[Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by ClaudiusMinimus » Tue Feb 14, 2017 16:10

D00Med wrote:villages do spawn in conifer forests and savannas too, but they should be pretty rare.


@D00Med, Thanks, I'll keep looking. Are there any other conifer forests besides pines?
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe
 

lightseer
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 16:18

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by lightseer » Tue Feb 14, 2017 17:33

At the crafting table the recipe for a Volvagia Spawner has two things in it that show as 'Unknown Object'. I think they are supposed to be lava buckets. What is the best mod to use to get lava buckets?
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Tue Feb 14, 2017 20:43

Sorry, silly mistake. I tried to use "buckets:bucket_lava" instead of "bucket:bucket_lava". It's fixed now.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

lightseer
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 16:18
 

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by ClaudiusMinimus » Fri Feb 24, 2017 23:13

ClaudiusMinimus wrote:
D00Med wrote:villages do spawn in conifer forests and savannas too, but they should be pretty rare.


Funny thing, even though I was using a local git clone of LegendofMinetest, I was somehow using a v1 branch so I did not see the v2 updates. When I fixed my local settings, I could then pull in v2 and now I have villages. However, I have noticed villages spawning in strange places, under cliffs, free-standing (the lower saved edges of the village above the ground), multiple villages placed in neighboring chunks. Also, the lava biome has many leaking obsidian lava pools. I still love the game, though I wish updating a v1 world to v2 did not corrupt the world and leave many unknown nodes in the wake.
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Sat Feb 25, 2017 20:49

Yeah the mapgen is a bit crazy at the moment. It will be fixed eventually.
Sorry about that, I think it's worth it though, the old version was a mess(a better working mess maybe).
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by ClaudiusMinimus » Wed Mar 01, 2017 00:13

I am trying to get a server setup for my family and I love what I have seen so far, despite some of the mapgen issues previously discussed. Likely, I will ask Milan on Illuna.rocks to host it for me. I have been creating different local test worlds using both v6 and V7 mapgen and using fast/fly to quickly explore these worlds, in order to get the best map for my family. It seems the game is designed for V7, since it is easier to find villages, buildings, temple, and dungeons. The mapgen for V7 of course is more artistic, though as you indicated before it is a bit of a mess. The real issue for me is I have not been able to find a single desert biome in V7. The only place I have found desert cobble was in the V7 lava biome. I really need the materials from the desert biome for many things I want to do. While the V6 desert biome is nice, but non-desert V6 biomes are not as diverse and interesting as V7. Also, V6 seems to be missing many game features as I have already mentioned.

Are there deserts in V7? If so, do you have a good seed I can test? If not, how can deserts be added? From what I have seen in the code, I wonder if the absence of deserts in V7 has to do with the weather mod and the fact that there is so much rain and snow. I would greatly appreciate and help or suggestions.
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Wed Mar 01, 2017 00:52

This is something I've been having a bit of trouble with.
There are supposed to be deserts, however I think that they might not be appearing as common as they do in other subgames because of the other biomes.
I had seen some deserts whilst testing so you might just have to look harder.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by ClaudiusMinimus » Wed Mar 01, 2017 02:51

D00Med wrote:This is something I've been having a bit of trouble with.
There are supposed to be deserts, however I think that they might not be appearing as common as they do in other subgames because of the other biomes.
I had seen some deserts whilst testing so you might just have to look harder.


That is what I thought too. Could the nearly constant snow and rain in loz affect desert biome mapgen in V7? From some of documentation is seems that a desert must spawn within a temperature range, which is not at all close to real life. In the deserts you have found, did it ever rain or snow there? The reason I ask is I have teleported up to 10,000 nodes during a rain/snow storm and it was still either raining or snowing at the new location, so it seemed the weather was constant across the map. Have you tried generating a world without the weather mod enabled? I wonder if that would help.

I hope to learn about mapgen and placing mts files as new chunks load. I hope to contribute to this very fun project. :-)
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Wed Mar 01, 2017 06:37

No, snow and rain have nothing to do with mapgen (I am getting the impression you want it to be less frequent?).
The weather mod has nothing to do with mapgen, it's random.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
ClaudiusMinimus
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 17:46
Location: Rocky Mountiains in the Western USA
GitHub: ClaudiusMinimus
IRC: ClaudiusMinimus
In-game: ClaudiusMinimus

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by ClaudiusMinimus » Wed Mar 01, 2017 17:44

D00Med wrote:No, snow and rain have nothing to do with mapgen (I am getting the impression you want it to be less frequent?).
The weather mod has nothing to do with mapgen, it's random.


Rain and snow do not bother me. I'm originally from the US Pacific Northwest where rain is the rule and we have lots of snow in the mountains. I am new to understanding how mapgen works, and so from perusing through the code it seems biome temperature and the ability of deserts spawning might be related - that's all just trying to learn what is going on.

My only complaint about the weather mod is that the rain and snow will go through slabs and slopes as if not present.

I appreciate your patience with me asking so many questions. BTW: I am a retired web/sql developer and I hope to get involved in this project. I am also disabled, and therefore I am somewhat concerned about getting in too deep due to my neurological limitations.

One area of interest is how to place the mts files so they don't spawn in unexpected ways, like in a mountain side or temples with no floor. Would you be interested in having someone to help in this area?
ClaudiusMinimus

Follow my blog at: ClaudiusMinimus' Universe
Visit me at the incredible Illuna Universe
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Wed Mar 01, 2017 20:34

Ok, I will try to fix that problem with stairs/slabs.
Thanks for your interest :)
Yes that would be very helpful. I actually do have an idea of how to improve it.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Fri Mar 10, 2017 09:43

Update: the weather has been improved, it wont work through slabs/stairs(apart from dust), and the skybox won't be suddenly removed.
If anyone has any ideas on how the performance of the game could be improved, let me know.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by Wuzzy » Fri Mar 10, 2017 13:42

D00Med wrote:If anyone has any ideas on how the performance of the game could be improved, let me know.


I heard Minetest has some sort of mod profiler, maybe it can help you find bottlenecks in the code. I haven't used or tested it, however, so you're on your own.
And in general, map generation is usually the #1 performance eater. Use LuaVoxelManip for manipulations of large areas instead of 1000s of successive minetest.set_node calls.

I'm pretty sure there are other ways to boost performance but that's my knowledge for now.
I'm creating MineClone 2, a Minecraft clone for Minetest.
I made the Help modpack, adding in-game help to Minetest.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Pixelator
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by azekill_DIABLO » Sun Mar 12, 2017 18:00

I'm impressed doomed. Your capacity to do pretty textures and great games is far beyond all i can do.
Code: Select all
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

azekill_DIABLO said: Mineyoshi+ABJ+Baggins= TOPIC HIJACKED.
My Mods and Stuff | Voxellar | VoxBox on GITHUB | M.I.L.A Monster engine
WEIRD MODDING CONTEST !!!
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Sun Mar 12, 2017 20:59

Thankyou :) toby109tt did a lot of work with the models and textures too.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: Pixelator
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by azekill_DIABLO » Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:00

Still too high for me ;)
Code: Select all
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

azekill_DIABLO said: Mineyoshi+ABJ+Baggins= TOPIC HIJACKED.
My Mods and Stuff | Voxellar | VoxBox on GITHUB | M.I.L.A Monster engine
WEIRD MODDING CONTEST !!!
 

User avatar
toby109tt
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 23:42
Location: belgum
GitHub: tobyplowy
In-game: Toby109tt

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by toby109tt » Tue Mar 14, 2017 18:51

D00Med wrote:Thankyou :) toby109tt did a lot of work with the models and textures too.

Yeh XD
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) i love pixels and voxels ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Mon Mar 20, 2017 21:18

Update:
I've attempted to improve performance a bit.
>Long grass and flowers now use a lbm instead of an abm to spawn butterflies and dragonflies.
>mobs spawn less frequently
>Snow won't fall over sand and desert sand.
>a few texture improvements
>fixed a bug with the dust weather
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

fifi31
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:40

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by fifi31 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:48

Hello, I have a problem with your subgame.
When I gain experience, for example when I kill a monster, the game crash and it writes :
"Runtime error from mod 'experience' in callback environment_Step(): ...minetest/games/LegendofMinetest/mods/experience/init.lua:114: attempt to compare string with number
stack traceback:
...minetest/games/LegendofMinetest/mods/experience/init.lua:114: in function <...minetest/games/LegendofMinetest/mods/experience/init.lua:99>
/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:412: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:392>"

I use minetest on Fedora 25. Do you have an idea of why I have this bug ?

Thank you
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Mon Mar 27, 2017 20:07

What version of minetest are you using? I don't really understand what the problem is, but I have seen a similar error with the experience mod before.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

lightseer
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 16:18

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by lightseer » Tue Mar 28, 2017 03:11

fifi31 I had that bug and reported it and fixed it by adding a conversion called 'tonumber()' to the experience module like this:

I edited the experience mod. Edit the init.lua file in the mod 'experience'.

Edited the line (currently line 112) that looked like this: experience = xp:read("*l")
Changed that line to this: experience = tonumber(xp:read("*l"))
The server was able to proceed.
 

User avatar
D00Med
Member
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
Location: Australia...somewhere
GitHub: D00Med

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by D00Med » Tue Mar 28, 2017 04:11

thankyou very much :)
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242
dmobs2 is coming...
 

fifi31
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:40

Re: [Game] LegendofMinetest [v2]

by fifi31 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:12

I'm using Minetest 0.4.15

lightseer, I already tried this, but the problem is still here. Did you recompile init.lua or do anything like this?
 

PreviousNext

Return to Subgame Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests