Freeminer

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:07

1. you can join to servers with big games in reasonable time
how to try: delete 'cache' dir and join to any big game like dreambuilder

2. faster singleplayer start

3. server can handle 200-500-? players online

4. stable connection on slow networks with loss (wifi 3g ...)

5. server can send files of any size (like huge models) (mt can send only ~3mb max file)
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3563
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Freeminer

by Sokomine » Mon Dec 29, 2014 17:37

proller wrote:Freeminer 0.4.11.5 released!
First release networking incompatible with minetest.

Oh :-( That's bad. Wish networking would remain compatible.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3009
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: Freeminer

by Inocudom » Fri Jan 02, 2015 19:52

Sokomine wrote:
proller wrote:Freeminer 0.4.11.5 released!
First release networking incompatible with minetest.

Oh :-( That's bad. Wish networking would remain compatible.

Proller, I recently noticed that Freeminer's servers are still empty and still don't have any players. I can't guarantee that any of Minetest's players will ever play Freeminer as well, so don't put stock in that ever happening. Maybe, if you reach out to other gaming communities, you might get some interest in Freeminer? It is worth a try.
My whole legacy is an abomination.
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

Re: Freeminer

by neko259 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 21:14

Currently was trying to run the latest tagged freeminer client/server. This is what I've seen at the first minutes:
* Old minetest's lighting problems which I've not been seen in mt for a year: some leaves are black.
* Strange water: I've seen a place just in the center of the sea that is 1 water block lower and water just flows into it
* Crack texture problem. If you hold LMB on a node and move the cursor to another node, the crack doesn't show up on the new node.

And the bright side is I've looked through the pull requests on github and I perfectly understand why freeminer forked. Some of them weren't commented for months! I don't imagine a development team that is so indifferent to the development. And this is not some "we don't like their code" thing, because in this case it should be well commented about that exactly is bad (I've seen this code too, but still).

I don't know what's wrong with both games' developers but they obviously lack something. Minetest lacks teamwork and desire for involving and freeminer lacks attention and love for stability.

I want to wish good luck to both teams :)
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Mon Jan 05, 2015 22:34

* Strange water: - its underwater cave, now it flooded. wait 1-10 min.
But if you find huge cave (1+ million nodes volume) - wait 1-10 hours ;)
sometimes caves bigger than oceans -
Image
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Tue Jan 06, 2015 20:17

* Crack texture problem. - fixed.
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

Re: Freeminer

by cHyper » Thu Jan 29, 2015 23:50

when I create a v6 world and start the game following error occur.

Code: Select all
Irrlicht log: Irrlicht Engine version 1.8.1
Irrlicht log:  (Build 9200)
Irrlicht log: Using renderer: OpenGL 3.3.0
Irrlicht log: GeForce GTS 250M/PCIe/SSE2: NVIDIA Corporation
Irrlicht log: OpenGL driver version is 1.2 or better.
Irrlicht log: GLSL version: 3.3
Irrlicht log: Resizing window (800 600)
21:36:17: ACTION[main]: Serving 339 files, 1375017 bytes
21:36:17: ERROR[main]: ServerMap::loadMapMeta(): could not open C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\freeminer\.\worlds\mappa v2015\map_meta.txt
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

Re: Freeminer

by cHyper » Fri Jan 30, 2015 00:30

proller wrote:in latests builds too?
http://freeminer.setun.net/build/


Image

    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default\init.lua:
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ...oaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default/mapgen.lua:858: attempt to call field 'get_mapgen_params' (a nil value)
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ...oaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default/mapgen.lua:858: in main chunk
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'dofile'
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ...\Roaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default\init.lua:46: in main chunk
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default\init.lua
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ModError: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\freeminer\.\games\default\mods\default\init.lua
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: Reconnecting 1/10 ...
    01:33:09: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========

with 330-build same error...
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Fri Jan 30, 2015 02:34

can you try extract last 330 build to new empty dir?
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: Freeminer

by philipbenr » Thu Feb 19, 2015 00:51

Yay! A step up it appears. I hope that this version will really satisfy, as I have been looking about the forums as of recently.
 

User avatar
mahmutelmas06
Member
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 13:10
GitHub: mahmutelmas06
IRC: mahmutelmas06
In-game: masum

Re: Freeminer

by mahmutelmas06 » Wed Mar 04, 2015 22:45

Android version doesnt work on Android 2.3.7 ( Cyanogenmod) Motorola Atrix 4G
I downloaded from google play but just white screen nothing else
My Mods:

Beverage
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: Freeminer

by philipbenr » Thu Mar 05, 2015 01:32

Many more features! Loving the work proller. +2
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Wed Mar 25, 2015 16:56

Now again possible to compile with minetest-compatible protocol.
to enable:
cmake . -DMINETEST_PROTO=1
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: Freeminer

by addi » Sat May 02, 2015 15:16

Just want to point out, that the odd wielditem bug exists in Freeminer too :-(

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20150502_171435.png
(189.59 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5363
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Freeminer

by rubenwardy » Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:17

proller wrote:client for minetest for android on google play: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... reeminermt


That isn't Minetest. You should call it Freeminer (Minetest support)
Core Developer | Donate | My Twitter | Mods | Mods 4 Android | Node Box Editor | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

LgiOxMFYXOqtqVqMPhbw1Bn3oNRvEC7j
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: Freeminer

by Dragonop » Sat Aug 22, 2015 15:37

This is not Minetest. PLESE don't call it minetest, because it is not.
Also, all spanish people say the following (on the reviews)
-It sucks.
-The game quits.
-Can't get into the servers.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2613
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Freeminer

by Hybrid Dog » Sat Aug 22, 2015 16:24

When l tried to compile it, l got an error that json.h is missing.
 

proller
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 15:22

Re: Freeminer

by proller » Mon Aug 24, 2015 13:12

you need clone with --recursive:
git clone --recursive https://github.com/freeminer/freeminer.git

or if you have already cloned dir:
git submodule update --init --recursive
 

PreviousNext

Return to Minetest-related projects



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests