2014 19:39

At first, I thought it was you that locked the previous Freeminer topic, proller. Luckily, that was not the case.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2726
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Freeminer - part 2

by Hybrid Dog » Wed Oct 22, 2014 15:44

proller wrote:Maybe remove admin privs from person who made it?

If I take away the privs, they would ban me from here.

proller wrote:make config freeminer.nohead.conf :

video_driver = null
random_input = 1
continuous_forward = 1
respawn_auto = 1
enable_sound = 0
enable_clouds = 0
preload_item_visuals = 0
enable_fog = 0
enable_particles = 0


and run:
nice -n 20 ./bin/freeminer --config freeminer.nohead.conf --disable-unittests --go --address yourserver.com 30001 --name imbot
thanks

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

riff
Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 20:59
IRC: riff
In-game: riff

Re:

by riff » Fri Oct 24, 2014 22:46

TenPlus1 wrote:Instead of forking MineTest why not aid in the development and help make this a better game... Have a settings menu that will allow you to tweak the game by adding/removing ingame features and maybe think about including some of the most used mods in the actual game itself...

+1 minetest used to have biomes but they where buggy
I used to be registered as nextmissinglink but I kinda want to start fresh.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest-related projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest